We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Bahia Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 15% Off Room Rate
Ranked #46 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Home away from home !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My family and I have stayed at the Bahia Resort every summer for over 10 years. This is a family friendly resort to stay at. The staff Mike C, Angle, Kevin and Allison have been great. They go out of their way to make sure that our stay is great, and make sure that we have anything needed to make our vacations something to remember. They are one of the big reasons that we come back every year. They treat you like you are family. This is a perfect place to stay. Everything is at your fingertips. Thank you ALL for making the Bahia Resort like being our second home. The accommodations are great

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,261
    663
    280
    149
    132
See reviews for
930
594
59
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (789)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Layton, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We went with our daughter, son-in-law and two granddaughters, 2 and 5 years old. The hotel was wonderful. Everything we could have asked for. The bungalows faced a small stream and the kids were thoroughly entertained by several ducks and ducklings. We had a lot of fun in the pool and hot tub. One day we had fish tacos out by the pool. Yummy. We also ate breakfast and lunch at the restaurant and both were very good. The property is ideally located. Very close to Sea World and the airport. We didn't get a chance to go on the Bahia Belle paddle steamer but that looked like fun. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The front desk gave us a VIP card to use at a local restaurant that cut our wait time down significantly. We would highly recommend the Bahia and definately stay there again when we get back to San Diego.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the garden were ideal with our small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We truly enjoyed this resort! Our waitress, Isabella made our stay extra special as she served us dinner outside next to the cozy, romantic, fireplace. Isabella provided us with excellent service and we were disappointed that she was not working on our last day at the resort (everyone must take a break with a day off, but we missed her while she was gone). : (

This resort is great for families, for couples, or for anyone wanting to have a great time. The decor was nice - a little older decor in some of the rooms, but the resort was wonderful overall. The riverboat was a special touch and guests are able to take a ride on the boat free during weekends. We would definitely go back and we'll definitely ask for Isabella!! : )

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a room that faces the water as you can walk straight out to the water and use t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I (from the UK) stayed at the Bahia for three days after touring round the Grand Canyon and loved the hotel. Our room was on the small beach and a short walk from Mission beach - ideal for walking out, jogging and swimming (my husband, not me) - and we enjoyed eating in the restaurant each evening, having a cruise on the Bahia Belle paddle-steamer, and just relaxing. We recommend the restaurant and Zoltan the maitre d' - warm and welcoming, with lovely food - although large American portions!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

AHHHH the Bahia Hotel! Our go-to hotel for a quick girls/mom's getaway! Perfect location, on the bay and only a 3 min walk to the boardwalk. You can rent bikes, a paddle board, bring your own or just take jog/walk along the beach and bay. Coffee shops galore and hidden dive gems for bkfst, lunch & dinner. Do yourself a favor and up-grade to bay "view" you will not be disappointed. We always jump on the Bahia Bell at 9:30 for dancing Friday and Saturday nights. No driving needed, you have it all here at the Bahia. Staff AWESOME!! You can book a spa treatment at their sister hotel The Catamaran about 1 mile along the bay. The shuttle will take you or you can walk along the beautiful mission bay. Also, try and have lunch at the Catamaran on the bay worth it!

Room Tip: Bay view, any of the rooms are good! Unless the palm trees are in the way. We always book the studio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I went there for a weekend getaway from the OC rut. We loved the location and things to do at the resort. It's in a great location with plenty to do. Everyone was very friendly and seemed like family: the security, bartender, waiters, receptionist, etc. We loved the little beach with the wood recliner benches and the little seal rescue habitat. The resort also had a nice boat with great entertainment. The rooms weren't too bad. I think there could be a little bit more updating in the kitchen and maybe double pane windows to filter out some noise but overall the size of the room was great. Overall, I highly recommend this little resort. It's just a nice little place to getaway from the everyday routine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was here for a conference. The rooms are decent and the staff are very good. There's lots to do nearby as well. As a conference location I think it's great.

The food they server is also quite good (though the breakfast buffet eggs were often runny), and the little pub is very nice. The only thing I'd criticise about the food is that if you're trying to stay on a "Paleo" or just low carb diet there's very little choice. Still, the food was good.

One major problem I had was with the Hotel WiFi. The latency was awe-inspiring bad. Maybe that's ok for simple web browsing, but it's not ok for anything else.

Basically I enjoyed my stay, and if I was here on vacation instead of a conference the WiFi problems wouldn't have mattered as much to me.

Room Tip: I'd take one of the ground level rooms. There were a lot of kids in the bigger blocks and I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay
The Dana on Mission Bay
#82 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,643 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#47 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 812 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Hotel
#115 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 652 reviews
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#160 of 273 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Address: 998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#50 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
#80 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.