We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jaynes Gastropub

Jaynes Gastropub
4677 30th st, San Diego, CA 92116
619 563 1011
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jaynes Gastropub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #485 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: English, French, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Adams Avenue
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Small, fun, casual with excellent food & service. Wine list always has something new and interesting.
Patio is very pleasant. Nightly specials really are special. Family operated .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Bernardo, California
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Cute bistro, but overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I now know the meaning of the word 'GASTROPUB'; Overpriced, average food.

We drove about 1/2 an hour to visit Jaynes Gastropub (No apostrophe), on the recommendation of my husband's coworker. As a Brit living in SD, I'm always eager to suss out a place with a British twist.

The establishment is more 'bistro' than pub, but very nicely appointed, with fresh flowers and twinkling tea lights on the tables. There is a small bar and an appealing patio out the back. It was a little tricky to find as it's somewhat unassuming and tucked in between a few tattoo parlors. Parking is on the street.

One look at the menu and we both realized very quickly it was very limited and overpriced. For example, the fish and chips was $21. We order fish and chips at a 'pub' closer to home for $10.50 and it's MUCH better than the one we consumed at Jaynes. We both agreed that the fish was like 3 pieces of frozen Van de Kamps from the grocery store. The sticky toffee pudding at $9, was hard around the edges. Should have been more like $5. The service was fine.

Sometimes you try a restaurant and you just know it's the first and last time you're going to be there. For us, Jaynes was exactly that.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great discovery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This place was mentioned in a magazine and we love Normal Heights so we gave it a try. Service was stellar- the kind you would expect in a more upscale environment. Cocktails were creative and delicious. We tried the polenta and roasted vegetables and the burger. Both were awesome. We agreed the roasted veggies were the best we've ever had. The affogato dessert was yummy too. The outside patio was charming. Will go back when it gets cooler for traditional fish & chips and shepards pie.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Jayne's marries English to SoCal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Such a great sense of place, with a timeless British twist! LOVE the back patio; we have hosted memorable, relaxed family and friends gatherings with wonderful service.

And the food! Just the very best quality comfort food and creative cuisine too, in the freshest, best manner.Your taste buds will be more than happy...

Romantic and cozy, or group gathering, it's there for you!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Do not be put off by the exterior, this is a fantastic find!
There is a small, but very nice bar area as you go in and where you can enjoy a drink watching the open kitchen at work.
Inside is beautifully decorated, but for us the best part was the patio. It's a walled and hedged garden with lovely lighting and heaters for cooler nights.
The whole team are so helpful, friendly and expert in their jobs.
The food is some of the best we have ever tasted in the USA and Europe.
Try the confit of duck, the mussels or the salmon all highly recommended.
Our only gripe would be the wine prices, why do so many restaurants do this, put such a mark up on wine!!! They really do over price here compared to other places or similar level, but they have good draft beer at a reasonable price.
So all in all a very special place with fabulous atmosphere, food and service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaynes Gastropub also viewed

 

Been to Jaynes Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaynes Gastropub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.