We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Bahia Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 15% Off Room Rate
Ranked #37 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Family resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was the second stop on our trip to the U.S. and we were very impressed. The rooms were spacious and the separate lounge with a second tv was a godsend at night when the kids went to bed. The free wifi was great and enough speed for us to skype home and catch up e-mails and check out our sight seeing options. The kids loved the restaurant and the swimming pool - heated so that they could swim late in the day after we got back from sight seeing. We didn't manage to ride the paddle steamer, but we'll try for that next time. The only very minor niggle was the guest laundry facilities - not quite enough machines to go around and hard to find.

Room Tip: Loved the kitchenette with the microwave and coffee maker. Would like to see more cups, utensils av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,166
    614
    259
    143
    127
See reviews for
848
555
55
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We live in San Diego but my grandkids love to stay in hotels so we thought we would try the Bahia. Loved it, everyone was very helpful and nice especially Stephen at the concierge counter. We enjoyed the proximity to Belmont Park and the bay right outside our door. Will definitely come back !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I traveled to San Diego to check out the Bahia Resort for a family vacation. We were very pleased with the beautiful grounds and the recently remodeled room. A special thank you to Evan (our waiter) for letting us know that Belmont Park and Mission Beach were walking distance to the hotel (1/2 mile away). That was a nice surprise....we enjoyed walking there and checking out the area. A special thank you to Steve at the front desk for helping out and being so patience in booking the rooms. I like the idea that every room has their own assigned parking spot.....and there is no charge for the parking....... as a lot of other hotels in the San Diego area. Looking forward to returning with the family!!!

Room Tip: If you want to see a beautiful sunset book a bayfront room located to the right of the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I got a deal on groupon for $99/night and decided to stay here since I was departing to Hawaii the following day from San Diego. I wasn't expecting much, but to my surprise, this place exceeded my expectations! We stayed in the King suite and the room was big and super clean with a big sliding glass door leading out to the water (bay). It was equipped with a kitchen and a full size fridge. The staff was very friendly and the check in process was a breeze! The pool was heated and the jacuzzi was huge and was able to fit quite a bit of people in it without feeling overcrowded. It was a short walk from the beach and tons of restaurants and bars. The average price is runs from about $160 - $260/night depending on the time you go, so I got a great deal on groupon, but I would definitely stay there again without the discount. My boyfriend and I get out of town a lot and this place is on the top of our list.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We took our staff to this resort and booked 10 rooms through groupon. All of the staff except one enjoyed our rooms. They were placed in the first tower on the top floor, room was clean but needed some definite upgrades. The remainder of us were spread about in the two story apartment type studios. Very nice bathroom, separate vanity, good sized kitchenette well stocked with basics, large living room big scream TV and a separate bedroom with its own big scream TV. It looks as though renovations had been recent as everything was shiny and new. Which I refreshing as the outside is weathered and dated. Not ran down by any means just older on style. Grounds were very well taken care of. There is a pool, jacuzzi, tennis courts, and gym (all accessories provided, towels, rackets etc). All rooms seemed to have a bay view which was nice with grassy area leading to very clean sandy beaches. Restaurant on site also seemed very nice, and happy hour was well priced for the area . Free boat ride around the bay were the segregated family hours and adult time, and thankfully so as most of us participated in the dancing and drinking festivities. Staff was awesome throughout the resort! It is also very close to coast (walking distance) and beach side amusement park. Parking outside the resort is challenging so walk if you can. Will definitely be back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The staff at the Bahia is awesome ! from the easy check in and friendly smile from Kate at the front desk to Isabelle at the tangiers bar thank you for the best service on the planet. The grounds at the Bahia are so beautiful. The nice bay view and that fresh beach air. My wife and I did not want to leave. Thanks Bahia..

Room Tip: Bay view suits the best .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Couldn't give a 1/2 star rating, so I upgraded the review to 4 stars due to the location. Stayed in a 1-bedroom suite in their Spanish-style building. Pluses: spacious living area, very good location, free workout facility (a bit small, though), nice views. Minuses: room was a bit worn, master bedroom was very small and faced an exterior walkway, and sound-proofing wasn't very good. During our stay, the hotel offered coupons for free drinks and discounted meals (on-site cafe is fine for a snack or light meal), and free bay cruise.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor, preferably a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Address: 998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in San Diego
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
#81 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.