We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for extended stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Diego Central to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Diego Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5400 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #25 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boracay, Philippines
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best for extended stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Residence Inn San Diego Central is great for extended stay. They served free breakfast every day and social hour from Monday through Wednesday The staffs are nice and friendly. They have the best housekeeping staffs.

This hotel has a swimming pool.( I wish they could extend the size of their swimming pool.) Washers and dryers are available too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi Cinnamon Hearts!. Thanks so much for your review of our property. I love it when our guests fill me in on the highlights of our hotel and their stay. Hopefully you will be able to visit us again when you are in town.

Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    79
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
139
35
5
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
frozensky
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is very nice. The room is very clean, comfortable, modern. I was impressed that everything looked and felt so new. We stayed at the suite with a bedroom and an upstairs loft. My only complaint is that we had 2 kids (1 yr old and 3 yr old) with us and the bedroom downstairs has semi-transparent doors that aren't soundproof. So there wasn't really a place where we could put the baby to sleep without having some sort of disturbance by my older child. If you don't have this issue, then this is an excellent hotel. At breakfast they served REAL eggs, not like some modified egg substitute some other hotels would serve. They also have a good variety of food as well. The price is also excellent considering that our room fits 6 people (the loft has a double bed. The bedroom has a king size, the living room sofa converts into a double/queen). But like I said, if one person is too loud anywhere in the suite, the rest of the suite will hear. The kitchen has a full size refrigerator. The downstairs bathroom in the room is adequate size. The upstairs bathroom is very small, we didn't even bother closing the door because of that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi Frozensky! Thanks so much for your review of our property. The rooms were just renovated in July and I am so happy that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. The breakfast we serve is a highlight for so many of our guests and I am glad that you enjoyed the quality and the offerings. I am sorry that the downstairs room did not offer the privacy that you had expected. This particular room style has changed over the years and at one time had a Murphy bed where the desk currently is situated. Based on feedback such as yours we will be able to continue to improve the guest experience.

At Your Service,

Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Residence Inn San Diego Central in late September prior to a cruise. The hotel is a little further away from the "sites" but it is convenient to the main highways and easy to access. The rooms were large and well maintained. All the kitchen appliances were updated and worked as they should. While this is not a new hotel, you could tell the staff were "on their toes". They had a high-quality hot breakfast that was well-stocked and the front desk was very courteous and helpful. I would definitely stay here again if I returned to San Diego.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Jatennessee! Thanks so much for your review of our property! The property has been newly renovated and I am happy that you enjoyed the accommodations as well as the breakfast. The staff works hard to deliver a quality product to our guests and it is nice to know that we succeeded. Hopefully your travels will bring you back to San Diego again soon.

At Your Service,


Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

i was looking for a hotel in San Diego to finish our family vacation and spend quality time. The hotel is located in Kearny Mesa. On the map it might look as if it is far away from the beaches and downtown but it is not. It takes no time to get to the Highway and destinations. Few minutes to the zoo, beaches and anything else your heart desires. Several other good hotels are in this area as well. We enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly. No parking fee and there is plenty of parking. Hot breakfast included. They have a very nice breakfast area.. there is a plenty of room unless you hit the main rush hour when everyone wants to eat , on the weekend. On Sunday they kept running out of food. I told the staff several times that there is no food. We waited and waited and when I told them again, the staff told me it is being cooked. That is not the way it should be managed. We were a line of 10 and growing, waiting for something hot to be refilled. It happened again. But this time I did tell the hotel management about it and immediately they went to talk to them. So they are watching out that the hotel is represented well. The rooms are wonderful. Spacious and a nice kitchen and refrigerator. There is no safe. But two smaller hanging closets. We had a room with two queen beds and a couch in it. TV was working well. Everything was clean and each day it looked fresh and clean when we returned from our outings. There is a small pool. We didn't use it but it looked clean and inviting. There are also some outside seating areas that look new and comfortable. As well as a small court for playing ball or something like that. They are trying to use the space wisely.
In driving distance near by is a Target, Ross, Costco.. several restaurants. Chains and individual. It is a business district but so easy to get to. And as I stated earlier you are at your fun destinations in no time. It is a great location. One of the more upscale malls is near by as well. We will stay there again. It is a great hotel and we have enjoyed our stay there.
Oh yes, the beds are comfortable. Clean white sheets on bed and pillow cases. Nice soft comforters... blankets. 4 pillows on each bed. Carpet appeared clean. We had no bad experience. Fire place in the room, but we had no need for it. Plenty of lamps or natural lights. Black out curtain as well as sheer curtain for your preference. The only thing that could be considered odd is that for a room of that size.. there were only two chairs. So if you have four people staying in the room and when we tried to eat our dinners, only two had a chair. We fixed it by sitting on the couch or floor. No big deal, but it was a bit odd. However. Not sure where they would have squeezed more chairs in. We made it work.

Room Tip: I believe each room is in a great location. Quiet and private. It seems that if you have a room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hi Hawaii H. Thanks for taking the time to write a thorough review of our property. You were spot on and I am happy that the property met you and your family's needs. Breakfast on the weekends and during peak times can sometimes be a challenge but we do our best to keep the food hot and available. Sometimes we find ourselves unable to keep up with the demand, but we are aware and our only goal is to keep the buffet line stocked and clean at all times. Thank you for your patience and understanding and also for bringing it to a manager's attention. Without quality feedback such as yours, it is difficult to improve the quality of the product we deliver to our valued guests.

Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAT
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This Residence Inn is typical of others in the chain. It was clean, well furnished with comfortable beds. The breakfast was good and the pool and hot tub were nice. The downside of this hotel is that it is located adjacent to a lot that is filled with dozens of garbage trucks. Units 9, 11, 13, 15, 17 have windows that face the lot and if you open the windows there is a strong smell of garbage. The trucks start up and leave very early in the morning, between 4 and 5 am, and are quite loud. If you choose to stay here, request a room on the opposite of the garbage truck lot.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you TexasHula for your candid review of our property. I am sorry that the waste management company located to the west of our property put a damper on your time with us. I have heard previous complaints from guests regarding noise in the early morning, however if the smell is bothering our guests then I have an issue. Thank you for bringing this to my attention as I plan to walk over this week to the company and discuss ways we can eliminate this problem. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

At Your Service,


Jonathan Correll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Clean and comfortable room with enough room to enjoy a meal or drink alone together. Well stocked kitchen and a little table for two. Pool is heated. Great laundry room. Breakfast was good and well stocked and continually re supplied. The evening social Mon thru Wed appeared to be appreciated by many residence and included food, wine and beer. Overall staff were all friendly and professional so we stayed an extra night and they negotiated on the price which was great. The Chop Shop restaurant was within walking distance and the food was great. I had my nails done at Tommy's Nail bar nearby and he was great. Additionally, although out of town it had good access if you have a car. Go see Balboa Park it's a must! Mission Beach was also well worth a visit and the downtown waterfront is just great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi 1SherAl1. Thank you for your review of our property. I am happy that you took advantage of the wonderful amenities we are able to offer. Come back and see us again in the future.

At Your Service,


Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Paula, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We recently spent 5 nights at this location. The 2 bedroom "penthouse" suite was super comfortable, spotlessly clean, nicely decorated, and thoroughly stocked with kitchen necessities. It was conveniently located to the interstate, shopping , and a quick drive into San Diego tourist spots. We picked it for the the intermediate location between downtown and the SD Zoo Safari Park which was our major goal for the trip. Free parking, free breakfast, and three nights of free dinner (although they refer to it as happy or hospitality hour)- can't beat the bargain price for such a friendly, cooperative staff and roomy accommodations. Will definitely recommend it to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Remember that the two bedroom suites are all 2 story and start on the second floor. A lot of steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Happywanderwoman! Thank you so much for your review of our property! You covered so many of the wonderful aspects of our hotel in your descriptive review. I also loved the photos you took as they show that you were using the amenities such as the fully-stocked kitchen. I enjoyed reading your comments regarding the staff too and will certainly share your review with our entire staff at our next employee luncheon. Thanks again and we look forward to having the opportunity to host you and your family again in the future.

At Your Service,


Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Central

Address: 5400 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Central 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego Central Kearny Mesa is an upscale San Diego, California extended stay all-suite, apartment style hotel. Our hotel is ideally located in the heart of the inland area of San Diego County. With easy access to Interstates 5, 805, and 15, we're the perfect home base for excursions to the many popular attractions that draw visitors from around the world. Beautiful La Jolla, Mission Valley, Coronado Island, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, Sea World Adventure Park®, LEGOLAND®, and the vast sunny beaches of San Diego are just short drives from our all-suite upscale hotel in Central San Diego. The San Diego International Airport is about 15 minutes from the hotel as is downtown San Diego and the many attractions that America's Finest City has to offer. Whether you are staying a few days or an extended period, our apartment style suites are sure to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Central Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.