We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bahia Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Bahia Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off End of Summer Rat
Ranked #41 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Aliso Viejo, California
1 review
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I visit San Diego at least 4-5 times a year. I have a triathlon there this weekend and was given amazing customer service by Mr Mike C. He is very professional and helpful
The rooms are always nice, they have a fridge as I pack my own stuff for race day.
This is by far the best place to stay near the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    536
    226
    135
    118
See reviews for
729
465
42
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Enjoyed the Bahia - the staff were excellent, welcoming, and responsive. The location was great for our needs - right at water, walking distance to the pacific, food on and off site. The rooms are adequate, comfortable, a bit on the older side and still nice. Had a suite with full kitchen, which was very helpful. Great pool, fun games in the arcade. Rental of water equipment very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for one that looks out at the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Bahia Resort is a beautiful property!!! I was there on October 10, 2013 on a site visit for an upcoming staff retreat and Christina Gurga from the Sales Department made this visit super special; her customer services skills are great. The Bahia is in a superb location on Mission Bay; the rooms are spacious, clean, and have been recently remodeled. I believe that if this property is chosen for our staff retreat, our participants will have a "real" retreat!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I did not stay at this hotel, but visited my friend who was staying there. She said it was a fabulous resort with everything she wanted and more. Upon entering the room, the wall of windows presented the most beautiful view of the bay and surrounding areas with a lanai to enjoy that view. It was quite a nice size room with 2 beds, a small table and two chairs, sofa, kitchenette and nice bathroom. The furniture was a bit tired looking, but we found out that they are in the process of updating the rooms. We especially loved the gift shop on the grounds. The manager was nice and helpful. He did a fantastic job with the gift selections in the store and the prices were very reasonable. Kudos to him!!! The grounds are lush and well groomed, with a seal pool housing a couple rescued seals that everyone enjoys watching. Everyone was helpful and very friendly.

Room Tip: Select a view room, even if it is a bit more, and you won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

First the good points: the grounds are lovely and the location is great. We had a suite directly on the bay with a patio that provided shelter from the wind. It was a great place to enjoy the sun and the beautiful view. Unfortunately, there were also several negatives. Cleanliness of the room was marginal. The suite was inadequately furnished - only one chair at the table and no lamp by the sofa. The beds were extremely uncomfortable. Also, the door to the restroom was so narrow that it was impossible to access with a walker or wheelchair. We would consider this resort for a future stay, but would also consider other options.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and we're happy to hear you enjoyed our location and the view. We apologize for the marginal cleanliness; anything less than stellar is unacceptable and we will work with the housekeeping staff to ensure future guests don't encounter something similar in your room. The Bahia Resort Hotel is proud to be a leader in San Diego in accessibility, as recognized by Accessible San Diego. We offer many different room types all designed around wheelchair accessibility. If we had known of your needs prior to your arrival we would have been more than happy to accommodate you. We hope to see you again soon and provide you with a room that meets your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This resort was perfect for our San Diego get away. The staff were exceptional and helpful in very way. The best part was that we were free to enjoy the many extras that the resort offers... The beach chairs, pool, sandy beach. The fridge was an added perk.

The front desk staff deserve special recognition for helping us to find running trails both on the beach and on the trails in the area as well as helping us to find a great spot for multi day bike rentals

The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was bright and modern in appearance.

It was evident during our stay that the resort is very particular about keeping the resort well maintained

I would recommend this resort to anyone travelling to the San Diego area

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Being natives of San Diego, We thought why go far away when we have a little paradise oasis right here in our own backyard.
This is our first time at the Bahia, if you can believe it and we are loving it!!! We feel like we want to live here it is so great. The staff is wonderful, especially Alexa, who served us in the Tangiers Bar. We are celebrating my sisters special birthday and she made us feel like we were family. We will come back again, definitely. Don't change a thing.....

Room Tip: rooms facing the garden are quiet and make you feel like you are in you own tropical paradise
See more room tips
Green Features: Thought is was great that they had blue recycling bins in the rooms
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your time at the Bahia Resort Hotel and we hope you'll visit us again. Your kind words about Alexa have been passed along.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Address: 998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in San Diego
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#49 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.