We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Bahia Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 15% Off Room Rate
Ranked #36 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Westerly, Rhode Island
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were a little surprised by the size of the resort initially, but the feeling once we settled in was warm and welcoming. The views from the 4 story were absolutely beautiful, and the staff was helpful and on the ball. We'd definitely consider coming back.

Room Tip: The higher, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

All I can say is "wow"!!! Beth Hunt went out of her way to make our wedding day special and more importantly, stress/worry free!!! Planning a destination wedding is a challenge but from the 1st meeting to our wedding day, Beth was by our side making sure nothing was overlooked and that everything exceeded our expectation. The food was awesome, the staff for the reception on the William D. Evens stern wheeler treated us all like royalty. All the vendor recommendations Beth gave us were top notch and extremely dependable. Our room was extremely clean and had an awesome view of the bay. Thank you Beth and the Bahia for making our day special.

Room Tip: Everybody was helpful just pick up the phone and call. If you're planning a wedding, call Beth H...
See more room tips
Green Features: Bahia promotes and more importantly practices their "green" footprint.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix_Family1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about Beth and we're so happy to hear your wedding day was special and stress-free. We hope to see you again at the Bahia Resort Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toledo
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We traveled from Ohio to here for a business trip. This hotel is Awesome!!!! The rooms were very comfy/cozy. Always cleaned and freshened up daily!!! We had such an outstanding maid...Esperanza!!!!!! Totally awesome!!! The whole atmosphere here is soooo calming!!!The food was reallly yummie too. All of the staff were friendly, helpful, professional, and caring!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathylain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, General Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for all your kind words about our team and for specifically mentioning Esperanza. Your sentiments have been passed on to her and we hope to see you again soon at the Bahia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I just had my wedding at the Bahia on 9/21/13. The venue was amazing! We got married on the beach and had our reception in the mission ballroom. It is one of the few places in San Diego that you can get married on the actual sand through a resort. In fact, it was the only we found in the mission bay/shelter island area that could hold approx 180 people. The Hilton in Mission Bay allows you to get married on the beach, but because the boardwalk area and beach are public areas they can't really make the area decently private and anyone can walk on the boardwalk area while you are getting married. At the Bahia people roaming around is limited to guests and I didn't see any really hanging out during our wedding. I highly recommend the Bahia for a beach ceremony. Most other places you can get married on the grass of the bay, but not the sand.

Also the mission ballroom is gorgeous and has an amazing view of the bay. The floor length windows truly let you and your guests enjoy it! The chandeliers are also gorgeous! The columns allow for great up lighting! I highly recommend up lighting! Also the area is pretty private ... You have an elevator going up directly to the ballroom and your own bathrooms for the floor and only you can access them (minus anyone that randomly wonders up to your floor, however it's kind of obvious if they do). There are parts a-d and we rented a-c as that fit our guest count of 180.

The packages at the venue are super inclusive, which we loved!! They were inclusive, but allowed for a lot of personalization and a lot of choices. It was perfect because we had a lot of choices to make, but I was not overwhelmed because the package came with certain things and it was a matter of choosing the color or between a few types or a few different vendors. There were several things you could upgrade to and the fees were not significant. Based on the 8 venues we looked at, the Bahia included more in their package by far than other venues that we looked at.

Beth Hunt is an amazing Catering Sales Manager! We loved working with her. She is easy going and super responsive and extremely helpful!! We also appreciate all the hard work of Cheryl (Banquet Captain), Event Elements (anything and everything for the tables at the reception), Edelweiss Bakery and all of the wait staff as they made our wedding amazing as well. They were all wonderful! The food was really good!! It also came with a raspberry ice cream desert that everyone loved. We got lots of compliments on the dinner, desert & appetizers.

Beth also left chocolate covered strawberries and champagne in our room for after the wedding! So sweet! We also had a suite for 2 nights included in our package! It was perfect!!!

I highly recommend the Bahia. There are so many perfect photo locations. For us the Bahia was perfect ... Very reasonable price (for San Diego) and one of the few places you can get married on the beach that is pretty private. Also the staff is easy to work with and very accommodating and helpful!

The bar at the Bahia is a great place to gather. I spent a lot of time with my wedding guests in the evening at the bar the few days before the wedding as we had a lot of people from out of town staying at the Bahia. The room we had was very spacious and had a wonderful view of the bay. I am excited to see how that was captured in our wedding photos.

Room Tip: The suites are amazing ... but can be a bit pricey. The bunglows are all a very decent size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Everyone here at the Bahia are so happy to hear you found the perfect location for your wedding. The beauty of the beach speaks for itself and we're thrilled you had the private, intimate gathering you were looking for on the sand. Your praise about Beth, Cheryl, and the vendors has been passed along, and we hope to see you back at the Bahia again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our organization has held its fall meeting at the Bahia for over 10 years, and we are never disappointed. Excellent service and wonderful location! The meeting rooms are equipped with wireless access, as are the hotel rooms. The staff is courteous and helpful, and the grounds are kept very clean. The resort is ideal for intimate get-aways or for larger conferences.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank KAR805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was by far the best hotel/resort we have been to. The grounds were lush, meandering water ways throughout the gardens, the pool was great, beach wonderful. Lots to do for kids, close walk to ocean.
The staff were attentive, food was outstanding, and was a good value -
prices were below average for hotel food and above average for quality. The room we stayed on was a garden room with our own patio with lounge chairs. The room was nice, however, it is in need of new carpets, and we were told they are on the way. This place has it all! We are already planning on our return to Bahia next year!

Room Tip: We liked the garden rooms, no stairs as it is on the ground floor. I was able to watch the ducks as...
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent! They are environmentally sound. Energy efficient lighting, water conservation in showers, they recycle.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverwench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at the Bahia for a week while I was at a conference located a few miles from the Bahia. Once we got through the first night and changed rooms, our stay was fantastic. My review and advice is to not stay in the multi story main building next to the parking lot and lobby. It was loud, in need of update, and lacking an interior door lock to keep our 3 year old from opening the door from inside and walking out. We brought the issue up to the Bahia staff, who immediately got to work, changing us to a bayside room with a door lock. Kudos to the friendly, helpful staff! The other 6 days were awesome; a nice room with easy access to the bay, walking distance to the Mission Bay strip and a 15 minute walk over the bridge to Sea World! All in all, if we were to go back to San Diego, we would be comfortable going back to Bahia and nowhere else....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jscozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,671 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay
The Dana on Mission Bay
#87 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,760 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#45 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Pantai Inn
#2 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#158 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Address: 998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in San Diego
#49 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#71 Business Hotel in San Diego
#80 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing