We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bahia Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bahia Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off End of Summer Rat
Ranked #43 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Saugus
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The Bahia has been around and still has charm. We had a nice stay. The service at the restaurant was great and the Mediterranean buffet was great. Eat too much. Rented a boat one day and the kids had a blast tubing. Room had a kitchen so we cooked breakfast. Close to Sea World too. Worth ever penny.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    533
    223
    135
    117
See reviews for
726
458
42
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Our room was big and spacious with a good lounge area and bathroom. However, the bed was tiny. Our room was especially dark as most of the lights did not work, when we called for maintenance they never came. The location was good for beaches and belmont park, although it's difficult to get to town or any large shops if you do not have a car. The hotel does have a pet seal though that is very cute!
Overall, an average hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Hotel is 7 miles from Downtown San Diego and 3 miles from the airport, situated on Mission Bay and could not be more convenient for visiting San Diego. A brilliant resort hotel with excellent facilities and a variety of room types. We were in a double room, with lounge & kitchenette. Having a kettle was a real bonus for tea drinkers! You could easily self-cater here but we used the restaurant most nights, which served good food and value for money. Recommend the fish and chips too.

Room Tip: Go for the beach side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We got a good deal on this hotel via booking.com - the hotel is in a great location and significantly better-priced than other resorts. It is perhaps a bit older, but the rooms are nice, the bathrooms perhaps could use a renovation, but fine. Common areas, pool etc. look in very good shape. Attention at reception efficient and very friendly.
Quite bay beach right at the hotel and easy walk to Mission Bay beach with more waves for older children. Nice restaurants nearby.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We had wonderful two days at the hotel. The front desk ( Her name is Kate) was very helpful and friendly. We decided to stay the second night there and we got a great sea view room. Great customer services and we recommend you go to see Kate!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We are from San Diego and stayed at the Bahia for an event. We had adjoining suite rooms for the family and in laws right on the bay. Was great as let the kids play on the beach while adults sipped wine on the balcony overlooking. Having free access to both boat bay cruise over to the catamaran hotel was awesome. Kids loved the boat ride and the cat hotel is great to visit for dinner or luau. Bahia is located near mission beach as well as the bay so provides some nice options for surf beach or quiet scene. All up, great place for a family vaca!!!

Room Tip: Newly remodeled bay front suites are the way to good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location. Near Sea World and Belmont Park - great for kids. Room with private beach access was great. Nightly boat ride was free and fun for the family. Movie night by the pool was a great time for the whole family. Will be going back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Address: 998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in San Diego
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#49 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.