We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Bahia Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off Direct with Bahia
Ranked #40 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
SF Bay Area
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Was just down at San Diego at the Bahia Resort Hotel for a national conference on children in nature.
Check-In:
Although i had requested an early check-in and quiet room, several days before conference the room was not ready for an hour, but they did offer pool access key. Check-in was pretty quick and good service.
Staff overall was friendly and went out of their way to say hello.
Rooms:
The rooms have a dated look, but are in very good condition. The large glass sliding door didn't open easily though. Bed was comfortable and bathroom ok, but definitely older.
Because of the design of the place most rooms have a good to great view of Mission Bay. I was up on the 4th floor in Building 4 at the far end of the resort.
The room was anything but quiet though since the public park was right outside the room and skateboarders and partying young people were there till almost midnight each of the two nights. After that though wonderfully quiet. Great to watch to boats out on the bay. The palm trees outside were beautiful, but brightly lit all night long. Here I am in a beautiful spot with great weather so I want to leave the door open all night, but it was very bright from those lights.
The mini-kitchenette seemed well stocked, but was unused. Would be great for families with kids saving money by having snacks and maybe eating in for a light breakfast or lunch.
Bar & Restaurant:
Coupons for $1.00 Mojitos were well used (The staff gave us extra) and the staff at the bar was friendly. Restaurant a bit less so but not bad. Portions and prices were good. I had room service one night and when I called for them to pick up the tray I was hung up on. It sat outside the room for 20 hours. Not good
Pool:
Nice pool. Lots of families with small kids.
Grounds:
Landscaping, trees, flowers, bushes showed good care and were very nice. The beach areas were immediately adjacent. There are some areas to gather and lunch was served outside in a nice area one day.
Meetings Rooms:
Rooms are peculiar. Most of our time was on the top floor of Building six. Very small restrooms, horribly slow hydraulic elevator and no lobby outside of the room which would have been nice to have. Incredible view outside, but having to pull hard on the drapes to open and close depending on whether it was just folks speaking or a PowerPoint was a bit of a pain. Lighting controls in the room not in the right spots.
Food quality was good, but the group did not order enough of some things like juice in the morning (Not the resort's fault). One of the other meeting rooms had a bizarre layout that blocked group dynamics (Half wall and partially elevated section).

Green Features: Not good enough. Recycling bin almost hidden under counter. Besides signs for not replacing linens and towels, didn't seem much in the way of water or energy saving practices.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    562
    236
    137
    122
See reviews for
768
502
47
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night for some together-time. I didn't expect much due to the age of the Hotel--probably built in the 60s-- but we were pleasantly surprised! The grounds were absolutely magnificent--you could feel like you were in Hawaii--and the immediate surrounding area can't be beat, if you enjoy the Southern California beaches and bays: sand, grassy park areas, water toy rentals, and close to the historic Mission Beach and Belmont amusement park. The room was very spacious, nicely appointed, with a phenomenal view--and surprisingly affordable. Wonderful resort for activity; we went for a nice run, and played tennis--great courts. No need to travel for meals. We dined on-site, and it was amazing: great food, environment, service, and prices--lower than you would pay if you traveled to a comparable restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose the four-story tower facing the water, if you can--spacious rooms with very nice water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I took my 3 year old granddaughter on a mini-vacation. I wanted somewhere close by with the feel that we had really been away. Then I remembered the Bahia. Although I had not been there for years I had remembered the good times by the bay when I was young and when my kids were young. I booked the Bahia for our mini-vacation. We had a room that was on the bay side and we could step out to the water - just as i remembered it. The people were friendly and helpful, the room was immaculate and considering it was right by the sand and the water, I was impressed. We had a reasonably priced breakfast served in our room and we enjoyed being able to relax, look at the water and have our breakfast. Dated, well I guess some of it was - but let's face it, where else can you be right by the water, walk to the waves if you want, and have water craft available all at a reasonable price and yet be close to everything. It was a bit of a walk down memory lane for me but I would heartily recommend it to anyone who wants a get-away by the water.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be right on the water there are taller buildings that you can be in. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I'm staying here for a conference and rented one of the "view" rooms. Overall a good value, but only average in terms of quality of the rooms and conference facilities. Finishes and fixtures need updating, but the rooms are spacious, the views are great. You are close to many attractions. The bay surrounds the property and the beach is within walking distance. The food served at the conference has been above average.

Room Tip: The photo is the view from the balcony of Room 143 where I am staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Resort was great. Location and amenities were great. Front desk Service SUCKED! Booked in for 3 days and lady at the front desk only booked us for 1 night??!! Even asked her if she knew what she was doing!! Had questioned that key pad where I signed, only said one night and had wrong number of people. She said that didn't matter, BUT it did!!!! After 2 nights wanted to extend and found out we were only booked for the one night! Had to change to another hotel and front desk people didn't believe our story. VERY inconvenient and offered nothing for the screw up, on there part!! If you stay get proper documentation of stay!! PS room cleaning happens between 8-5pm, got home and room still hadn't been cleaned at 4:30 PM!!

Room Tip: get proper documentation. Water front is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and i got married here a few years ago. After the wedding we got on the Bahia belle. After boarding we were greeted by Isabelle to take our drink orders. 6 years later we have finally gotten back and boarded the Bahia Belle and much to our surprise Isabelle is still working on the boat and once again provided exceptional service. The Bahia hotel is lucky to have such a loyal employee who take's pride in her job. Thank you again Isabelle for providing another great memory for us.
This property is excellent location if you want walking distance to Mission Beach. Sea World is close probably about 1.5 miles but would not recommend walking there. Rooms are just okay but spacious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
The more things change, the more they stay the same. We're so happy to hear Isabelle too great care of you six years ago and this past September. She has exceptional customer service skills that haven't wavered during her time here. We are indeed proud to have her. Thanks for visiting the Bahia Resort Hotel again and we hope to see you yet again down the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you are looking for a grand wedding experience, this place has it all. There are a lot of details that go into a wedding and having our planner/coordinator Lindsay Berthiaume with us all along the way made life easy. The wedding packages are very affordable and all the vendors (DJ, Photobooth, Photographer, Flowers, and Cake) did a ridiculously excellent job. We had our ceremony at the Gazebo and our first cocktail hour outside next to the site. We hired a string quartet to play for the ceremony and the cocktail hour (old school rock & roll on a string quartet is awesome!) We had our reception in the ballroom and with a great view that overlooks Mission Bay we were treated to the Sea World fireworks show right after dinner. That ended up being an added bonus for our out of town guests. Everything was great! Did I mention Lindsay Berthiaume is the best catering sales manager ever?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Address: 998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in San Diego
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#72 Business Hotel in San Diego
#80 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.