We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gerat bed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bristol Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bristol Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1055 First Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-4890 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The Great Escape Package
Ranked #46 of 269 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Culver City, California
1 review
“Gerat bed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I got the reservation through Hotel Tonight. great price, great location 1 block from Gaslamp District. They give you ear plugs, but I did not need them. The bed was AMAZING, soo good. They also gave drink coupons for the restaurant (I did not eat there, butthe food looked excellent).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Diana Z,
Thank you for staying at the Bristol Hotel and for a nice review! I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our affordable, spacious and comfortable accommodations. As you mentioned, the Bristol Hotel is just a few block walk to the Gaslamp Quarter as well as the Convention Center, waterfront, Petco Park, Horton Plaza and several music and live theater venues. Our First Avenue Bar and Grille restaurant has delicious food and we also offer a 50% discount on select dinner entrees and we hope you have the chance to enjoy a meal there on your next stay!

On behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    356
    276
    62
    31
    27
See reviews for
91
263
52
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Location - near city center but in a side street. Easy walk to harbor and restaurants and bars.
Parking - own parking but very expensive. Note that you can park free in the same street after 1900 till 8 am.
Staff - very friendly and helpful - very goon knowledge where to go and what to do.
The room was amazing. Great Art Deco design, comfortable mattresses and huge king bed. Coffee maker in room - it was really a great stay.
But walls are too thin and pray for good neighbors - pure luck.
Enjoy your self.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear TripblogerErez,
Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that you had a great stay at the Bristol Hotel and that you enjoyed our downtown location, walking distance to all of the major attractions including the waterfront, Little Italy, the Gaslamp District, and more. I apologize you felt our parking was expensive, but if you happen to drive a Hybrid Vehicle we will offer you 50% off our valet pricing. Rest assured, our rates are priced to be $8 to $12 less than most surface garages and other hotels in the area. Thank you for acknowledging our friendly staff and comfortable, well-appointed guest rooms.

On behalf of the Bristol team, thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel and we hope you stay with us again soon.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This hotel is only a couple blocks away from the Gaslight District. It is convenient to public transportation as well. It is also just a few blocks away from the Convention Center. The hotel and rooms are well kept and the hotel has a helpful and friendly staff. It is also dog friendly with no extra charge. A safe is provided in each room for your valuables. Only two criticisms. The first is that parking is by valet only. This also adds around $30 to your daily room rate if you drive. The other minor annoyance which can't be avoided, given is located in a central downtown area, is that some traffic noise enters the room. However the hotel offers complimentary earplugs in the room for those that may be bothered by it. We were not. Other than that it is a very pleasant place to stay and offers good value for your money.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear GymAW,
Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Bristol Hotel and liked our centralized location. As you mentioned, we are walking distance to the Convention Center, the Gaslamp Quarter, Little Italy and Horton Plaza. The Amtrak Station is just a few blocks away and the bus and trolley stops are located right outside our front door.

Thank you for mentioning our amenities like the in-room safe, as well as our no-fee, pet-friendly policy. I realize parking can be a bothersome expense and we have asked our valet company to price our underground valet parking between $8 to $12 less than competing hotels and public garages at $26 per night and if you should be driving a hybrid vehicle, we will also extend a 50% discount on overnight parking.

Thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel and we hope to see you again soon!

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Staff great, location not perfect but buses galore and really only a short walk to the water. We stayed at the front of the hotel and were overjoyed that we could open the windows. The price you pay though is traffic noise. But earplugs are provided and if you can't stand it, you can always close the window.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear NMRE,
Thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel and for posting a nice review. I am so glad you enjoyed our downtown San Diego location, which is walking distance to all of the local attractions, like the Gaslamp Quarter, Little Italy, the waterfront, Seaport Village and more. I also appreciate you acknowledging our guestroom windows that open for fresh San Diego air!

On behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you for selecting our hotel.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

What a pleasant stay! The staff was extremely helpful, the amenities that of a larger luxury hotel with the charm and treatment of a small boutique. Everything was extraordinarily clean and the beds comfortable. They even give you earplugs for a serene sleep and if the streets get too loud (they don't)! I can't wait to go back and was upset that I was only there for one night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear lenn1014,
I am extremely pleased that you had a most enjoyable stay. Thank you for your accolades. Our staff has a genuine desire to please our guests; from providing excellent housekeeping practices to offering exceptional service, and we appreciate your recognition. We are also glad you enjoyed our amenities and comfortable rooms. We hope that next time you visit San Diego you can stay at the Bristol for more than one night!

On behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This was by far one of the best boutique hotel experiences I have had in a long time! The location was convenient. The room was comfortable. The staff was friendly and welcoming. It was lovely! I would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear ColoGal752,
Thank you for your 5-star review of the Bristol Hotel! I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the location of our hotel! The Bristol is only a few blocks walking distance from the Gaslamp Quarter, Convention Center, Petco Park, and so much more. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our spacious, clean and comfortable rooms and we can’t wait for you to stay with us again!

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had our wedding reception in down town San Diego this past weekend & the easiness of staying at the Bristol made the day that much better!! The front desk staff, valet, bell man were all so wonderful!! BIG THANK YOU TO THE GM!! It was perfect!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Elise K,
Thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel and congratulations on your nuptials! We were glad to be a part of it. We appreciate your acknowledgement of our friendly staff and are so happy that your stay was “perfect”!

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel

Address: 1055 First Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-4890
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Business Hotel in San Diego
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bristol Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bristol Hotel, a premier boutique hotel in downtown San Diego, offers extreme comfort and friendly service whether your travel is for business or leisure. The Bristol Hotel is a fresh take on modern style - our sophisticated atmosphere awaits you in our contemporary lobby and throughout our eclectically styled San Diego hotel rooms. This modern flair continues throughout the lounge and banquet facilities and is sure to be a perfect choice for business, leisure, group functions, meetings and special events. This downtown hotel’s superb location is within blocks of the Gaslamp Quarter, fine dining, world-class shopping at Horton Plaza, the Cruise Ship Terminal, the Convention Center, Petco Park, Theatre District, East Village, Little Italy, San Diego Concourse and the San Diego Bay. This pet-friendly San Diego hotel is only a short drive to any of the many sunny beaches, the San Diego Zoo, and SeaWorld. The Bristol Hotel is one of only seven hotels in San Diego to receive the Green Eco-Leaf Rating and is also a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.