We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Wedding Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Bahia Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off Direct with Bahia
Ranked #41 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Akron
1 review
“Fantastic Wedding Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Bahia to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had an amazing time. Our room had a great view of Mission Bay and we went on the William D. Evans for a cruise along Mission Bay. There's some really good inexpensive restaurants all within walking distance from the Bahia. We had an unforgettable time and I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,009
    555
    234
    137
    121
See reviews for
757
492
45
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Bahia and had a great time. We had a beautiful view of Mission Bay. The staff was friendly and provided us with many dining options within walking distance. We also took a stroll down the boardwalk on Mission Beach. We had so much fun and the weather was perfect!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were there for a union convention and were pleasantly surprised! Very quiet and a great location! Restaurant on site was good and the banquet food was above average. Loved the gift shop! Check out was a breeze! The best part was that you're in walking distance of the beach and can walk for miles from the San Diego River north!

Room Tip: Request a bayside room. If the airport noise bothers you, just turn on the fan on the AC/heater for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodland hills, ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Everything about this resort and hotel is family friendly! The staff is cheerful, courteous and helpful. It offers so many different things to do from feeding rescued seals, to renting paddle boats, bikes and sail boats to enjoying their "Bahia Belle", a “Turn of the Century” Mississippi-style sternwheeler that offers boat cruises in Mission Bay to a large pool and jacuzzi. Plus the rooms are right on the bay so you really can wake up and walk from your large patio to a beautiful grassy area and then step right onto the sand and bay -- great for the kids to play. Food is fresh and offers a variety of meals and in room service. Wonderful kids menu at great prices. They offer so much to do that there's really no reason to go anywhere else -- it's all right there, and convenient. Relaxing atmosphere! It's what all vacations spots should be like.

Room Tip: One bedroom suites with kitchen are great. Rooms with the bay or the marina view are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauma Valley, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Had a very nice one night stay. This would be a very good hotel if you are coming for a few days or a long term stay. Our Bayside Studio slept four with king bed and roll out sofa and included a full kitchen, great for saving money on meals. The resort has many rentals including kayaks and bikes. The bay is a great place to kayak. The beach and Belmont Park are within walking distance, although the resort has its own bayside beach with covered lounge chairs. There is a cafe on site. We only dined there for breakfast, had the buffet which was included in our room fee. That was just okay, nothing special, but the service was great. All in all the staff was friendly and accommodating. Many restaurants are nearby and the resort is convenient for exploring San Diego with a car. There was no resort or parking fee. I would recommend this hotel for a nice stay in San Diego.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Needs renovating. Great location. Super duper service from front desk, and great maid service. If we come here again, I would get the rooms facing the bay. Bought the hotel/sea world package...came in december with great weather...GREAT DEAL!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I found a really great deal for Bahia through AAA. Stayed here for 2 nights.

The resort is 5 min drive to SeaWorld and a 5 min walk to the Mission Beach. There is a private beach on the Mission Bay available for resort guests. The water look okay but scenery beautiful. There are also a lot of water activities available for the resort guests.

The front desk and cafe staff is super cheerful and friendly and genuinely cares about guests. The rooms are good sized but it has somewhat of an aging feel.

Overall, a great value resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Address: 998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in San Diego
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#50 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.