We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Get Away in San Diego” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 Broadway Street, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #11 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Holiday Get Away in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Awesome experience from all staff. Maximillian was superb. Bartenders, front desk could not have been better. Highly recommend. Historic character of hotel was fantastic. I did not expect a Courtyard to have this level of service. Pleasantly surprised.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    137
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
78
137
18
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have stayed twice at this property and its amazing. The customer service is the tops, rooms warm and cozy, the view is breath taking. Just steps out the door and you are in the hub of downtown. NO need to take your car as there is so much to do within a few blocks in any direction. I attended a sporting event and back for a wedding and was so pleased to be welcomed back by the staff and made me feel like I was coming home.

Room Tip: Every room is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is absolutely beautiful! The historic architecture provides a perfect ambiance for relaxing in the lobby and the happy hour is wonderful too. We were most impressed with the friendly and helpful staff. When we checked in and mentioned where we had reservations for dinner, Thea gave us two tickets for a glass of wine at the restaurant and offered a map of the area with detailed instructions to the theatre. Ramon was eager to get us popcorn at happy hour and made sure we had everything we needed. Breakfast was excellent too and once again the staff was fantastic. We are already looking for another excuse to visit again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room further from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for the beautiful architecture as mentioned in other Tripadvisor reviews and we were not let down. The massive lobby can be enjoyed while having breakfast. Tried out the Trolley to get to the football game. It's impossible to get lost on the way to a game, just follow the happy fans in Charger's gear. Just ask concierge for advice on buying trolley tickets. Our Bellhop even gave us a ticket all ready to load a fare. (Costs just a bit more if you don't have that ticket). The huge crowd of friendly fans made the trolley even more fun. One note - they tried to avoid giving us the beautiful room we booked by putting us in a different one. But I returned to Reception and showed them a photo of the room we booked 6 months in advance and the front desk girls complied. Other than Ryann giving us the run-around at check-in the staff there really made our stay wonderful, all the valets, the servers, and the bellhops were so friendly and helpful. It really made a difference. No pool, but that's not why we came to stay. We had already hit the beaches and loved every minute of it!

Room Tip: Our room on a higher floor (quieter) had the *arched windows as seen in the Tripadvisor photo.* Not...
See more room tips
Green Features: They try to encourage guests like us who stay more than one night to let them know if they don't need fresh sheets to conserve water and energy.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Since I was working and my wife would be hanging out during the day I requested a nice view at check in. We were given a corner room with water view on the 11th floor. The hotel is beautiful and well staffed. To me it seems like the upscale hotels usually have uptight employees. That was definitely not the case here. They were friendly, helpful and kind of laid back in a way that me feel comfortable. The bed was really nice. I have a sleep number bed and generally am disappointed in other beds. I would definitely stay here again. Thanks Carlton, Maxamillian and all the other staff.

Room Tip: If you want something just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a truly stunning hotel. An old bank changed into a hotel and so beautifully decorated. An amazing diner 5 minute walk from hotel. Best area for restaurants so lively and such a vibrant city.

I never thought San Diego would appeal to me but I now want to go back for at least a week!

Room extremely comfortable, we stayed in 7 hotels across California this was the best hotel!

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First of all, I love well preserved historic buildings and the Marriott has done an excellent job maintaining the feel of the old bank while converting it to a hotel. Unfortunately, we were placed in the worst possible room. I travel extensively, and this was the worst night I have ever had staying at a hotel.

Through my husband's employer, we were able to get a pretty good deal on our room. We were actually really excited about the opportunity to stay here. I thought the location was going to be great, since we could walk to Gas Lamp so easily without being in the middle of it. Apparently though, good deal equates to TERRIBLE room. We were placed in a room on the second floor in the front corner, right above the main hotel entrance, a bus stop, and the valet service. So basically, we heard people talking and shouting, buses coming and going, car traffic, ALL NIGHT LONG. It was unbearably loud and I doubt anyone can sleep in these conditions. And the bathroom is actually exposed to the main entrance too, there is a window with a flimsy shade on it. I don't understand why they made this space into a room. No one should have to stay here.

We travel frequently and will definitely be going back to San Diego. This stay makes me never want to stay at this hotel, and potentially never stay at Marriotts again.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica P, Guest Services Supervisor at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
JSBear, Thank you for your review. I apologize that you were unhappy with your room choice. Although our location is convenient to the best restaurants, night life, and local attractions of San Diego, we are in the center of the busy downtown area. With the historic aspect of our building, our room options are limited. However, we do our best to provide guests with the room that best fits their needs. I apologize we were not able to meet those needs on your stay. I sincerely hope this will not detract you from visiting us again. On your next trip, feel free to call ahead to request a higher floor away from the street. We would be more than happy to accommodate you and be able to win you back as a valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Address: 530 Broadway Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#27 Green Hotel in San Diego
#34 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the perfect hotel for your San Diego stay. Housed in a 1920's historic landmark building, the reinvented Courtyard San Diego Downtown welcomes guests with the sophisticated comfort of modern accommodations, while embracing the character of the distinguished former financial institution. From the moment you step through the revolving front doors, you will be whisked away to an inviting and intimate space to unwind, gather your thoughts, or share a laugh and a beverage with friends. Exquisite remnants of the former bank grace the interior of our hotel and mix with a fresh, contemporary style. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you can expect impeccable service and an unbeatable location in the Gaslamp Quarter; offering hundreds of dining and entertainment options. We are conveniently located in the heart of the business district, walking distance to the waterfront and San Diego Convention Center, and minutes away from the San Diego International Airport and the world-famous San Diego Zoo. We are also just steps away from the San Diego Trolley which connects Downtown to Mission Valley, Chula Vista, and the International Border. Reinvented with fresh decor and design, our guest rooms and suites provide superior accommodations for individual travelers, business groups, event groups and families. Each of our rooms offers luxury bedding, free high-speed Internet and microwaves, refrigerators and safes in every room. After sightseeing or a day of meetings, enjoy delicious California cuisine at THE LOBBY or grab a snack at our 24-hour market. At the Courtyard San Diego Downtown, we're ready to serve up what you want - where you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.