We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old Building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 Broadway Street, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #11 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful old Building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The hotel is in an old bank building with coffered ceilings and a lot of original marble. Once inside the rooms they are modern and well appointed with a desk, small microwave and fridge. It was within walking distance of the Gaslamp district and about 15 minutes to the Seaport village. The rooms seemed somewhat small but were spotless and decorated in a contemporary style. I had an inside room and heard not a sound.
The front desk staff was pleasant to me but were not to a colleague who left her gov't ID at home. We were traveling as a group for a job with the Navy. I think she could have been more considerate.

Room Tip: Inside rooms were very quiet away from the street, however you have no view of anything except the r...
See more room tips
Green Features: You can choose to skip daily housekeeping if staying over 2 days and you are rewarded with more Marriott rewards points.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    169
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
91
156
24
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This building used to be a bank in early 1900's. The lobby is beautiful and they've kept a few of the old bank features too. Check out the lower lever to see the old vault which they converted into a meeting room.
The rooms were clean and quiet and the staff was curtious.
Only a few blocks to walk to gaslamp bars and restaurants

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

I go to SD every year for my birthday. I love this hotel. Extremely clean as the Marriott standards. It's in a great location. Really close to The Shout House. My friends and I just strolled down Gaslamp and back. No need to use the car. Even walking to the harbor is a pleasant walk.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a couple of days in June 2014. I had my parents with me and asked the hotel to have us on the same floor if possible. When this couldn't happen, they bumped up one of the rooms to an executive suite. I am a Marriott Rewards member, but the hotel seemed to go out of their way to be accommodating to a number of guests. I also asked for another room change as my room was next to a bachelorette room. They were able to get me into a nice room on another floor and it was very quiet. The rooms were very spacious, modern, and clean. This is an old bank building with a vault on the lower floor with meeting rooms. It had a very nice historic feel with a modern touch and is a must see. The lobby is beautiful and they have happy hour ever day (including Sundays) at the bar. Before our outings for the day, we had breakfast a couple of times in the lobby area and it was a good breakfast. Joanna gave us exceptional service with a smile! The parking is a bit steep if you have a car ($38 a day) but this hotel is within walking distance of a number of good restaurants downtown. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be back for a future visit.

Room Tip: corner rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed at the CY because we got a better rate than Marriott gaslamp, photos on the site drew me in since my fave color is purple, so why not?! So glad we did, service was excellent! Josh the Bartender was uh-mazing! He took care of us, made sure we ate since we were celebrating a birthday and made our home at the bar, knew what we were drinking, just overall classy, not what I expected from a CY but very pleasantly welcome. I'll definitely be back just because of Josh! He' the kind of bartender you follow! Night manager Sal was great too, engaged us in conversation, not what you get from the managers really but he took the time out to make a personal connection not just guests at the hotel. Awesome stay, clean, comfortable and spacious rooms, great staff, will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel in May of this year (2014). I can't find the words to describe the service at this hotel - except "WOW"! Thank you to the Bartender - Krys Ash who was beyond helpful and went above any expectations I had with respect to customer service - you need an award, my friend! Thank you to Lisa Morales for helping to direct me to the outlets for my much needed shopping experience! Thank you to Ryann Bernal for WALKING me to the train to make sure I purchased the correct ticket and boarded the right trolley! Every single person who I had the pleasure of speaking with at this hotel was so friendly - from the valets to the morning folks at the coffee counter to the front desk employees etc. Not only is the service great - it is a unique place, located in what used to be a bank so you can still view the old vaults on the lower lever - which have been turned into meeting rooms (really cool). And finally - the location is fantastic - walking distance to the conference center and waterfront. I highly recommend this hotel and will stay there again during my next visit to the Gaslamp District!

Green Features: Excellent environmentally-friendly practices with a linen reuse program and it was wonderful that they gave you the option of having your room tidied/cleaned or not.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I was initially disappointed with this hotel choice due to the location.

However, the service, the service, the service, blew this hotel out of the water! From the staff at check in, to the maint crew, to the personal touches from the housekeeping staff, to the (almost guilt making) service from the wait staff and bartender. Heres a short list of some of my personal interactions with the staff. Upon check in, I was allowed to check in early,however my room was dark and the front desk cheerily offered another room and even met me as I was exiting the elevator on my way to get a new key. The shower would not drain, and when I came back after lunch, there was a signed note from the maint crew explaining the repair. I had several personal notes in the room from the Housekeeping staff with 2 pieces of chocklates. On one particular day, I had a few friends over to use the room to shower and change before a formal event. I called down for more towels, and the Housekeeping staff delivered an abundance of towels and grooming products. The bartender did not have a wine I had requested, but took the time to have me sample a few sips of wine until I had discovered a new wine that I just love. The wait staff at the bar, took the time to listen and find just the perfect meal to match my mood and my new favorite wine. When I learned to my dismay that one of the Happy Hour appetizers was not available the next day, he found something new, that turned out to be my new favorite! The wait staff in the restaurant ( which I did not know existed for the first few days ) was so warm, friendly and accommodating, that I was starting to feel guilty! But in a good way! I hesitate to say this, but I Love the fact that all of the staff reflect the people that I know and love, it's hard to explain, but I suggest you see for yourself.


Did I mention the food was incredible ( please order the Happy Hour specials), The quality and quantity of the appetizers are equal to a meal, and the prices are unbelievably reasonable. We ended up having many of our meals here, even though we were in the Gaslamp (5th). OMG, there's a Starbucks right there at the bar in the morning, with delicious pastries! Plus, they have a small "shop" that has fresh supplies if you choose to dine/snack in your room. I just wish the "store" had popcorn. ( hint hint)

The location turned out to be a bonus due to the easy proximity to the many theatres within easy walking distance. It doesn't hurt that the Mall and Ross is about a block away. The trolley was right behind the hotel and having a 7/11 next door and CVS half a block away made getting room amenities that much easier.

Rooms were large, clean, cool, and quiet, with a refrigerator and microwave.

Who Knew?

I

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that do not face a brick wall if you want some sunlight.
See more room tips
Green Features: You can ask them skip maid service in exchange for points.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Address: 530 Broadway Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#27 Green Hotel in San Diego
#36 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the perfect hotel for your San Diego stay. Housed in a 1920's historic landmark building, the reinvented Courtyard San Diego Downtown welcomes guests with the sophisticated comfort of modern accommodations, while embracing the character of the distinguished former financial institution. From the moment you step through the revolving front doors, you will be whisked away to an inviting and intimate space to unwind, gather your thoughts, or share a laugh and a beverage with friends. Exquisite remnants of the former bank grace the interior of our hotel and mix with a fresh, contemporary style. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you can expect impeccable service and an unbeatable location in the Gaslamp Quarter; offering hundreds of dining and entertainment options. We are conveniently located in the heart of the business district, walking distance to the waterfront and San Diego Convention Center, and minutes away from the San Diego International Airport and the world-famous San Diego Zoo. We are also just steps away from the San Diego Trolley which connects Downtown to Mission Valley, Chula Vista, and the International Border. Reinvented with fresh decor and design, our guest rooms and suites provide superior accommodations for individual travelers, business groups, event groups and families. Each of our rooms offers luxury bedding, free high-speed Internet and microwaves, refrigerators and safes in every room. After sightseeing or a day of meetings, enjoy delicious California cuisine at THE LOBBY or grab a snack at our 24-hour market. At the Courtyard San Diego Downtown, we're ready to serve up what you want - where you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Marriott and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
San Diego Marriott
San Diego Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.