We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 Broadway Street, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #12 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The bartender named Josh is the man!!! He knows all the spots to visit in the San Diego area. He's a walking encyclopedia of the views and restaurants. Especially the beers and cigars. An amazing guy who deserves a raise and a bar of his own! See him.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    167
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
91
155
24
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Excellent location just in heart of the city. Historic hotel renovated from an old bank. Very nice and helpful staff. They only have valet parking for $ 30 /day but it does worth it because your car is always ready when you need and you don't have to spend time for parking. I have used this service a few times daily and enjoyed very well.

Within a few walk you will be on a gaslamp. You can enjoy all restaurants and cafe's around. The best night club in town Parq is just across the street !

Room Tip: have a room on a higher floors which are looking outside street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

When I think of the courtyard brand I think of lower quality, lower service, but value. In this particular hotel you get all three, great value, beautiful hotel and service is quite good. I can speak about the lobby, but all I will say is its beautiful. The lobby has a bar and a section to play pool. If your going to gaslamp or downtown, stay here it's definitely worth it.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed for 5 nights at the hotel . The checkin was prompt , the staff courteous and very clean rooms. The hotel is an old bank building and has been renovated to it's old splendour The location is great , near the Horton Shopping Plaza and a short walk from the Convention Center. The House of Blues is next door and there is Panera 2 blocks away for breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms facing 6th Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First of all, I have to really give all the credit to the entire hotel staff who made every effort to keep me comfortable as well as totally intrigued with the history of this very special establishment. I would like to thank especially, one of the staff Mximilian who gave me a persona tour of the historic bank with very personable and informative tour. The next evening, we had international colleagues arrived. Again, another hotel staff gave us a tour of the original Vault. I am sorry that I did not get this individual's name. We are grateful. I want to come back with my family sometime soon.

Room Tip: if you are going to be busy anyway and it is just important that you get a good sleep, it does not m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micanopy, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was the perfect location for our visit to San Diego. We had a meeting at the convention center and it was within walking distance. The restaurant right next door was awesome. If you get a chance. Go to the rooftop bar at the Marriott across the street during a Padres game. Great view and great drinks! The hotel was clean and comfortable. Free breakfast was a nice plus. Staff was very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really love this hotel! The pool is amazing and so is the staff. Especially Nick at the front desk. He helped us resolve any problems we have and even helped us move to a different room due to booking mistakes. Overall I really love this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica P, Guest Services Supervisor at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Jennifer M, Thank you so much for your fantastic review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit to San Diego. We do not have a swimming pool at our property, but we do have a billiards room if that is what you were referring to. And Nick will be very happy to have made such a memorable impact on your experience. Thank you for staying, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Address: 530 Broadway Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#27 Green Hotel in San Diego
#36 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the perfect hotel for your San Diego stay. Housed in a 1920's historic landmark building, the reinvented Courtyard San Diego Downtown welcomes guests with the sophisticated comfort of modern accommodations, while embracing the character of the distinguished former financial institution. From the moment you step through the revolving front doors, you will be whisked away to an inviting and intimate space to unwind, gather your thoughts, or share a laugh and a beverage with friends. Exquisite remnants of the former bank grace the interior of our hotel and mix with a fresh, contemporary style. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you can expect impeccable service and an unbeatable location in the Gaslamp Quarter; offering hundreds of dining and entertainment options. We are conveniently located in the heart of the business district, walking distance to the waterfront and San Diego Convention Center, and minutes away from the San Diego International Airport and the world-famous San Diego Zoo. We are also just steps away from the San Diego Trolley which connects Downtown to Mission Valley, Chula Vista, and the International Border. Reinvented with fresh decor and design, our guest rooms and suites provide superior accommodations for individual travelers, business groups, event groups and families. Each of our rooms offers luxury bedding, free high-speed Internet and microwaves, refrigerators and safes in every room. After sightseeing or a day of meetings, enjoy delicious California cuisine at THE LOBBY or grab a snack at our 24-hour market. At the Courtyard San Diego Downtown, we're ready to serve up what you want - where you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Marriott and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.