We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 Broadway Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #10 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

In many ways it's just another Courtyard Marriott, but of course the location and the building makes it stand out somewhat. But for me what really makes it stand out is the service. The staff really go out of their way to make you feel at home, and as a business traveller there on my own, I really appreciated this.

The rooms are also a very good standard and kept immaculately. The only tiny thing to fault this hotel on is the valet parking charge, which is pretty steep, but completely standard for this part of town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
DominoDays,

We appreciate the positive feedback on our hotel and hope you continue to stay with us in the future. Be on the lookout for seasonal promotions that include free valet and discounted rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    113
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
62
108
18
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I had a lovely two day stay at this delightful hotel with excellent front desk staff. It is a masterpiece of architecture having been converted from a beautiful bank built in the 1920s. A must is to go downstairs and see the vault which has been turned into meeting room space. Restaurant serves a decent breakfast-- however this Courtyard doesn't offer guests coffee in the lobby like most- you have to pay for Starbucks equivalent at the bar. The front desk was quite helpful in orienting us to the Gaslamp district and even provided several excellent suggestions for restaurants to meet our interests. The valet team did a terrific job in facilitating our arrival and departure but the valet stand is on a side street and therefore with all of the one way streets in the area, awfully hard to get to. GPS didn't really do the job. The hotel is well located next to Gaslamp and not far from the highway entrance that will allow you to go to Coronado which is well worth a visit across the bay.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better for the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
maadiman,

We are glad you found our front desk and valet staff’s service excellent to complement our clean and beautiful hotel. The easiest GPS address to use would be 1027 6th Ave. and if you are having troubling please call the hotel and our front desk staff can orient you to our location based on where you are coming from. We do offer Starbucks in our lobby bar all day but also have complimentary coffee for our guests in the guest rooms. We are happy you were able to take advantage of our convenient location in the Gaslamp District and proximity to local attractions and hope you make use of our property for future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

There are a lot oF good things about this hotel, but offset by a number of inconsistencies that lower the overall rating. Beautiful historic bank building, converted to a hotel in 1999. Beautiful woods and marble adorn the lobby. The conference rooms are inside the safe deposit vault, original telephone booths are operational, which is a good thing since there is no cell phone reception on that level. The hotel staff is helpful, pleasant.

We had a very large room, and from discussions with other attendees, apparently much larger than the other King rooms. However, the closet is a mere 42" wide, contains a floor safe that takes up the bottom half. The closet bar is set four feet up, only rod in the closet. Another rod could easily be installed, it is a nine foot ceiling. There is what looks to be a dresser on which the TV sits. Opening the doors, half is filled with a refrigerator, on the other side a shelf containing a microwave and finally two tiny drawers that accommodate a couple pair of socks. The night stand drawers are filled with literature so where do you put your things. The bath is large but doesn't utilize the space. The room could use several pieces of furniture.

The location is at the beginning of Lamplight district so there is proximity of good restaurants, pubs and clubs if that's your thing. If you are a smoker, you are forced to stand on the street corner constantly harassed by the homeless.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Nineunder,

We are thankful you enjoyed the historic character of our hotel alongside our friendly front desk team. Our meeting areas are preferred to be quiet areas to accommodate our corporate meetings which would be the reason we haven’t addressed cell phone reception. We do have many areas within our lobby that accommodate one to sit and use their cell phone away from our meeting spaces. In regards to you request for larger drawers and rods for clothing, we offer upgraded suite room types that many of our long term stay guests prefer which offer 6 large drawers that double the size of the 2 your found in your standard king bedroom. If you are in need of larger storage I would encourage purchasing one of the upgraded rooms to accommodate the need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my 22 year old son. This hotel has a great location and the building is beautiful and clean. What I liked best about the hotel was John at the front desk. John told us the best places to go and even planned an entire day for us. Everynight when we saw John, he would ask us how are day went. I can not say enough good things about John.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
BrightonladySpring

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the service of our front desk agent John. We definitely appreciate him on our team as a highly valued member and love how his service is reflective on our entire staff. We hope when you return to San Diego you continue to stay with us and make John a happy agent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here on a Friday and Saturday evening on vacation in San Diego with my husband. Overall a pleasant stay, but a few suggestions.

Good:
- Beautiful building, love the history and architecture
- Overall the room was clean (and my standards for this are very high)
- Shower was really great, good water pressure and temp
- Great location, walkable to Gaslamp and easy drive to Zoo and Airport.
- When waiting in lobby, staff came by to ask if we needed anything.

Needs Improvement:
- Building entrance/Valet isn't on Broadway Street, but on the side street. This made it very difficult to find late at night in a new city.
- Phone line was busy over the course of 20 mins when trying to call for better directions.
- Upon check-in as a Silver Elite member with preferences stated on my profile (high floor, away from elevator) was placed in a room on the 5th floor next to elevator and ice machine. When I called down to ask about a switch, was told that I checked in too late and so my prefs couldn't be accommodated. As an Elite member, isn't my reservation (including prefs) guaranteed? Is it not customary for guests from the East Coast to arrive later at night after a flight?
- Room also had a very poor view of the A/C unit, which is VERY loud.
- Hair found on shower wall. ick. but that was the only cleanliness complaint
- Towel hooks were above the toilet. Poor design.
- Parking in San Diego is a major pain. Waited 20+ mins at check-out time for vehicle (but the valet who brought it was exceptional, loading bags and providing directions/suggestions for lunch. Kudos to him!)

So some customer service and some design issues, but overall pleasant and would choose to stay in this location again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
ALR517

Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are proud you enjoyed room, service and location of our property. In response to your improvements your room type you reserved is guaranteed but the request are based on availability which is stated on each reservation confirmation you receive through Marriott. We also list on our Marriott page the GPS address of 1027 6th Avenue to use when locating the hotel as the 530 Broadway address is the original address of the bank. We apologize about the tied up phone line and will research and address the issue to prevent it from repeating. We do encourage our guest to use our text message service to anticipate departures ahead of time to cut down on the wait time of high volume departures. I understand you did call down while on property in which we encourage but also don't hesitate to contact guest services prior to your arrival so that we can accommodate your request for a better view or anything else in case of a sellout when options are not as available. Overall we are glad you would return and hopefully this response will provide assistance on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I would just like to say that we are from Las Vegas and work in the hotel industry so we know what guest service is. We are always visiting San Diego and have stayed at multiple properties in Downtown, but the Courtyard San Diego Downtown is the hotel that we will always remember. John at the front desk was amazing. He was so helpful with information about Gaslamp and finding a place to go for my boyfriend's birthday that night. He really personalized our check in and not only that but every time we would walk out the hotel and back in, he would remember us and ask us how our night went and how my boyfriend's birthday was. The guys at valet were equally as impressive as they remembered us as well. Room service was amazing! We called down at 7am for room service and because it was my boyfriend's birthday I wanted a slice of cake and a candle. At 7am that's unlikely, but they managed to find me a cake and a candle. At most hotels I would of probably heard a "Sorry we cant do that." Not only room service, but our housekeper was lovely as well. My boyfriend even made a new friend at the bar who gave him endless shots for his birthday and since we're trying to move to San Diego he gave us good advise on places to live. Lastly, I needed eye drops because my eyes were so dry from being at the beach all day. We called down to see if the store had any and I was prepared to just go down and pick it up, but they actually delivered it to my room within minutes! This is how guest service should be! We've stayed at high end hotels where you would think they would be on top of everything, but its the Courtyard who went above and beyond and took the time to get to know us and remembered who we were. Needless to say we will be returning!

Room Tip: We had a corner room and LOVED it! Nice and sunny and great views of Gaslamp
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Ashleigh702,

This review has been communicated amongst all of our hotel departments so that they are aware that the service they strive to give was appreciated. It is one thing to hear about how beautiful our hotel can be but we really strive to hear about the service given from every department in one stay consistently. Don't hesitate to reach out to us before your next stay in case you have any request we'd love to accommodate. Thank you for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

You can rely on Marriott for clean, comfortable hotels. My issue with this property is the price for the size and amenities of the room. While I had no choice due to a business trip, I didn't think the $269 I paid was a good value, even downtown. The room was very small and the lighting, particularly in the bathroom was not good. I had to crawl under the sink to plug in the hairdryer. That being said, this is not a hotel you would plan to spend much time in I suppose, you are probably visiting other site. What was quite nice about the hotel is that the lobby is beautiful with lots of seating areas, a nice bar/Starbucks some tables with power if you want to work on your computer while you are waiting for someone. The location is fantastic, right in a great area walking distance to shops, restaurants and walking distance from the train station if you want to take the train here. Service is very good. I am staying 2 different times and got 2 different rates which prompted someone to work with the sales team to negotiate a fair price since my company sends people to stay here a lot so all in all, I think they are doing the right thing.

Room Tip: Some rooms face away from street and you can peer into other people's hotel rooms. I would ask f...
See more room tips
Green Features: You can get Marriott points by waiving your daily housekeeping and if you are not too messy, that's a good way to be environmentally kind.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
KKDM63,

We apologize that you were not pleased with the particular room you received during your stay but would hope you return and we can get you into a larger room for your needs as we have various room layouts all with various sizes. Also, we are pleased you reached out to our sales team to negotiate a corporate rate for future stays. If you are not already I would encourage you to sign up for our Marriott Rewards program which offers points and bonuses towards future stays at various worldwide Marriott locations. We also have many promotional rates available so always check for the best rate available to book with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Address: 530 Broadway Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Diego
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#28 Green Hotel in San Diego
#35 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the perfect hotel for your San Diego stay. Housed in a 1920's historic landmark building, the reinvented Courtyard San Diego Downtown welcomes guests with the sophisticated comfort of modern accommodations, while embracing the character of the distinguished former financial institution. From the moment you step through the revolving front doors, you will be whisked away to an inviting and intimate space to unwind, gather your thoughts, or share a laugh and a beverage with friends. Exquisite remnants of the former bank grace the interior of our hotel and mix with a fresh, contemporary style. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you can expect impeccable service and an unbeatable location in the Gaslamp Quarter; offering hundreds of dining and entertainment options. We are conveniently located in the heart of the business district, walking distance to the waterfront and San Diego Convention Center, and minutes away from the San Diego International Airport and the world-famous San Diego Zoo. We are also just steps away from the San Diego Trolley which connects Downtown to Mission Valley, Chula Vista, and the International Border. Reinvented with fresh decor and design, our guest rooms and suites provide superior accommodations for individual travelers, business groups, event groups and families. Each of our rooms offers luxury bedding, free high-speed Internet and microwaves, refrigerators and safes in every room. After sightseeing or a day of meetings, enjoy delicious California cuisine at THE LOBBY or grab a snack at our 24-hour market. At the Courtyard San Diego Downtown, we're ready to serve up what you want - where you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
San Diego Marriott
San Diego Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.