We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Travelodge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center to your Saves list
Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1801 Logan Ave., San Diego, CA 92113 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #185 of 272 Hotels in San Diego
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Not the best Travelodge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The best thing I can say about this Travelodge is that it is close to the exit of Interstate 5. The rooms were adequately clean, but the corridors and stairways need improving. They were in a filthy state. The end of our 2nd floor balcony was blocked off with tape and the bin was disgustingly full of dirty food containers. Breakfast was in the reception area and we had to repeated ask them to refill the coffee and the pastries. The breakfast bar is tiny with no space to even pour yourself some cereal. Only 2 tables with 4 chairs each. Not the most inviting way to start your day. The car park is adequate but the individual spaces are small. However, I did get good service from the reception staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to share your experience at our property and for bringing the problems you encounter during your stay. We are glad that your room was clean and that you find us easy to exit off the 5 freeway. Thanks for pointing about our corridors, we are recently working on the 2nd, 3rd back floors of our property to a better floor and that is the reason why we blocked part of the floors and why it was dusty back there. We apologize that it was during your stay and we know that we could it keep it clean if we wouldn't have much traffic. I have mention to the morning staff about the breakfast not been fill up the whole time, I can assure you that It wont happen again. We apologize if your stay was not the best comfortable and enjoyable. Please give us a call directly to invite you personally to come and try again at your next visit.

Thanks and hope to hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    49
    53
    22
    32
See reviews for
38
39
11
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I was here for a week on business and this place has exceeded my expectations by all means. It's staff is very friendly and supportive. Rooms and large with excellent air conditioning. The best part is that its very close to the convention center and the Gas Lamp...tons of restaurants and pubs there. A very ideal and value for money place for business and families!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. We are excited to hear that you had no problems with your room during your whole stay. Our main focus is to help our visitors that are here for the first time to get a great time, service, guidance to the best places to visit in San Diego and the best hospitality.
Glad you mention about the Gaslamp/convention center where mostly all of our customers are here for, for Conferences and to enjoy a long or short get away. At only 1 mile away to great attractions such as Convention Center, Downtown/Gaslamp (restaurants/bars and shopping), Coronado Beach, and at only about 3 miles, Seaport Village/US Midway, Sea World, San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. Infinity of places to see during your stay in San Diego.
See you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I liked everything but the breakfast. The hotel definitely needs to improve the breakfast. The hotel also needs a separate luggage storage area. Many people may not be willing too store the luggage in the wash room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Mr Malay,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on your most recent stay at our property. We are happy to hear that you didn't have any problems with your room and we thank you for commenting about our breakfast. We would like to apologize for offering to store your luggage in the office restroom while you waited for your flight. Unfortunately we do not have a private room or closet to store guest luggage but as we try our best to help that was our last option since our back office was already full. Your opinion is very important to us as we are planning to expand our breakfast area and improve our breakfast. As for right now because of our space we only serve the following: oatmeal, cereals, milk, apple/orange juice, apples, oranges, coffee, tea and pastries. Small continental breakfast to get you started. Hopefully you will get to try our new breakfast in your next visit. Again, Thanks for you comments and suggestions, see you next time you visit San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center

Address: 1801 Logan Ave., San Diego, CA 92113 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 272 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego is yours to explore at our Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center hotel, near San Diego Airport. Located off Interstate 5, easy access to San Diego Convention Center ,Downtown, Gaslamp, our hotel in San Diego is the perfect choice for a weekend getaway or conference attendance. We offer free Wi-Fi Internet access so you can check directions or catch up on email before you head out on your long day of sightseeing. Limited Parking is available onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Wyndham, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown Hotel San Diego
Americas Best Value Inn Hotel
Americas Best Value Inn Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.