We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Bahia Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off Direct with Bahia
Ranked #40 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent 3 nights on a business/pleasure trip. The hotel was obviously built way back when, but that's what made it so neat! Before that scares you, I should say our room was completely new. Granite tops with cherry wood furniture, large flat screen, a VERY clean and new bathroom that looked like it was being used for the first time. Our room was ground level, so we could drive right up and park at our door (no long suitcase hauls), and then a large sliding glass door (of very good quality) led out the back to our own patio with the beach across a little road. The road is closed to the public at night so you get a very private feeling. Some sections have multiple stories, which would give even better views if you don't mind going up a flight. There was a nice patio outside the bar for Happy Hour. We didn't have a meal in the restaurant but the avocado taco appetizers were wonderful! Location was perfect for us - a five minute walk brought us to Ray's rentals to rent beach cruisers (brand new bikes for all day for $10!). A super bike path runs down the beach and around Mission Bay. We very much enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side have cabanas on the beach that are first come, first served.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    562
    235
    137
    122
See reviews for
767
499
47
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Even though this hotel is dated, you really don't mind too much as your private access to your own beach with cabana is breathtaking and makes it all worth every dated item. The bed was comfortable, however squeaky every time you moved. The sliding door going out to our very own patio and short walk to our cabana and own beach was sticky and very hard to open due to the salt air and water damage. The air conditioner did not cool off the room, so we just opened the slider and had the cool air flow in and that seemed to cool off the room. With all this I still enjoyed our stay largely in part for the cabana and beach and sun setting view. If you don't watch out though in the morning the mama duck and her babies will come in to the room looking for hand outs, we had to shoo them away twice before they took the hint and moved on to the next room. They do take pride in the beach and the beach is groomed and the duck poo is removed every night and the grounds are well kept. The seal feeding is a pretty cool attraction as well. The pool and hot tub is wonderful, the water in both was perfect and very relaxing. The pool towels, however were not much larger than a hand towel but you do dry off pretty quickly anyway, plenty of pool side chairs, they even had a BBQ grill pool side with a bar to cater to your every need. If you don't care about the dated rooms and want to spend some quiet time with your family or lover then this secluded place is perfect!

Room Tip: Make sure you pay the ten dollars extra for the private beach access you get your own cabana and pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, CA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel and it was wonderful. When we walked up to the front desk, we were welcomed by Scott Harmon with a big smile. The atmosphere was great, very similar to many places we have stayed at in Hawaii. Scott checked on our room, a bay front suite, and it wasn't ready. I told him that's ok, we will go to the bar for a glass of wine. He said he would do us one better and treat us to the wine since it was past check in time. We went to the bar and sat outside in a tropical environment. Shortly thereafter, Scott came and told us that housekeeping found the rug in the room badly stained and they wanted to clean it before it was rented. He said The Bahia wanted to upgrade us to a Deluxe Bay front Suite. We were delighted and went to our room. It was BEAUTIFUL and huge. It had a kitchen with service supplies including wine glasses. The bedroom was large with a king bed and TV. The living room had a sofa, chair, table and chairs, a desk, and flat screen TV. The living room wall was glass with sliding glass door out onto a patio with two lounge chairs. We had brought a bottle of wine, so we took our glasses onto the patio and enjoyed the fantastic view of Mission Bay. The only negative comment I can make is the shower, which was large, did not had a shelf for shampoo, so we had to put it on the floor. We certainly could handle this very minor inconvenience. All in all, this place was absolutely wonderful and all the employees we came in contact with were friendly, helpful, and made us feel welcome.

Room Tip: It appears that the Deluxe Bay Front Suite has two layouts. Rooms with even numbers have their livi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I guess the only bad thing is that I didn't really get to spend long enough there to enjoy it all! A family holiday can be a little taxing on the wallet but this place was great value. The sort of place you think is a great price then you book hoping it isn't &%^*!! Well surprised big time! Great place indeed! Lovely views and I am so keen to visit again one day.

Room Tip: Don't go ground level to ensure a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely hotel. We stayed for two nights as part of a four week trip and this might possibly top the list of hotels we stayed in. Sadly when we arrived our room wasn't ready (we were too early but the travel agent didn't give us check in times) but the receptionist was lovely and offered us a key to the pool area (which we didn't use at all during our stay) and to call us when the room was ready. We decided to go exploring instead and took the short walk to Mission Beach.

The beach is really lovely. It's very long so you would be able to find a spot easily.

The hotel itself is on spit of land so there is sea on either side. While we were waiting we took advantage of the beach sunbeds that belong to the hotel. They are only available one one side as the other has gardens rather than a beach. That's where our room was. There were pluses and minuses to garden rooms - due to the road (only beach access so very quiet and screened by plants) you were set back from the beach so people didn't walk behind your rooms to get to the beach but that also meant there was no sea view.

We didn't try the restaurant so can't comment on that however we did have cooking facilities in our room which made a nice change from eating out. A recommendation to the hotel would be for a washing up bowl in the kitchen. As English folk we've never seen a waste disposal so were a bit scared!!

I really wish we'd had longer here. Our room was beautiful and so comfortable. It was also spotlessly clean and modern. I will make it my mission to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have stayed at and done business at this hotel. If you want to get the flavor of San Diego beach life, this is a great option. Family-friendly, with a laid back beachy vibe.

As with their sister property The Catamaran across the bay, I like how the Bahia has kitchenettes in room (I stayed in the main tower building). It is so handy to be able to cook and have a full size fridge and microwave at your disposal when you are away from home. They are stocked with basic cooking utensils, plates, glasses, etc.

I have eaten at the cafe a few times and enjoyed it as well (expensive as per usual for hotel restaurants, but the food is good).

3 Stars because this is your basic laid back beachy hotel, not a 5 star luxury place...and there's room for improvement. It's older and a bit run down, but nothing horrifying. The interiors could use a face lift for sure, but that would invariably up the cost of staying here. It's great for what it is: staying near the beach without paying a bundle.

Check out the adorable rescued sea lions out front (or seals? Sorry, I always get those mixed up).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night via a Groupon deal.

Pros:
1. Clean & quiet room
2. Nice swimming pool
3. Tennis court
4. Our room opened up to the beach
5. Affordable
6. Hot breakfast
7. Cute rescue seals
8. Cute little kitchenette
9. No lame resort fees
10. Free wi-fi

Cons:
1. Bathroom sink is very small
2. Toilet paper holder is awkwardly placed extremely low to the floor

Overall, my family had a great time. The staff was very friendly and inviting. We plan on coming back!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Address: 998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in San Diego
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#72 Business Hotel in San Diego
#80 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.