We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was clean and located close to SDSU. Staff was...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East to your Saves list
Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4380 Alvarado Canyon Road, Hwy 8 & Mission Gorge Road, San Diego, CA 92120-4301 (Formerly Ramada San Diego Mission Valley)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #200 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    48
    53
    20
    34
See reviews for
76
33
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Room was clean and nice. I had to ask for more toilet paper. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This place was awful. The first room they gave me was filthy and had trash all over the place, garbage cans not emptied, half empty water bottle on the headboard, random bottle of salad dressing on the table, and the ironing board and iron were left out. They must think that making the bed constitutes a clean room. When I complained they did give us a new room but it wasn't much better. The toilet wouldn't flush and the water pressure in the shower was nonexistent. When we complained about the toilet they told us to come to the front and get a plunger and handle it ourselves! Customer service was a joke. The location is also next door to the slums and I was afraid to leave my car parked over night. There were much better places to stay just a few minutes more down the road. Do yourself a favor and stay far away from this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

It is my favorite hotel, I stay in this Ramada hotel for last 8 years for business need. I liked it so much, vey nice friendly staff especially the receptionist, Carmen, she is the best, very friendly and helpful, easy and convenient check in or out. it safe and clean place to stay, excellent housekeeping, free great breakfast, many parking space and free. great location, close to many places and major freeways. with no hesitation I recommend this hotel to every one.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in providing feedback regarding your stay at the Ramada Mission Valley SDSU. We are so thrilled to hear we are your “favorite hotel”. We work hard in providing a well-maintained property, as well as excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are pleased you are able to benefit from it throughout your various stays. We look forward to seeing you and future travelers alike during your next trip to San Diego. Again, thank you for reviewing the Ramada Mission Valley SDSU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone that's wants to rest in quality place. The staff was awesome. I felt very safe and secure. The rooms were clean and nicely scented. The daily housekeeping was excellent as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Ramada Mission Valley SDSU. We are delighted to hear you had “a great 14 day stay” at our hotel. We work hard in providing outstanding quality service and are thrilled you took notice. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Ramada Mission Valley SDSU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

I stay at Ramada a few times a year. I am always welcomed by a sweet smile from Sally. She does a great job at accommodating my requests. Always happy to see her. Breakfast is great and convenient. Parking is easy. Housekeeping is great. Rooms are clean.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Ramada Mission Valley SDSU. We are thrilled to hear your stays are “great” at our hotel. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are pleased you were able to enjoy it. We look forward to seeing you during you next trip to San Diego. Again, thank you for reviewing the Ramada Mission Valley SDSU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East

Address: 4380 Alvarado Canyon Road, Hwy 8 & Mission Gorge Road, San Diego, CA 92120-4301 (Formerly Ramada San Diego Mission Valley)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Mission Valley / Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Ramada San Diego
Ramada Hotel San Diego
Super Eight San Diego
San Diego Super Eight
San Diego Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.