We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff is really really nice and accommodating. The...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center to your Saves list
Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1801 Logan Ave., San Diego, CA 92113 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #184 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The staff is really really nice and accommodating. The...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The staff is really really nice and accommodating. The rooms need a little updating but are clean. Quiet especially for a downtown accessible location. Parking is a little tough.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
We truly appreciate your review for your recent stay and glad that you had no problems with your room. One of our main goals is to offer clean and comfortable rooms to our valuable guest like you. I will pass along your comments to all my front desk staff. Thank you and we see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    39
    43
    19
    30
See reviews for
32
33
11
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Office person very rude.I was asked room # before getting coffee as if I was going to steal her coffee. I am a senior citizen and dress well so that cannot be used as an excuse.I spilled a little coffee and was treated very rude.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments. My sincerest apologies that your experience with us has left you feeling unsatisfied and unhappy. I would like to thank you for your honest feedback and I assure you we will be using this feedback to avoid these situations in the future. I can be reached at 619-232-1616 to discuss your stay further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This Travelodge is not near the Convention Center, despite its name. It is near the highway in the Barrio district, so it's fine for a one night stop on your way through San Diego. I stayed there for business for six nights, which was too long given the location. The Barrio is great for Mexican food and seeing some Latin culture, but you are far away from everything in San Diego, be it for business or tourism. I had a car only for two days, the nearest trolley stop is a good 10 minute walk and taxis must be called. If you do have a car, the parking lot is small but well enclosed/secure.
The women at the reception are well trained, reactive and deal with your check-in and check-out quickly and with a smile/great attitude. The rooms need work, some repainting and just over-all updating. On the other hand, the bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows and the cleaning staff replace the soap, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion every day.
The wireless worked either very slowly or not at all, frustrating for a business traveler like myself. The breakfast is available but not good; I recommend going to one of the local Mexican restaurants just one or two blocks away - great food and friendly service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your valued feedback about your last stay at the Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with your room, housekeeping service and the front desk.
We are pride of our lovely breakfast, a small selection of items to enjoy every morning.We are very well located a mile from San Diego Downtown and Convention Center, at about 15-20 minutes walk from the Travelodge San Diego. Easy Access to public transportation and very convenient for those who travel for Conferences at the Convention Center of San Diego.
Our goal is to make sure that you have the affordable accommodation, area information, and best service during your stay. As a Conference attendee we must provide all the amenities such as Wifi, breakfast, business room, phone/fax, printer and taxi.


Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The Travelodge downtown in San Diego is not really down town but, like most motels, on the outskirts of the city, very close to the highway leading to the airport. Not the nicest of districts in San Diego..
This particular motel has the merit of being clean, with spacious rooms and a very pleasant and helpful staff. The staff is really the winning point for the motel.
The bathroom in my room left a lot to be desired from the point of view décor (cigarette marks on the bathtub, peeling paint...) but the cleaning staff did an efficient job every day to ensure that iit was clean and I had freshly washed towels etc..
Breakfast is minimal so if you are the type who likes a big breakfast you may want to go elsewhere to eat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest

We truly appreciate your review for your recent stay and glad that you had no problems with your room. One of our main goals is to offer clean and comfortable rooms to our valuable guest like you. We are glad that this location was close to the highway as you just exit off the 5 freeway. j We are not in the main Downtown District but near Downtown which is only 1 mile from us and close to some of the major attractions in San Diego like Downtown San Diego Gaslamp, Petco Park, Seaport Village and Coronado Island. Best thing of all is that to most of this places you can either walk or take public transportation which is very convenient. We apologize about the cigarette marks on the tub/zinc, as for right now we have done half of the hotel only. We hope that for your next visit you visit us again and I assure you will get one of the new rooms for you to enjoy. I will pass along your comments to all my staff of the cleanliness and front desk customer service. Thank you and hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center

Address: 1801 Logan Ave., San Diego, CA 92113 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego is yours to explore at our Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center hotel, near San Diego Airport. Located off Interstate 5, easy access to San Diego Convention Center ,Downtown, Gaslamp, our hotel in San Diego is the perfect choice for a weekend getaway or conference attendance. We offer free Wi-Fi Internet access so you can check directions or catch up on email before you head out on your long day of sightseeing. Limited Parking is available onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown Hotel San Diego
Americas Best Value Inn Hotel
Americas Best Value Inn Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.