We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay downtown!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 Broadway Street, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #12 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
california
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stay downtown!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I really liked this hotel. It was very nice, the lobby was beautiful, the room was a good size, super comfortable bed. Walking distance to the best bars and restaurants downtown. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    154
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
86
144
23
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I stayed here for San Diego Comic-Con 2014. Rooms are booked through Travel Planners. I requested 2 beds, they booked a single King. I immediately contacted them to fix it, they said my request was noted.

Fastforward to the Con, and I find that my request was never passed on to the hotel; they still have us booked in a single King. Even though it wasn't their fault, Alexandra was able to get me into a King with a roll away. That kind of change on a weekend like SDCC is very difficult, and she was polite and even apologetic throughout. Good customer service really makes a big difference in hotels, and fixing a problem they didn't create definitely qualifies. In addition to Alexandra, every staff member I've spoken to has been courteous and friendly.

Otherwise, the room is fairly standard. It is a long-ish walk to the con, but doable, and even kind of nice in the morning. They sell breakfast to go boxes in the lobby, which is handy for early morning lines. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I went during 4th of July weekend. The suite I book had a pull out sofa bed that was a nightmare. There were so many springs in the matress my son could not sleep on it. When they brought in the roll away bed it was just as bad. Sergio the supervior recognized the problem and prompty gave us a room with 2 beds.

Great service and hotel is an excellent location. Do not rent the suites with the thought of using the roll away beds or the sofa.

Room Tip: Do not rent the suite. Very small and sofa bed is terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county, ca
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Marriott with its countless brands and massive corporate apparatus did not deliver a diluted experience here. Looking for a pleasant stay for my family with a convenient gaslamp district location, this courtyard was perfection. The building itself has that downtown charming character. The contemporary interior coupled with the "historic feel" permeated the lobby in every corner - from the chic pool table and lounge area, all the way up to buttresses near the top of the voluminous ceilings. Hotel staff was very nice and accommodating - at check-in I was given two complementary starbucks certificates and a complementary breakfast. The room was decent size, had a nice large window overlooking downtown, and was very clean. The restaurant staff was super nice and made sure I was happy in the morning while getting a quick to-go breakfast. The valet staff gets a major nod for their assistance during the failure of our vehicle's starter and subsequent AAA wait. Parking is $38 which is not atypical for the area but that doesn't mean its not obnoxious! From the pictures it looks like the hotel was once a bank and they offer tours of the antiquated vault - that would have been fun to experience but we did not have time. Maybe next time!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel is huge and it's great. The bar was really quite nice. The staff was really friendly and they make a mean martini.
The rooms were large and the king bed was very comfortable. Everything you expect from a Marriott.
The rigshaw ride to downtown was too much money but fun. Negotiate your fee before you get in for sure!

Room Tip: High floor for the views
See more room tips
Green Features: You can get fresh towels every day or help them save water by doing it every other day, Same with your bed.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington,nc
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location just steps from the Gas Lamp District that offers dining and entertainment as also a couple of blocks from Horton Plaza if you want an outdoor mall type atmosphere. The best part is the restored glamor of walking into the lobby with amazing high ceilings they have preserved some of the old historic charm while updating the sleeping rooms to what you would expect from a Marriott Courtyard property. The bar/lounge in the lobby is a great place to gather with friends/co workers for a drink after a meeting and the entire staff is very friendly. We had a meeting at this facility and found many of us spent the after meeting time hanging out downstairs in the lounge.

Room Tip: The presidential suite is great for entertaining a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were looking for a downtown hotel for our visit and this hotel fit the bill...on 6th Ave/Broadway and just on the edge of the Gas Lamp District and close to the waterfront. Good spot to walk to almost anything downtown. Hotel is in a beautiful renovated bank building and we found it comfortable. Some minor negatives; we were using Marriott points to stay for the weekend. Upon check in we were told we had been upgraded to a room which was described as having wonderful windows, architectural features etc....we get to the room and it is directly over the main entrance one level above the street. Was willing to give it a go re: noise, but we are in the room 5 minutes and a large fan of some type kicks in and is making considerable noise right behind the bed. I consider myself low maintenance but there was no way I could deal with that noise. The good news is that the hotel changed my room immediately and we ended up in an interior room of the same size and type and all ended well. I guess my point is I always wonder when staying on loyalty points at a hotel if one is given a "good" room or a "lesser" room given the lack of money changing hands. In this situation I feel like we were being given a lesser room hoping we would be OK with it. Again, the hotel accomodated our change request without any issues and I compliment them on that. I would recommend the hotel for someone looking to be downtown.

Room Tip: An interior, upper level room best to avoid street noise. The hallways are noisy due to the nature...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Address: 530 Broadway Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#27 Green Hotel in San Diego
#36 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the perfect hotel for your San Diego stay. Housed in a 1920's historic landmark building, the reinvented Courtyard San Diego Downtown welcomes guests with the sophisticated comfort of modern accommodations, while embracing the character of the distinguished former financial institution. From the moment you step through the revolving front doors, you will be whisked away to an inviting and intimate space to unwind, gather your thoughts, or share a laugh and a beverage with friends. Exquisite remnants of the former bank grace the interior of our hotel and mix with a fresh, contemporary style. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you can expect impeccable service and an unbeatable location in the Gaslamp Quarter; offering hundreds of dining and entertainment options. We are conveniently located in the heart of the business district, walking distance to the waterfront and San Diego Convention Center, and minutes away from the San Diego International Airport and the world-famous San Diego Zoo. We are also just steps away from the San Diego Trolley which connects Downtown to Mission Valley, Chula Vista, and the International Border. Reinvented with fresh decor and design, our guest rooms and suites provide superior accommodations for individual travelers, business groups, event groups and families. Each of our rooms offers luxury bedding, free high-speed Internet and microwaves, refrigerators and safes in every room. After sightseeing or a day of meetings, enjoy delicious California cuisine at THE LOBBY or grab a snack at our 24-hour market. At the Courtyard San Diego Downtown, we're ready to serve up what you want - where you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.