We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel and Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 Broadway Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #12 of 270 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chino
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Hotel and Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

First of all this hotel is amazing with incredible history! The fact that it used to be a bank is awesome they even have the old vault inside! The check in part was great. We were greeted by Dennis the bellman who is great at his job! He was very friendly! We checked in with Jesus who was also friendly and courteous. He made sure we had an amazing room with an amazing view of the city and we really appreciated that. He was very knowledgeable when it came to asking him for advice on where to go and what to do in Downtown. Our room was very nice and roomy, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was very clean! When we needed extra towels housekeeping made sure we got them in a fast and timely manner. Overall this stay was great! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that stays in Downtown San Diego.

Room Tip: Ask them if there's room available for an upgrade. They will be more than happy to check for you...
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer points for Marriott rewards members every time you decline housekeeping!
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    106
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
59
101
14
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I come to San Diego pretty often for work. I usually stay at the Marriott in the Gaslamp. It was my first time staying at this Courtyard and I'm so glad I did! First, I walk in and get greeted by a friendly front desk staff. I absolutely have to mention one girl in particular. Her name was Sandy. She was so personable and informative. It's people like her that make Marriott great. She made sure to give me directions and was always very attentive. The hotel itself is beautiful. Rooms are clean and decor is nice. Also, staff at the bar were very friendly. Will be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights at the hotel. Great location near restaurants and Horton Plaza. Clean and well appointed rooms. Service staff especially concierge were very helpful. Special thanks to Analaura Becera who went the mile to secure dinner reservations at a popular restaurant for the entourage.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was our second visit to The Courtyard San Diego. This is such a unique property. It was an old bank building that was converted into a hotel and it is beautiful. Take a trip down to the basement and see the old vault! The staff are very friendly and efficient. I would like to mention Conor at the Front Desk and the housekeeper on the 7th floor (Racarro ?), both made our trip even nicer. The valets were quick to get our car and they were always welcoming when we would return from our day. The property is walking distance to many nice restaurants and many of San Diego's downtown attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I would rate 3.5 if option existed. Giving it 4 out of 5 because of excellent service! We arrived late in the day after a long flight and rental car pick-up. Check in was very friendly and helpful. I had called prior and was told self-parking was available for $12, however that is the rate for for daytime parking only. We then had to pay $38 for (24 hour) valet parking. This seemed to be a "party" hotel the night we were there - other guests were friendly but it was not quite a family atmosphere. Front desk told us there were a few bachelorette parties going on when we checked out. Rooms were just fine, although bathrooms were a little small. I would recommend running a fan because of traffic noise, at least where our room was located. The highlight was having many great photo opportunities, as the hotel is truly a beautiful setting. In addition, it was nice to walk around the Gaslamp Quarter which was in close proximity. Following our stay, we switched to a different Courtyard hotel in Liberty Station, which was more family-friendly and included parking. In the end it all worked out okay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed in the downtown courtard marriot for 4 nights on a business trip. The hotel is a beautiful old building that used to be a bank. Great location and very helpful staff. I had multiple amazon packages ordered to the hotel and they would always drop them off directly in my room for me. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We cannot recommend the Marriott loud enough and long enough. We normally stay at the US Grant for special occasions, but decided to try the Marriott this time. We have been converted. It has all the historical charm of the Grant but without the cost. Our room was wonderful. We had two walls of city and water views. The location is convenient to the Gaslamp disctrict as well as the Civic Theater. The staff was great. We were celebrating our silver wedding anniversary and they went out of their way to make it special. Even the valet wished us "Happy Anniversary." We will definitely be return guests!

Room Tip: Water view rooms are spectacular.
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer additional Marriott points if you refuse maid service on a two night stay, as well as the usual towel reuse program.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Address: 530 Broadway Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#29 Green Hotel in San Diego
#35 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the perfect hotel for your San Diego stay. Housed in a 1920's historic landmark building, the reinvented Courtyard San Diego Downtown welcomes guests with the sophisticated comfort of modern accommodations, while embracing the character of the distinguished former financial institution. From the moment you step through the revolving front doors, you will be whisked away to an inviting and intimate space to unwind, gather your thoughts, or share a laugh and a beverage with friends. Exquisite remnants of the former bank grace the interior of our hotel and mix with a fresh, contemporary style. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you can expect impeccable service and an unbeatable location in the Gaslamp Quarter; offering hundreds of dining and entertainment options. We are conveniently located in the heart of the business district, walking distance to the waterfront and San Diego Convention Center, and minutes away from the San Diego International Airport and the world-famous San Diego Zoo. We are also just steps away from the San Diego Trolley which connects Downtown to Mission Valley, Chula Vista, and the International Border. Reinvented with fresh decor and design, our guest rooms and suites provide superior accommodations for individual travelers, business groups, event groups and families. Each of our rooms offers luxury bedding, free high-speed Internet and microwaves, refrigerators and safes in every room. After sightseeing or a day of meetings, enjoy delicious California cuisine at THE LOBBY or grab a snack at our 24-hour market. At the Courtyard San Diego Downtown, we're ready to serve up what you want - where you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
San Diego Marriott
San Diego Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.