We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Building & Quiet Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 Broadway Street, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay For Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Historic Building & Quiet Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just had a short stay at this Courtyard. Very quiet room, soft bed, clean, wifi, but breakfast was offer for extra cost. Figured $280per night breakfsat would be included.
Water pressure good, check in and out quick and easy. Would recommend and would stay here again.

Room Tip: 9th floor king room was veryt quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    163
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
90
155
24
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at Courtyard in March for 8 nights - a couple with a 4 year old son. We really loved staying at this hotel. The building is beautiful and the staff were really friendly without being obtrusive or insincere. The hotel is in great location - we were able to walk to the waterfront and restaurants easily. The room was a good size and the meals very nice. We would happily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is in a former bank and has a very grand foyer with a fantastic ceiling. We were shown the vault in the basement which still has some of the original safety deposit boxes. Our room was large and comfortable though we didn't have much of a view from the window. The coffee in the room was not very good. The staff were excellent. The hotel is well situated with lots of restaurants, etc. nearby.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We travel quite a bit for our kid's activities and have never had such a wonderful, accommodating experience. The staff was not just friendly, they were warm, sweet, offered my kids tours of the historical building. At the restaurant, the suggestions were honest and right on - the food was delicious and family friendly (even for my picky kids!). Literally, every single employee we came in contact with made an impact on us and made us feel welcomed. Even when my mom nerves were on high alert because the volume of the kids giggles (you moms know that stress) the staff looked at me and said " we love seeing you guys laugh and have so much fun together". Talk about a sigh of relief for a mom - especially after being at so many hotels where I feel I have to have my kids in straight jackets... Don't get me wrong, my kids are 11 and 9... I wouldn't let them run wild and scream... nor would I want them to be ok with that, but they were ok with happiness and joy! Ramon's service at the restaurant/ bar was exceptional, the service at the bar/starbucks counter on the Monday morning as we left was also exceptional (4/15). We HIGHLY recommend this hotel. Word of advice for getting around San Diego... walk, enjoy a petty cab ride with your kids (you can dance to the music, embarrass them and create memories or UBER or LYFT... all of these were much better than trying to park anywhere :-) Thank you Marriott staff for a great weekend (oh and if you have a tween or teen - the wifi was always working and that saved me!!!!)

Green Features: SO happy to learn about their leftover donation program- goes along with the warm nature we felt there
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice Hotel. A little old. But the staff is outstanding. Very helpful, honest and courteous. I would have given it a "3" if it were not for the wonderful hotel staff. The trolley or tram is right behind the hotel. The trolley can bring you either to the convention center or northwards to the outlet stores. There is also a CVS store right behind the hotel. Great for snacks and necessities. Nicely situated right in the downtown area where all the restaurants are. But a little bit far from the convention center. I also suggest trying the steaks in Greystone. Worth every penny!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is first class, A1, etc.... The staff can not do enough, especially Maximillan the Bellman, Diego the Bellman, Nicolas the Bellman and John the Valet. The front desk staff including Crawford and Ryann are equally wonderful. The rooms as is the hotel are superb. I love coming and staying here. If I could mention the entire staff- I would as they are all excellent. Well done Marriott Courtyard.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in late March as a family of four. The hotel is centrally located, very very well priced and beautiful.

The fact it's in an old bank building complete with a vault is amazing. The lobby is simply beautiful. Our room, though compact was beautifully decorated and comfortable.

What makes this hotel stand out from all the rest? The staff! The service here is exceptional! From the valet, to the concierge and bell man, the reception staff, manager, housekeeping and restaurant staff, you will be treated as if you are their most important guest. You will be handed maps of the area, given great advice and generally be very well looked after.

The real surprise of this place is its restaurant. The food served here is simply excellent. We had dinners and breakfasts here and we thoroughly enjoyed each one.

The real star of this place though is Ramone (sorry if spelt incorrectly!!). Ramone works as a waiter in the restaurant and he is the best waiter I have ever come across. He remembered every meal, specially tailored meals to suit my needs as I am on a Gluten Free diet, was beautiful to our children, gave great advice about the local area and was just generally so efficient, professional and friendly. He went above and beyond at every meal and his efforts made our visit to San Diego that much better.

My whole family (we visited with my sister's family also) commented on Ramone's exceptional hospitality. We would not be surprised in several years to come across him running a hotel! The manager was also so lovely to talk to and we watched her walk around interacting warmly with her guests and making everyone feel welcome. Just goes to show how much of an impact wonderful staff have on a hotel. This place is taken from 3 stars to 5 stars based on its staff!

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Address: 530 Broadway Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#27 Green Hotel in San Diego
#37 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the perfect hotel for your San Diego stay. Housed in a 1920's historic landmark building, the reinvented Courtyard San Diego Downtown welcomes guests with the sophisticated comfort of modern accommodations, while embracing the character of the distinguished former financial institution. From the moment you step through the revolving front doors, you will be whisked away to an inviting and intimate space to unwind, gather your thoughts, or share a laugh and a beverage with friends. Exquisite remnants of the former bank grace the interior of our hotel and mix with a fresh, contemporary style. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you can expect impeccable service and an unbeatable location in the Gaslamp Quarter; offering hundreds of dining and entertainment options. We are conveniently located in the heart of the business district, walking distance to the waterfront and San Diego Convention Center, and minutes away from the San Diego International Airport and the world-famous San Diego Zoo. We are also just steps away from the San Diego Trolley which connects Downtown to Mission Valley, Chula Vista, and the International Border. Reinvented with fresh decor and design, our guest rooms and suites provide superior accommodations for individual travelers, business groups, event groups and families. Each of our rooms offers luxury bedding, free high-speed Internet and microwaves, refrigerators and safes in every room. After sightseeing or a day of meetings, enjoy delicious California cuisine at THE LOBBY or grab a snack at our 24-hour market. At the Courtyard San Diego Downtown, we're ready to serve up what you want - where you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.