We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 Broadway Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 269 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oviedo, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a great place to stay for the business traveler. The staff was very helpful. The location is great. The rooms are very clean. The lobby is a great place to unwind after a long day, and has great happy hour specials. The other guests I met in the lobby were also friendly.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
ThatsJohnson, thank you for such a nice review. I am glad our staff was able to make your stay more comfortable. We do our best to create a relaxed environment and accommodate our weary business travelers. For business or leisure, we would be delighted if you choose to stay with us on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    85
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
89
11
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great old hotel with loads of character.

We only spent a single night here, but were easily able to find transport (buses right outside the door) to Old Town for a nice meal.

The room was very comfortable and dressed in modern decor.

The following morning we had breakfast in at the hotel restaurant which was very nice. After this we went exploring with the kids through the hotel basement. The building used to be a bank, and many of the original fixtures remain. The main vault for instance has been turned into a small conference room.

Service throughout our stay was fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Damon S, thank you for such a pleasant review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your short stay with us and received fantastic service. It seems you were able to enjoy out convenient location as well as our historic building in your night here. On your next visit to San Diego, we would love to have you and your family return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We were one night in your hotel and the service we get from everybody was outstanding :)))
Ramon the bellman went above and beyond for us and he was so nice and friendly, it was amazing :))
And the building is unbelievable, great stay overall, the room was lovely :))
Thank you!! :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Pozitiva, Thank you so much for your kind words. We were all very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and received such outstanding service from Ramon. I hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit to San Diego. We would love to provide you with another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was in San Diego for two days on business. I must say that I had a nice stay at this hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is very unique. It used to be a bank and was built about 100 years ago. The decor of the hotel is modern but keeps the turn of the century touches with some of the original work and architecture. I found it charming. The rooms are large and with all the necessary modern needs. WiFi works well. I did not sample the food or other amenities. Beware that only valet parking is available, and it is expensive. The only thing I was confused about is that this hotel does not have the full amenties a normal hotel would, but at the same time had more amenities than what a typical Courtyard Marriott would have. Therefore, it is difficulty for me which category to put this hotel in.

Regardless, I had a nice time at this hotel and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
ViennaLover, thank you for your positive feedback. It is true that we are not a typical Courtyard, as both our building and our staff are all unique. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we would be delighted to have you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolleson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel is located in the former San Diego Trust & Savings Bank. The lobby is truly amazing. The room was awkward in bathroom to bedroom equity but I understand that virtually every room is different as the rooms were offices in their past life! Apparently sometimes you can get a room where the bathroom is as big as or bigger than the bedroom. We weren’t so lucky but that didn’t spoil a thing.

What made this hotel stay extraordinary was the bond my wife and I made with bartender Vance. Not that his colleagues weren’t up to the task but Vance’s infectious laugh and impeccable service were simply great. He offered several ideas on things-to-do around town and spent time circling areas on one the hotels maps. He makes a fantastic margarita on top of it. We look forward to seeing Vance and his coworkers next time we are in town.

Nice work by all and thanks for making our stay feel special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
MrM1959, thank you for the kind words about our staff. We were all very happy to hear what a positive impact we had on your stay, especially Vance. We hope you choose to stay with us again on you next visit to San Diego. We do have many different room types available so please contact us ahead of time when booking your next reservation. Either I or the supervisor will be able to assist you in finding a room type that best suits your needs. Ashley.reid@cymsandiego.com or veronica.padilla@cymsandiego.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our experience with this hotel has been outstanding. When we found this hotel online, we selected mainly based on price and location - with this looking the best value in the area for what we were looking for, including interconnecting rooms for our family.

Everything about this hotel has impressed us from the warm greeting at the kerbside valet (Danny), the reception and check in experience (Sean and Megan) and the quality, size and cleanliness of the rooms. This hotel occupies a beautifully renovated old bank building that retains all the grandeur with a modern feel in the rooms.

A special mention must go to the housekeeping staff. The attention to detail everyday was exception - including special touches like leaving our kids teddies in 'active' positions like watching TV holding the remote each day! Thank you to our housekeeper (Guadalupe Camarena) for the loving family service.

Location is great. Walking distance to good shopping and dining options.

This was meant to be the second last stop on our US holiday, but we loved it so much we extended our stay to the end of our trip. The best hotel experience we have hoped for and really started to feel like home (even the kids started asking "when are we were going 'home'" when we were out.

Green Features: Hotel offers Marriott reward points for waiving daily housekeeping
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hammo25, thank you for such a wonderful review and kind words. I am very glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I shared your comments with our team, and we were all very excited that you had such a positive experience. I am happy you had such a pleasant experience with our staff and received those personal touches that made you stay. We hope you decide to visit again on your next trip to San Diego. If you need assistance with reservations, you may contact me or the supervisor at Ashley.reid@cymsandiego.com or veronica.padilla@cymsandiego.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Situated at the top of 5th ave. means you have immediate to the Gaslamp district.
Public transport is nearby as is the hop on/ off trolley for access to Balbao Park/ Zoo, Little Italy and Oldtown.
Good spacious room and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
SwordsPat, thank you for your pleasant review. It is good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy our convenient location. We hope you will keep us in mind when planning your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Address: 530 Broadway Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#24 Green Hotel in San Diego
#35 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the perfect hotel for your San Diego stay. Housed in a 1920's historic landmark building, the reinvented Courtyard San Diego Downtown welcomes guests with the sophisticated comfort of modern accommodations, while embracing the character of the distinguished former financial institution. From the moment you step through the revolving front doors, you will be whisked away to an inviting and intimate space to unwind, gather your thoughts, or share a laugh and a beverage with friends. Exquisite remnants of the former bank grace the interior of our hotel and mix with a fresh, contemporary style. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you can expect impeccable service and an unbeatable location in the Gaslamp Quarter; offering hundreds of dining and entertainment options. We are conveniently located in the heart of the business district, walking distance to the waterfront and San Diego Convention Center, and minutes away from the San Diego International Airport and the world-famous San Diego Zoo. We are also just steps away from the San Diego Trolley which connects Downtown to Mission Valley, Chula Vista, and the International Border. Reinvented with fresh decor and design, our guest rooms and suites provide superior accommodations for individual travelers, business groups, event groups and families. Each of our rooms offers luxury bedding, free high-speed Internet and microwaves, refrigerators and safes in every room. After sightseeing or a day of meetings, enjoy delicious California cuisine at THE LOBBY or grab a snack at our 24-hour market. At the Courtyard San Diego Downtown, we're ready to serve up what you want - where you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
San Diego Marriott
San Diego Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.