We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel. Staff was helpful.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada San Diego North Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada San Diego North Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Ramada San Diego North Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5550 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #167 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Pittsburg, Kansas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very nice hotel. Staff was helpful.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is not a top end hotel, but it was clean and the staff was helpful. The restaurant on site is not family friendly and in fact, I wouldn't rate the hotel in general as being particularly family friendly, but it is a place to stay. TV was nice and pool was useful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, General Manager at Ramada San Diego North Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
I want to thank you William for your comments and I am glad you found our hotel very nice and that the staff we helpful, I will be sure to let them know about your review.

Again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    135
    84
    36
    43
See reviews for
143
66
29
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

This used to be The Sands and likely enjoyed its heyday when Gary Lewis & The Playboys had a number one hit. Today, our "non-smoking" room had that oh-so-familiar been-smoked-in-for-years aroma, and the air in the room felt damp and musty. The A/C unit went all night, just to keep air moving (but never shut off automatically after a certain temp reached). We had air, but for a cost (constant, loud reminder that that smell really is because we're in a really old motel room).

All this could have been overlooked if the price weren't over $200 for one night (gulp). NOT worth it for the hotel is close to nothing we needed and far better rooms are available at Hotel Circle for less (the Travelodge would have been a far better choice, for example).

Finally, we would not have stayed had we not been trapped by a computer glitch between booking.com and the property which neither the manager on duty nor the booking site would honor (namely, an indication on app that cancellation cost was *free*). Cancellation was NOT free, and we lost the room and had to get it back (they were charging us for it anyway). The manager actually treated me like I was an idiot for thinking I could cancel for free (even though I showed him the button saying so on my phone app for this very reservation). I understand "policy" and "rules," but mocking a customer and showing no understanding of my view was very disconcerting coming from someone with the title of "Manager On Duty." There are countless other hotels in the San Diego area.... Next time, we will avoid this one.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, General Manager at Ramada San Diego North Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
I am very sorry to hear what happened during your stay. Again I am sorry. If you would like to discuss this further with me my name is Charlie Holladay and I am the General Manager, my phone number is (858) 278-0800 or you can contact me via email at charlie@ramadasandiego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Wonderful stay, very clean room, professional staff and outstanding price for 5 days over 4th of July 2014 weekend. Will stay each time I visit San Diego which is 5 times a year. Internet access was easy and constant and free parking. Location is perfect to go any direction in San Diego. Great place to stay for a great price.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, General Manager at Ramada San Diego North Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you Christine for your positive comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon! I am happy to hear that the Internet was easy and consistent for your use.

Again thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our 5 days in newly refurbished Exec room, very nice.
New bathroom, carpets, paint etc. with nice big HD TV.
Now has a safe, tall and shallow but can fit a couple of iPads in it.
Pool was very noisy with kids having fun but got locked at about 10pm and after that real quiet.
Staff friendly and helpful, don't understand reviews that say they are not. Been here many times and they are always nice to us.
Would be great to have bottled water provided for the coffee machine.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, General Manager at Ramada San Diego North Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
I thank you Fred for your positive comments we look forward to having you back again soon. Just so you know next time we do have complimentary bottled water available at the Front Desk for your convenience.

Again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The staff is dedicated, hard-working, and splendid.

The lack of a reliable WiFi is simply unworkable. When it goes down (and I've been here three days, and it's gone down twice), the management has the guest talk to their Internet provider.

I've stayed in a large number of hospitality establishments. I have never had WiFi go down so frequently, and never was I - as a guest - required to resolve the problem with the establishment's service provider myself. Twice.

I may pack my bags tomorrow if this doesn't get any better. I'm using my (apparently) limited Internet access seconds to provide this review.

Think about that.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, choose a room facing away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, General Manager at Ramada San Diego North Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
I thank you for your comments Ken. I will be sure to let the staff know about your positive comments on their work ethics. We have recently upgraded our WiFi and I am glad to assure you that this issue has been resolved.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I did not have much expectations of this hotel considering the reviews from other travellers. But was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, quiet and spacious for a family of 4. Had no problems checking in/out.
The only drawback was this hotel did not have free breakfast, would be a good value-add for the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, General Manager at Ramada San Diego North Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you and I am glad to hear that you and your family were pleasantly surprised. I will share with the housekeeping staff your comments on the room cleanliness.

Again thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My son and I recently stayed here for 4 nights and though I got a great deal via hotels.com; the room was average. My lamp was broken and the bathroom floor wasn't well mopped. The flat screen was nice and the a/c worked nice and quiet. There is no complimentary breakfast so be ready to use the microwave in the room or pay at the Proud Mary' restaurant downstairs or go McD across the street. Hot tub was a plus but the pool is cold and with a dirty floor. Overall not too bad of an hotel and not very far from main attractions. I would stay again at the same deal but not at a premium price. 3.5 stars (Room 251)

Room Tip: ask for a room close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, General Manager at Ramada San Diego North Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
I thank you for your comments Marc, not only is our hotel a great place for vacationers like yourself, we are a favorite for business travelers as well as we are centrally located with It is within 10 minutes of all that San Diego has to offer, including Sea World, San Diego Zoo, San Diego International Airport, Petco Park, Qualcomm Stadium, San Diego’s Gaslamp District, Historic Old Town and of course San Diego’s beautiful beaches as well.

Again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada San Diego North Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada San Diego North Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 5550 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada San Diego North Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada San Diego North Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Conference Center Qualcomm Stadium Hotel San Diego
Ramada Inn Qualcomm Stadium
Ramada Inn San Diego
Ramada San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada San Diego North Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.