We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bahia Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bahia Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 269 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our room was very outdated. It had old tv with poor reception and not even positioned well in the room. The beds seemed small (two doubles). On the plus side it included a kitchenette so we were able to cook and prepare meals. The service was fine except when I enquired about the kids club they said they no longer do it, yet it is is still on the website and in the guest book in the rooms. Also, the kids were so excited to watch the resident seals be fed on the last day we were there and I specifically noted the daily feeding time written in the guest book being 9:30 yet when they got there they found out they had already been fed at 9 am. So I question the accuracy of what is written for guests. The swimming pool is great and you are able to use the tennis courts day or night. Location was fine for us, but we did have a car while we were there. Overall a comfortable stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    859
    519
    211
    127
    110
See reviews for
660
431
41
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Excellent location, service that constantly exceeds expectations. A room is a room, this was above average, but who gives this kind of service anymore??? Not very many places, that's for sure. I have had opportunity to be associated (as a customer) with this hotel for ....hmmm more than 40 years it just gets better all the time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I came to San Diego and stayed for the weekend. We had a great time. The room was ok but we spent most of our time taking in the sights. Perfect location, perfect weather and the staff was wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stopped here on the 2nd leg of our Arizona/California road trip. We loved it and we are planning to go back next year for a longer stop. My only criticism is the price of the Evening Buffet and the Breakfast buffet. a 5 minute walk will give you a selection of eateries at half the price - I can never understand why US hotels do this - because the restaurant was empty every morning and every night presumably because of the price. Any way that said this hotel was lovely and has everything you need to a high standard complete with free Seaworld fire work display everynight.

Room Tip: Ask for North Side rooms to see the wonderful sunset every evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

I spent 11 days here. 7 was for training and the other 4 to see the sights of beautiful San Diego. I was in a king studio room (with kitchen). The room was tastefully decorated and very clean. All the staff I encountered were very friendly and helpful. My cleaning lady was very good, friendly and dedicated. The wait staff in the 2 on site restaurants were great. Even on the weekend when the bar was very busy, they kept their smile. ( the bar really could have used more staff that night. They were packed and only 2 on)
This resort has a large hot tub and pool which were well maintained. It is on beautiful mission bay with beaches on both sides of the resort. It is a 5 minute walk from Ocean Front if you want to experience the big waves. The walk from resort to ocean is full of touristy shops and a little midway park.
I definitely will stay here again if I travel to San Diego.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I went to an engagement party on the bahia belle their sternwheel boat and we have a great time. The property itself seems a bit dated but the boats we fantastic and the brunch was delicious. We went all around the bay and if you are planning a party this is a great place to have it, I have never done anything like this before.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Staff are very helpful and were very accommodating when we asked to change rooms to overlook the beach.Hotel is popular for weddings so quite busy at weekends but not to detriment of other guests. Free boat trip is a nice touch. Plenty of equipment to hire on the beach. Rooms are spacious with good facilities. Lovely location and was a good base to explore rest of San Diego but a car is needed.

Room Tip: Overlooking the private beach are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Address: 998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in San Diego
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#49 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#71 Business Hotel in San Diego
#80 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.