We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Bahia Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 15% Off Room Rate
Ranked #37 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tolleson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Really Enjoyed the service. Esperanza, the room attendant was particularly great. The location was great and the view was beautiful. Really enjoyed ourselves. Hope to make it back again. The only thing is that we needed to get our A/C fixed and maybe the Buildings could use an upgrade.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,313
    674
    283
    149
    133
See reviews for
961
610
60
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (803)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Kudos to Josh at the front desk for switching our room to one that was renovated. The older rooms are pretty rundown, so get a renovated room. The property was quiet, housekeeping was great. Can't comment on the onsite restaurants. We didn't patronize them because the reviews were less than favorable. The location is excellent. All around Mission Bay and 1/4 mile to the ocean and Belmont park. VERY comfy bed. This place was money well spent!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I booked this place for a two day stay near Mission Beach and the staff was very friendly and very helpful, food in the restaurant wasn't bad, and was in a great area. But...and here's the bad news... Carpet in hallways was old and musty... room was very out dated, carpet was filthy, and room smelled old and musty. I have allergies and it affected me really bad.
From what we can tell this place needs a major renovation. Pool area was nice, and surrounding beach was nice but room was unacceptable. We would not go back and if you want some good advice there are better hotels in the area. Sorry BAHIA but you guys need to spend some $$$ and get this place caught up.

Room Tip: If there is a renovated area we never saw it... Room smelled awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and had a great time! This place is within walking distance to all the Mission Bay fun. Park your car and go to the beach, rent the bikes from the resort for a ride up the boardwalk, huge park across the street ,Belmont Park, Luigi's Pizza, plus all the bars! Very congested area! Walking is SOOO much better. Beautiful grounds on the property. Everyone is correct, the rooms could use some updating but not at all unacceptable. The check in was right at four, so request a early check in even on a wed. They were a bit slow due to what we saw, two weddings going on. They (at this time) offer a free bay cruise. Fun. It was nice being cold out there cause I live in Phoenix! They have a nice little lounge and a cute outdoor eating area for breakfast. Pool was clean and warm and so was the spa. They have a pool in the front for injured seals that was really cool. Could watch them all day. I would return to this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Bahia for a week on a long overdue vacation. From check-in through-out the week we were impressed with the activities available and the service provided by the staff. Clark at the front desk was very professional and efficient. Great tips on places to go with some discount cards available. The restaurant was excellent if you get tired of traveling around. Our room was clean and good enough but nothing fancy (didn't get a kitchen). Wifi was free as was parking that a lot of other places charge for. Tara was our waitress for a meal and was very friendly and appropriately efficient. We had 3 meals there and the food was always excellent.

One thing we noticed, if you are coming from another state, is that we could sleep with our sliding door open a foot or two. There are no flies, mosquitoes, or bugs there! Overnight temps were in the mid-70's and highs were in the mid-80's to 90. Amazing weather! In fact, there is no weather - it is just perfect all the time! Which is why people live there and pay those Calif taxes, but that is another story.

Don't miss seeing the seals get fed at 9 am and 2 pm. Also walk around behind the pool and discover the walking path snaking around the beautiful jungle of trees and plants and the lagoon with all the ducks hidden in the center of the property.

We could have saved some money with a cheaper place but we really feel like we got our money's worth for the features and peace of mind that the staff was competent and the place was safe and clean with lots of activities on site or close by.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The basic rooms are pretty basic. We did have a nice big TV for some morning news. Spend more to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Perfect location but very tired hotel. My friend and I had stayed at the apartment building for one night and the entire building looked very outdated. Beds not comfortable, couch very dirty no one wanted to sit on it and the washroom so small with no countertop. Will not go back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We planned a dinner cruise at the Bahia Resort on the Evan D. Williams Sternwheeler for 110 people and had the most amazing time.

I had contacted the resort to see what type of dinner options they had available for our group of 100 students visiting from Monterrey, Mexico. We wanted something that would be unique and memorable to end their study abroad tour here in San Diego, which would also be attended by their professors. To say that the Bahia did a great job is an understatement! It was exactly what we were hoping for, plus so much more. They gave us the entire sternwheeler, a 3-course meal, and a beautiful cruise in Mission Bay during sunset - all within our budget.
From the very first point of contact to the day after our event, we were extremely pleased with the service!! We cannot wait to use them again for future events and I would highly recommend them to other coordinators or people looking for an awesome event!

A special thank you to Beth Hunt and Macarena for their exceptional service and attention to detail in helping us plan our event! It was a night to remember.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay
The Dana on Mission Bay
#84 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,657 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#53 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 823 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Hotel
#113 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
La Jolla Cove Suites
#18 of 25 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#162 of 273 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Address: 998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#49 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
#80 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.