We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "must-repeat" San Diego experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Bahia Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off Direct with Bahia
Ranked #41 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Oakland, CA
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
339 helpful votes 339 helpful votes
“A "must-repeat" San Diego experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Bahia put a smile on my face, and hopes for a return asap. Here's why:

The location is fantastic, adjoining Mission Bay with its beaches right at the hotel; an easy walk to the Pacific Ocean beach-town atmosphere and and alleys of beautiful white-sand Mission Beach; activities such as paddle boat rental available right at the hotel; a five minute walk across the road to Belmont Park with its roller coaster and miniature golf; an enormous, room which is more like a suite, with sitting area and kitchenette, for $89 at AAA rate (and NO resort or parking fee!!!); room with large patio on a lawn facing the bay and friendly visiting ducks who amazingly seem trained to avoid entering the room. I cannot think of a better place to stay in San Diego, especially for families with children, because of activities right at the resort and within easy, quick walking distance.

Staff: AMAZING!! Every single person is helpful, professional and truly (not plastic-like) friendly. Kudos to the entire reception area's folks and the concierge/bell desk people (wish I recalled names-- all are fantastic!), housekeeping and grounds staff. Every Bahia employee you encounter treats you like they're sincerely glad to see you.
An example: The morning I (sadly) had to leave, hostess Lorena in the restaurant asked if I wanted breakfast. All I wanted was a cup of coffee to-go. She then returned not just with a paper cup, but with the cup on a set-up tray with napkins, cream, silverware. Sure, she could have just brought the cup, but she added that extra graciousness that sends a guest off with a smile. Oh--and the coffee was delicious, better than at most hotels.

The room was enormous-- more like a suite. If you want a super modern somewhat sterile place with identical rooms, look elsewhere. My room at Bahia was not brand new, but it was super spotlessly clean and had "character." Yes, there were a few worn areas in the carpet, and a scuff mark on the bathroom walls, and the water didn't get hot for one minute. I understand that many of the rooms have been recently upgraded and modernized. Perhaps the wing where my room is located is next, but honestly, it doesn't matter, for the excellence of the whole place outweighs the small "dings" which actually add to the charm of Bahia.

Room Tip: I asked for a bay view room, and was placed in the taller building opposite the lobby, Room 617, on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,011
    556
    234
    137
    121
See reviews for
758
493
46
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We are from Eastern Canada and have travelled to San Diego about 8 times thru the last 20 years.This was our best vacation in S-D accommodation Wise. Our one bedroom studio was recently refurbished and contained all usual accommodations. Very good value for the price. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms very clean. Nice swimming pool and do not forget your tennis racket. On our next trip to S-D, we will definetly return to this resort.

Room Tip: View on the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I was in the area for work and stayed at the Bahia Resort. I was very happy with the accommodations. I was in the king bayside room and had a nice seating area and kitchen and a king room. Rooms were a bit run down but it wasn't terrible and I was very pleased and comfortable. We had dinner in the bar one evening (just a couple appetizers). The food was really good. I had breakfast one morning. I chose the buffet and it was average food. The food people got that was ordered off the menu looked good. Next time, I will order off the menu! I was impressed considering hotel food does not usually appeal to me. Our room had a nice view on the bay. The resort was quiet the 2 days we stayed, which was perfect for me! My favorite part of the resort is Gracie, the rescued harbor seal they take care of. I could have just sat and watched her swim around for hours! My only wish is that she had a playmate to keep her company. I know that they periodically have other rescued seals they get from Sea World but she was all alone when I visited. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The Bahia Resort Hotel was the location for a business meeting including lunch for over 20 people followed by a speaker & presentation. The communication with the staff ahead of the event was confidence inspiring, lots of attention to detail with none of the "not sure we can do that" or "I'll have to check on that and get back to you" sometimes encountered in dealing with hotel properties when setting up a meeting.

National Sales Manager Zach Anderson was on top of every detail in preparation and the day of the event when numbers shifted at the last minute with a few more folks showing up than had registered in advance he and the staff adjusted quickly and efficiently.

The lunch was elegant and the meal outstanding. Roger, the banquet captain, made sure even the late arrivals were treated like royalty. It was about as impressive an experience as one could ever have.

This is a unique property. The grounds are beautiful, the location is prime San Diego territory, and the staff first rate.

Business meetings at commercial properties involve a lot of moving parts, and it doesn't take more than a minor slip-up for it to go really wrong. It was a pleasure being at the Bahia and having everything and every one exceed expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great resort. Has a 70's feel to it, which was awesome. Had lots of history to it. Would stay there again. Loved the rescued seal at the front of the hotel. Great views and a short walk to the beach. Just loved it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed March 13 & 14, 2014, room 357. Check in was quick and the people at the desk were very professional and nice. This was a bayfront king room that faces Bahia's private beach. I recommend any rooms that face the private beach & the Bahia Belle. The other side of the resort faces another part of the bay but you have to look past their huge parking lot which takes away the peacefulness. So request private beach side. On the beach there are plenty of private beach cabanas for your use. The room was good size, very clean, and satisfying but this is a much older hotel and I feel the rooms looked it (outdated). The bed was very comfortable. Having the private patio with lounge chairs was so awesome. You could sit out there, relax, and look at the bay and the boats, very private. We didn't hear any outside noise other than when the Bahia Belle is loading up people or docking. The downfall for me was the bathroom. It was so tiny with a very small sink, toilet, and shower. Only 1 person could fit for sure. There is no place to lay out your toiletries or clothes. It would be nice if the hotel had a shelf on the wall. The bathroom is very outdated. Bottom of the walls were pretty old and stained. Water pressure was strong but again, the bathroom was just so small. The grounds are very pretty and the parking felt secure. We walked to Mission Bay/Belmont Park which is less that 1/2 mile away. There are shops, restaurants, the arcade and roller coaster for kids and the long boardwalk to stroll down. Then of course the ocean to view! I highly recommend for people to park at Old Town and eat at Casa De Reyes restaurant. Old Town has so much to offer from colorful shops to great restaurants all around. Another tip is walking from Old Town over to the trolley station a few blocks away. Pay $5 for the all day compass pass. If you take the green line you can stop off at any one of the other great things to see in San Diego. Little Italy, Gaslamp Quarter, Convention Center, Old Town, and Seaport Village. It is all within walking distance at the stops along the green line. That way you bypass parking at all these places. The trolley is clean and so convenient. For those who know about Anthony's Fish Grotto, you can get off at the Santa Fe Depot and walk a couple of blocks to this famous restaurant. Great sea food, ambiance, and it overlooks the ocean. It's also very close to the Maritime Museum, the cruise ship terminals, and USS Midway Museum. If you don't have a car, you could easily take a cab to the Trolley station then the greenline will take you to many sights to see.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the private beach/the Bahia Belle. The other side faces another part of the bay b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for such a thorough review and for highlighting all the fun and exciting activities going on around our resort. We appreciate your feedback on the bathroom and adding a shelf for toiletries is, indeed, something we're considering. We are studying the best way to do it without cluttering a bathroom that is smaller than the bathrooms in our beachfront suites. That said, our beachfront rooms include a vanity right outside the bathroom that can be used for toiletries. Thank you again for the comments and we're happy to hear you had a relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

For a Hotel with as much character as the Bahia Hotel has, why would you want to stay anywhere else. It is right on Mission Bay, beautiful views, prices are great, yes you give a little because the rooms are a little out of date but updated nicely & very clean - it's the history behind it -

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Address: 998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in San Diego
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#50 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.