We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East to your Saves list
Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4380 Alvarado Canyon Road, Hwy 8 & Mission Gorge Road, San Diego, CA 92120-4301 (Formerly Ramada San Diego Mission Valley)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

This hotel is a two star motel but no way is it a hotel. It is situated right on a busy highway as a result there is a heavy noise al the time. The room itself was kind of OK no complaints regarding cleanliness.
However the exterior access hallways did have a strong urine odor .We spent a minimum time inside for our one night stay and we been happy when we left the hotel.I wouldn’t stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoManager, Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry you did not have a pleasant stay with us. This hotel isn’t fancy- but if you are looking for something CLEAN, AFFORDABLE, AND HOSPITABLE than this hotel is for you. We do not try to compare the Ramada brand to other brands like Marriot, but you will receive great customer service. Yes, this hotel is located next to the freeway which is convenient to hop right on the freeway to get anywhere in San Diego in a few minutes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    48
    53
    20
    34
See reviews for
76
33
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights from july 5 checked out july 8. Wished we
could of stayed more. The room was very cleaned the staff was very
Friendly. The variety in the breakfast was wonderful. They had belgium
waffles,fresh fruit ,fresh coffee , eggs , juice choice and much more. The
Fitness center was great. My family loved the pool and hot tub. Overall
Our experience was awesome. We will do this again next year for a
week or two. Thank you Ramada !

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoManager, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
We appreciate the great review you have given the Ramada Mission Valley hotel in San Diego. The staff tries their best to assist the guest in any way they can. The employees have been in San Diego for a long time and they love to give out tips on what local restaurants are a must, what area attractions are worth visiting and what shopping malls have great deals. We really hope you and your family can make it out again next year to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights with our 2 yo daughter. Gave up a teeny-tiny room with a microwave and fridge for a more spacious room sans micro and fridge, but double beds. Rooms are updated and very clean. Conveniently located near freeway, so easy to get around San Diego, and I believe the trolly is near by as well. Even though it is next to the freeway, the noise was not an issue for us.

Breakfast was good, very well stocked, so no issue as to what time you showed up for it. Internet access was great.

Management called us on our second day and had to switch our room, yet again, for a plumbing issue (don't know if it was adjacent to us), but they were very kind about it, and we had no issue moving. Luckily they caught us before we left for the zoo.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoManager, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
It’s always nice to hear positive feedback from our guest. The guests are always shocked when they don’t hear any highway nose in their room. It’s not as bad as it looks with the rooms facing the freeway. Ramada Mission Valley is located a block from the Trolley line- Grantville Station so it is very easy for people who are travelling without a car.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

We just returned from a five night stay at the Ramada Mission Valley. Everything was in order...no funky smells, everything worked, the staff was friendly, pool/rooms/lobby were very clean. The beds and pillows were also comfy...we expected less considering the price! The breakfast area each morning blew away our expectations by far...fresh toast, milk, coffee, juices, eggs, fruit, waffles, bagels, muffins and pastries! So, we got 20 breakfasts and our room for five nights...all for an amazing price! This hotel was 12 minutes from the Zoo and Seaworld, 14 minutes from downtown, and 18 minutes from Coronado. It is very close to Qualcomm stadium and several nice malls. Lots of good restaurants in the area too! We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaMV, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Thank you taking the time to write a review on our property. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that you will return back to the property the next time that you are the San Diego area.

Best regards,
Mitchell David Buser, CHA
Ramada Mission Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

we went to sandeigo fro the family vacation. and stayed at this toel . very frendly and quite hotel. all the staff member are nice and very nicely dressed. manager was really frendly. very helpful with my kids. nice atmospher.. will go thereat every time whn i will visit san deigo ...

very nice place to stay..... best place

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoManager, Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
We are pleased to know you had a great time in San Diego. Please visit the Ramada Mission Valley SDSU soon. There is always plenty of things to do and see- San Diego Zoo, Beaches, Sea World and many more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

Everyone at the Inn from the front desk to the cleaning crew where all super nice . The trolley station is next to the Inn , which makes going to Charger games really convenient . A good value for the dollar . The staff are friendly and go out of there way to make guest feel comfortable .

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoManager, Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
The staff at the Ramada Mission Valley SDSU tries their best to make every guest feel like they are home away from home. The Grantville station is located one block from the hotel giving it an easy access to the Qualcomm Stadium to see the Chargers play and also going to Downtown to the Petco Park for the Padres. If you do not have a car this is a great location to get around San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

Wow – we couldn’t have asked for a better place to stay. This was our first visit to the Qualcomm Stadium area (football Sunday - January 3rd) and it was so convenient! Yards away from the trolley station, and a small walk up the hill. We drove from Los Angeles, arriving in the area at approximately 11:30AM. The hotel was just off the freeway. Clean, parking lot, ample spaces. Nice lobby with a small concession fridge that sold juices, snacks, etc. The clerk secured our room for an early check-in and told us to enjoy the game – that was it! Totally hassle free and two minutes later we walked five minutes up the hill to the trolley station and purchased an all day pass for $5.00. Parking in the trolley lot looked like it was an absolute nightmare, but we didn’t have to worry about it! We had already parked at the hotel in front of our room. Literally 15 minutes later we were exiting the station and walked right IN to Qualcomm stadium. We’ve never had an easier trip!

Back at the hotel… our bed was so comfortable and the room was immaculate. No weird stains, odors or issues whatsoever. Even the spacious bathroom & shower had an adjustable head for me to wash off the shame of the Redskins’ loss to the Chargers. (Boo!) Nice complementary amenities, phone in the bathroom and crisp, bright vanity lighting. There was a fridge, microwave, coffeemaker – all pristine. Closet space was ample, and we even had a sitting area with table and two chairs. We seriously contemplated staying an additional night because the room was so awesome. Before booking, I initially saw other comments regarding the surroundings of the hotel. True – the neighborhood seemed like an industrial setting, but I mean, we weren’t sleeping outside. It is safe and QUIET- there are gas stations, stores and restaurants including a Chili’s within view of the hotel lot, and after partying so much at the game (complete with $9.00 beers!!! Yikes!!!), we just wanted a place to crash and burn afterwards. There was also a HUGE dining room and continental breakfast that I actually didn’t notice until checking out – so sorry I missed it!

This hotel tops my recommendation of BEST hotels to stay for a visit to the Qualcomm Stadium or any locals adjacent to the trolley – (Old Town, Downtown, etc.) A+ to the pleasant staff at both check-in and check-out. The price & value of this Ramada can’t be beat. It will be our annual retreat for the Redskins/Chargers game every season.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoManager, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
GO CHARGERS!! Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. It's always good to hear our fans having a great time at the Qualcomm Stadium. The San Diego trolley is the best way to get in and out of the game fast without paying $20.00 for parking. The trolley also goes to the Mission Valley mall at the Junior Seau’s restaurant, where you can catch the game or go for a drink before the game starts. If you get back to the hotel late and don’t feel like driving anywhere for food, the hotel lobby has plenty of munchies as well as some great mid-night snacks like frozen pizzas and burritos you can take back to the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East

Address: 4380 Alvarado Canyon Road, Hwy 8 & Mission Gorge Road, San Diego, CA 92120-4301 (Formerly Ramada San Diego Mission Valley)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Mission Valley / Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Ramada San Diego
Ramada Hotel San Diego
Super Eight San Diego
San Diego Super Eight
San Diego Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.