We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return to the Bahia Resort!!! Loved it!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bahia Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bahia Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off End of Summer Rat
Ranked #35 of 270 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
“Can't wait to return to the Bahia Resort!!! Loved it!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We loved everything about this place. It is a family place with resort amenities. We were in the suite on the bay. The suite was spacious and clean. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The grounds were amazing with flowers and greens. The Cafe Bahia food was excellent. We love the Bahia Belle boat ride. We loved seeing the seals getting fed. We are planning to go again for the holidays, We plan to make the Bahia homebase when we visit California in the future. It is a quality place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,913 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    917
    531
    219
    132
    114
See reviews for
715
448
41
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The San Diego Science Educators Association has had their annual awards banquet in the Del Mar Room for years. I speak from true experience. Amazing and extremely helpful staff. We have almost become family and our banquet is a Bahia Hotel reunion! Kendall (head of the catering department) will make sure your banquet needs are fulfilled. The views of the bay are breathe-taking. Mr. Evans (owner of the Bahia) continues to be our hero and friend of science. Thank you everyone!!!!!
Barb.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I got married in February of 2013. Being originally from the East Coast and having family and friends from all over the country, we needed a place that was nice, accommodating and near all the things people like to visit in San Diego, like the beach and Mission Bay. We inquired around a few of the larger resorts in San Diego and the Bahia seemed to be the best option. The price was very reasonable especially with a group rate, the grounds and location is perfect. Katy Sullivan was the woman who helped us through the process. She was very helpful, even when we made things a bit confusing. :) We wanted to pay for a nights stay for certain guests who would be staying for the wedding. She was very helpful in making this turn out smoothly and making sure everyone got the rooms they needed and got taken care off. Also every time I stopped in to see Katy about anything, Robby Stewart was always a welcome and friendly face at the desk. As the wedding day approached guests from all over started showing up and loved the hotel. We were also happily surprised that everyone in the party got upgraded from the basic room. February is not the prime season for San Diego so there was plenty of open rooms so we moved up in the world. :)
The only negatives I could think of was the rooms are a bit dated, they are well taken care of and very clean, but you can tell the resort is the most senior of the many on Mission Bay. Also the restaurant at the hotel was a bit under par. I expected more of a fresh California type of cuisine, but the food was far heavier than i prefer.
All in all, the weather and the location and everyone at the hotel was friendly. Though we had the wedding and reception at a different location, I would highly recommend the Bahia to anyone looking to show some out-of-towners a beautiful San Diego resort experience.

Room Tip: The rooms on the west side, on the bay. Nice grassy yard and private beach on Mission Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great room. Fantastic service. Especially Jean, our waitress at the Bahia restaurant. She was friendly, informative, and went above and beyond for us. We really appreciated her service! Everyone else was awesome too, but she was top shelf. Thanks Jean! And, everyone else at the Bahia Resort, for making our stay one we'll never forget. - The Eckhoff family

Room Tip: Bay view suite was great for 3. Separate bedroom. Kitchen area for snacks & quick meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I spent many summers at the Bahia Resort Hotel as a youngster, and my many wonderful memories prompted me to suggest holding our professional organization's annual two-day conferences there in recent years. To date, I have co-hosted three annual seminar weekends at the hotel, most recently this spring, and it is by far the favorite venue of all of our members from across the state. The guest rooms have been fully renovated, but still retain the flavor of the Bahia of the past. The staff from the front desk, to sales, to convention services, to technical support are first-class. Jennifer Gale and Julie Deeb have repeatedly ensured that all of the details of hosting a large conference are competently and completely covered. Our meals are always perfectly prepared and our seminar classroom venues have all provided gorgeous views of beautiful Mission Bay. We will continue to hold our meetings at the Bahia Hotel by popular demand. And I will continue to return there for both business and pleasure whenever I am in San Diego.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberal
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Bahia Resort and had a good time while there. The resort is very easy to find and even has big signs throughout Mission Bay pointing you towards the property. We got off to a bit of a rough start at check in as when I booked three months ago through Groupon, I called Bahia and made sure that we would have a two bed room as we were going to have four people, and when we showed up, they informed me that the room we were assigned only had one bed. However, they quickly offered to switch rooms and also let us know that our room had a pullout sofa which slept two, so any problem there was quickly fixed by the front desk staff. After driving through the lush property to our room, we were taken back by the amazing view that or room had of the bay. Our second floor balcony was close enough to throw a rock into the bay and offered a great view of the area. The room itself though left some to be desired. Nothing glaringly wrong inside the room, but certanly needed an upgrade considering the beauty of the rest of the property. The room was clean which is always nice, and the pullout sofa actually wasnt too bad to sleep on. The free breakfast is far above average which is always great. Good variety of fruit and cereral to go along with a very good hot breakfast with eggs and waffles. Also a cool little extra is their seal pond which has a par of residents that were very playful and fun to visit! Overall a good place to stay in the San Diego area.

Room Tip: Spend the extra few dollars and get bayfront room. You will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a total of 5 times now and absolutely love it. It is a beautiful place with great service. The staff is always friendly and smiling. The price is the best we found in the area especially since it is right on the beach. The Pacific Ocean is only a block away and is easy to walk to. The only complaint I have is the food is good but a little pricey. We love the private beach and cabanas. There is plenty of stuff to do at the hotel or around the area. The Mission Bay cruise is fun and relaxing and something the whole family can enjoy.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms on the west have a sliding glass door that goes out to the bay and cabanas. These...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Address: 998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Diego
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#50 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#72 Business Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex and Venere so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.