We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian in Little Italy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mimmo's

Mimmo's
1743 India Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)
619-239-3710
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #193 of 3,683 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Little Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Service was excellent, facility beautiful and the food was very good. I though this would be typical tourist Italian and the food was really very good. Varied menu and attention to detail. We tried a few of the "Italian" restaurants in Little Italy and found this to be the best.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    74
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Lucked into this restaurant. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Just went into Little Italy, looked at a few menus and picked mimmo s because it had a wider variety menu. The results were great. Excellent food, wonderful service and great happy hour specials led to a great dining experience. Thanks Mimmos. ....it was fantastic

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very good, but.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

First time in Little Italy and wanted to be sure we picked a decent place for dinner. Went to our handy guide and up pops Mimmos as a good choice. We dined on the patio, if nice weather it should be your first choice. Great for people watching and enjoying San Diego weather. Our waiter was Ignacio, he was both pleasant and knowledgeable. The only complaint I have is that our dinner arrived before we finished our appetizers, to me a big no no. I’m dinning if I want fast I’ll go to McDonald’s. You may want to mention that when you order.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had a great server whose name was either Armando or Hernando. Or maybe neither, but he was awesome! The lobster bisque was great, the pasta was awesome, the wine selection was great and reasonably priced and I loved the bread! Perfect place!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is just the type of dinner I had imagined when I booked a trip to San Diego and knew I would be staying in the Little Italy district. I was not disappointed. The weather was mild so we were able to eat outdoors. We were there on a Monday night, the service as fast! We had spinach ravioli in pink sauce, half marinara and half alfredo sauce. And my all time favorite eggplant parmigiana. Luscious. Just wonderful!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mimmo's also viewed

 

Been to Mimmo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mimmo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.