We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Central

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn San Diego Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5400 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #30 of 268 hotels in San Diego
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks in between moves. The rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. The hotel is being renovated so the furniture is now modern with new appliances. My only complaint is that the wifi is horrible, especially in the evening when everyone is in their rooms. It would take several minutes to load a page, if it would even load. If you need to do business, you're better off going to Starbucks nearby, which I did several times. Also, the parking can be limited at night, especially on weekends. The breakfast was decent and the staff were all helpful and friendly. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would stay here again if needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your candid review of our hotel. The renovation on the guest rooms and public areas is nearing completion and our guests love the improvements. The Wi-Fi has improved significantly since its inception, however, we are still working with our internet provider to continually improve the service for our guests. We have limited the usage in each suite which has helped significantly. In the future we anticipate even faster and more reliable service for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    70
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
124
30
5
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel was fine except there is no safe in the room. Everyday before leaving I would hide the iPads/iPhone if left in the room. We were there for the wedding of our daughter and on wedding day left in a hurry with my husbands iPad and sons iPhone on the desk. When we came back late that night and started to pack we noticed them missing. We looked everywhere including under furniture etc. it was soon clear they had been stolen. We currently live and Asia and have travelled many places in the world but have never had anything stolen. Unfortunate and just wanted to mention this as a caution. You may want to choose a hotel with safes or a better policy for discouraging theft as there appears to be none in this hotel after discussing this with the supervisor. We filed a report with the police but had to leave the next day for Asia so all my be lost.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks so much for the comments regarding our hotel. It is true that we do not have in-room safes. We do provide our guests with safe deposit boxes at the front desk. In the future, I look forward to the day that Marriott requires in-room safes for all properties. Our industry is based on trust and I am very thankful that all of our employees are trustworthy as well as screened for past offenses. Most importantly, I am happy that the situation turned out as well as it did for both of us. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you and your family on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My family stayed at this hotel twice--once in 2001 for nearly four months after a flood in our home and once in 2013 for two weeks after we sold our house to move. Both times, our stay was pleasant and enjoyable. The best part of this hotel is the staff. They were super friendly in 2001, basically treating us and all the other guest like family. To my surprise, the staff was just as friendly and helpful this time. The two-bedroom suite we stayed in was clean and well equipped. It was a little run down, but the hotel is being renovated so that won't be an issue soon. But for the suite being a little run down, I would have given the hotel a five star review.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Greetings tla852! Thank you so much for your review and of course...your return visit to our property. Thanks for the kudos on the staff service. We work hard to deliver WOW service to our guests and I am very pleased to know that we came through for you. I always share the feed back we receive from our guests and I look forward to reading your comments at our daily huddle today. Our renovation should be complete by the end of June and I look forward to hosting you again on your return visit. Happy travels.


Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Rooms are big and clean and love having a full kitchen. Service was great as were the free breakfasts and the free cookies at the front desk. Close to downtown San Diego and easy on and off freeway access.

Room Tip: I like rooms up front by the pool and front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks Tea Party for your review of our property. I am happy that you enjoyed the proximity of our hotel to some of San Diego's great destination spots and our access to freeways. I am also pleased that the breakfasts and cookies hit the spot too. Hopefully your travels will bring you back to our property in the future. Happy travels!


Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Through a total mess up with our reservation the management and staff dug in and were able to not only get us a room but at a lower price and on the bottom floor which for me is a must. We had a great time and the breakfast were fresh, hot and filling for our long days away. I strongly recommend this location for its location and the ease of going anywhere in the county quickly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Cris! Thank you so much for your nice comments. I look forward to sharing them with the breakfast staff and the Front Offfice staff. I am happy that we were able to fix your reservation and get you the room type you wanted and that the breakfast was a great way to start your day. Hopefully your travels will bring you and your family back to San Diego.

At Your Service,


Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

two stories hotel room with two master bedrooms kitchenette and den, very spacious, quiet, free breakfast buffet, free parking, great for families, excellent staff, crib for kids, clean, wonderful stay, all positive things!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi Monica! Thank you so much for your review of our hotel and taking the time to post your comments. We take pride ourselves in delivering a quality product and it always makes me happy to receive such positive feedback. I look forward to sharing your comments with the entire staff at our next employee luncheon.

Happy Travels!


Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the Residence Inn during a four day stay in San Diego. From there we were able to go whale watching, visit Sea World and Legoland, and hang out on the beach in La Jolla. Although other attractions like Balboa Park, Coronado are also pretty close we did not have time to explore those.

The hotel is a little older and the room we had was a little worn. But we like the town home style that this Residence Inn features. The room was spacious and we cooked dinner at the hotel a couple of nights rather than going out to dinner. Unfortunately parking is very limited and when you come late you have to walk quite a bit to your room.

Service was good. Overall a good value.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Marchoffmann314! Thank you for your response. Our property will be undergoing a refresh beginning next week will will include new stainless steel appliances, carpeting and softgoods. Hopefully you will be able to come back and stay with us again when the refresh is complete. Happy travels and thanks gain for your candid review.

Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Central

Address: 5400 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Central 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego Central Kearny Mesa is an upscale San Diego, California extended stay all-suite, apartment style hotel. Our hotel is ideally located in the heart of the inland area of San Diego County. With easy access to Interstates 5, 805, and 15, we're the perfect home base for excursions to the many popular attractions that draw visitors from around the world. Beautiful La Jolla, Mission Valley, Coronado Island, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, Sea World Adventure Park®, LEGOLAND®, and the vast sunny beaches of San Diego are just short drives from our all-suite upscale hotel in Central San Diego. The San Diego International Airport is about 15 minutes from the hotel as is downtown San Diego and the many attractions that America's Finest City has to offer. Whether you are staying a few days or an extended period, our apartment style suites are sure to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Central Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.