We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LOVED it here! Beautiful property, comfy bed, amazing service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 Broadway Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #10 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I LOVED it here! Beautiful property, comfy bed, amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

On a spur of the moment trip, my boyfriend and I drove from LA to San Diego without any plans or reservations. After attempting to reserve at the Omni then the Hard Rock (and being told there were rooms when they're weren't any) we found an opening at the Marriott. We are so lucky we did!!!! The concierge was so thoughtful & knowledgeable, giving us advice on the best places to eat, drink, and dance, all of which was within walking distance. They event went so far as to draw us a map! The room was beautifully styled and modern, which was lovely in the old bank building, with looked more opulent than you would expect. We had great drinks at the downstair lounge, and when we came back late, our bed was incredibly comfortable and our room was totally soundproof from the bustle outside. Convenient, wonderfully staffed, beautiful. The only advice I can give is that parking isn't easy in the gaslamp, but we were able to park all day at one of the many parking lots on the block for much, much less than the other hotels were valeting for. Overall I think we had a much better experience for a much better price than we could have gotten anywhere else in the Gaslamp district. I would happily return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    125
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
69
123
17
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suwanee, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Passed through on a business trip. Property was clean, staff was friendly, offers a couple bars / restaurants, and the location is central is the Gaslamp Quarter and much more. Solid choice if you are passing through the city.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I had a wonderful tour of the west coast of the USA with Travelsphere. We stayed at 7 different hotels, each for 1 or 2 nights. All the hotels chosen seemed to be fairly up-market, though I don’t know what each one cost. We mainly used the hotels for overnight stays as we had trips all day, so I can assess them mainly on the rooms and location, rather than on all their facilities. This hotel I know cost $400 per night, room only, for the room we had (at normal prices). That is about £250. I guess you are paying for the hotel's excellent position in the "gaslight" district, as the room was nowhere near worth the money. It was a big room, very clean, a bit old-fashioned, it had many mod-cons, but I thought it disgusting that the tea/coffee making stuff was in the bathroom with the toilet - charming and hygienic, I don't think! But the hotel had lots of facilities, and was well=placed for downtown San Diego.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The room is nice, spacious, and most importantly clean! It's a good, affordable option for business travelers. The rooms are modern, you won't find the historic charm of the bed and breakfasts but after reading reviews of other properties in the Gas Lamp district I was happy to have a nice clean place to go home to at the end of the work day. It's a good location, easily walkable to a number of bars/restaurants, shopping, and the conference center. Definitely take a tour of the Grant hotel down the street to get your fill of period history charm. The hotel made a mistake at check in (somehow not realizing I booked via Tingo) and the hotel placed the charge in full on my credit card, but fixed this fairly quickly. This was the only minor snafu. There is no hotel shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is immaculate and the staff made us very welcome. The concierge was especially helpful. We were very impressed by our room which was on the 11th floor, it was spacious and had everything needed and there was zero noise heard from outside or other rooms. Good filling breakfast as you can imagine. If you are intending to walk the city then the only thing I would say is that its a little far to walk to the seaport village and that general area if intending to go more than a couple times. Overall though, a great hotel and right near to some good eating places.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

wow, I was impressed. I've stayed here before but didn't recall it being so nice! Larry in particular was wonderful!!! He assisted us with our meetings and was so helpful and kind! I took off one star cuz it was pretty noisy facing the street, the bed was a tad lumpy (really not bad though) and there was no plug near the bed for my iphone/alarm but those were minor.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A beautiful old building renovated to maintain the impressive heritage features. From the moment you walk in it feels like you are staying in a much pricier hotel! Our family of four stayed in a standard room with two queen size beds with our six and eight year old daughters sharing one of the beds. The room was a good size, well appointed and had plenty of space to store our luggage. The staff were wonderful. Always helpful. We looked forward to our complimentary breakfast each morning so we could catch up with Amber who treated us so well and made our stay extra special. Our girls still talk about her. The location in the Gaslamp Quarter was great but the streets were not so family friendly later at night due to the nightclubs in the area.

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor helps reduce any street noise. The laundry was handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Address: 530 Broadway Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#27 Green Hotel in San Diego
#34 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the perfect hotel for your San Diego stay. Housed in a 1920's historic landmark building, the reinvented Courtyard San Diego Downtown welcomes guests with the sophisticated comfort of modern accommodations, while embracing the character of the distinguished former financial institution. From the moment you step through the revolving front doors, you will be whisked away to an inviting and intimate space to unwind, gather your thoughts, or share a laugh and a beverage with friends. Exquisite remnants of the former bank grace the interior of our hotel and mix with a fresh, contemporary style. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you can expect impeccable service and an unbeatable location in the Gaslamp Quarter; offering hundreds of dining and entertainment options. We are conveniently located in the heart of the business district, walking distance to the waterfront and San Diego Convention Center, and minutes away from the San Diego International Airport and the world-famous San Diego Zoo. We are also just steps away from the San Diego Trolley which connects Downtown to Mission Valley, Chula Vista, and the International Border. Reinvented with fresh decor and design, our guest rooms and suites provide superior accommodations for individual travelers, business groups, event groups and families. Each of our rooms offers luxury bedding, free high-speed Internet and microwaves, refrigerators and safes in every room. After sightseeing or a day of meetings, enjoy delicious California cuisine at THE LOBBY or grab a snack at our 24-hour market. At the Courtyard San Diego Downtown, we're ready to serve up what you want - where you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Marriott, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
San Diego Marriott
San Diego Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.