We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly beachfront resort with a beautiful stern wheeler boat ride!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Bahia Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 15% Off Room Rate
Ranked #43 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A friendly beachfront resort with a beautiful stern wheeler boat ride!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I loved it! I was a little worried because I got a great deal through Groupon but it was beautiful. A little outdated but nice. Beachfront view with huge pool, huge jacuzzi, bar for alcoholic & non-alcoholic drinks & ice cream for kids, free arcade games, two seals in resort, beautiful restaurant & bar, free stern wheeler boat ride that was beautiful! I would definitely be going back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,263
    663
    280
    149
    132
See reviews for
932
594
59
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (789)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our family of five had a terrific stay at the Bahia! Our room (a suite with two queen beds and a pullout couch) was beautifully redone, with a large living room and very functional kitchenette, nicely stocked with utensils, dishes, and appliances (I was surprised to even find a strainer and a real kitchen knife to cut fruit). We had a beautiful view and a short stroll to all parts of the resort. I had booked our stay based on a friend's recommendation, but my husband asked me to reconsider based on some of the online reviews.

I always take reviews like this with a grain of salt, and the kids were already excited about the Bahia, so we left our reservations as is. I'm glad I did! The location was perfect, the staff helpful, the room beautiful and clean, the pool and hot tub perfectly adequate, the tropical garden charming and fun to explore, the food delicious ($7.95 for the kids' bfast buffet was a steal), the watersports and bike rentals so convenient and the Bahia Belle such a charming touch. We also took advantage of a special Brazilian dinner on the beach, where the food was outstanding!

Bottom line, the Bahia has a lot going for it. It may not be fancy, but our family doesn't need fancy. It is a terrific value for a charming resort that our family loved. Suites that sleep 5 are hard to find and much more costly elsewhere. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask if the room has been redone. We had a choice of ground or 2nd floor, we chose 2nd floor as the...
See more room tips
Green Features: Glad to see there are options to keep your towels for reuse etc.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Older resort hotel in a great location near amusement park, Mission Beach, and all the rental stuff. Stayed in the high-rise portion 3 floors up overlooking the bay. Excellent view of the Sea World fireworks each night. Best I've seen.
Room relatively quiet except for partiers on first floor below. Solution, turn the air on and shut the door.
Had problems with room cleaning which management resolved 2 days consecutively.
Jacuzzi was running with small children all hours (except early morning) less than 14yrs with no parents supervision. Parents with considerable distance at the pool.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I really liked this hotel...however older, it was clean and had great views. There is so much to do
on the property...luaus, jazz boat rides, bike rentals, hanging on the beach, eating at the restaurant which has live entertainment and you are not far from the Wavehouse and shops,
very nice.
Most noteworthy is the courtesy and service I received from Scott Hartman, at the check in desk who made a concession for an issue we had with our room and was very sweet about it,
and a wonderful young man, Stephen Wright, who was a bell boy who helped me get all my
luggage to my room as I was in a very stressed out state when I arrived. Very professional, courteous and genuinely caring staff....thank you!!

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the bay--so nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

So far all of the employees have been incredible! All have had excellent attitudes and have treated me with respect. The most important is all have had a very positive attitude. (all have been up and happy spirit) which really helped in the overall feeling of the stay. I am very impressed with all. Thank you for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secaucus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel
has beautiful grounds with lots to do at the resort and close by. The bathroom floor had what I would call years of dirt embedded into the tiles and grout that you would not want to walk on without shoes on. The room needs a serious makeover. We did enjoy the pool; restaurant; and the staff are all great.

Room Tip: It appeared that the bayside rooms would have been a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC, UT
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Took our family to the Bahia Resort Hotel in San Diego. We stayed for 6 days, 5 nights. The hotel is on a peninsula in Mission Bay with its own private beach and private cabana benches. There are beach-side rooms (which look like duplexes), both single and two-story that face the water. We stayed in a two-story building that faced a lawn and the tennis courts. Group consisted of 1 senior, 2 parents, two teens.

The rooms were fine. The senior member of our group needed her room a little warmer, and the HVAC unit heated it up just fine. We needed our room cooler, and it worked great for us as well. They weren't fancy, but we didn't spend that much time there. We were just 30 seconds from the beach on Mission Bay.

We didn't eat at the restaurant, so can't comment there. We walked by the pool, and the kids checked out the game room once, but not enough to comment. Didn't try the fitness room.

When we stayed, we had complimentary rides on the paddlewheel boats that go back and forth from the Bahia to the Catamaran Hotel across Mission Bay. The round trip is about an hour and a half. Great views of the bay and the ocean. We had a chance to speak with the captain, and she was very nice and open to questions and explaining all about the boats. (They have two, one larger than the other, and they usually go out one at a time, although one evening they were both away from the dock. If you have to choose, take the larger boat, the William D. Evans.)

The staff was great. We needed a wheelchair a couple of days, and they were happy to provide one at no cost, to get it all set up, and were very helpful. Rooms were clean and neat, and everyone around the grounds was pleasant and friendly.

Rentals: One of the best parts. Although not part of the hotel operation, there are two rental shops on the bay, and they let you use your room key as collateral for rental gear. They have stand up paddle boards, several sizes of sail boats, one- and two-person kayaks, surf boards, boogie boards, and Segways. We took advantage of the small sail boat, the paddle boards, the Segway, and the kayaks. The bay is perfect for all the watercraft (smaller areas for those less comfortable on the kayaks, but big enough to get up some speed on a sailboat or speedboat), and there is a boardwalk all around the bay that is perfect for a Segway tour. Prices were reasonable and the staff was very helpful.

Evening activities: While we were there, they had a luau on the beach at the Catamaran (sister property), a Brazilian barbecue and music night, movies by the pool, Hawaiian dancers, and a couple of weddings. They also have live seals on the property.

We had stayed there in 1995 or 1996, and it was as good as we remembered. A great place to stay and really reasonably priced for the location and what you get. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We faced the tennis courts in the two-story building but didn't have any problems with noise. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay
The Dana on Mission Bay
#82 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,645 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#47 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 815 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Hotel
#113 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 652 reviews
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#160 of 273 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Address: 998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#49 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
#80 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.