We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but poor location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center to your Saves list
Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1801 Logan Ave., San Diego, CA 92113 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #186 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but poor location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Don't be fooled by the title...this hotel is not near the convention centre. It is in fact, in the middle of a poorer area of San Diego...I was even warned not to walk around at night. There are no cafes/ restaurants that would appeal to the traveller....these are all in the 'gaslamp quarter'. As a first time traveller to San Diego, it would've been handy to know this!

The staff however, were friendly and did provide a refund for my second night after I decided to leave. If you have a vehicle, there is free parking (unlike hotels in the gaslamp quarter that will charge you for each night). The room was clean & comfortable, had a bar fridge and the wifi worked! There is also complimentary juice/ pastries for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Mr Loges,
First of all thanks for your comments of our friendly staff and that you had no problems with your room.
Unfortunately, we are not located in the Gaslamp quarter but we are Near San Diego Downtown and San Diego Convention Center. As is only 1 mile away, 20 minutes walking, 5 min driving/cab and easy public transportation that takes you directly to the town. We do have Cafes, stores, fast food restaurants within walking distance. I’m sorry we missed giving you all the area information you needed during your stay. Our main purpose is to bring all the attraction and area information to every single guest as every guest is very valuable for us.
I will pass along your comments with all staff and we hope you come back and give us the opportunity to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    42
    44
    19
    30
See reviews for
32
33
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I've stayed at this location twice so far, its been an overall pleasent expiernce. If I had to pick somthing to complain about, it would be that the rooms were not ready upon arrival and check in time. Defenitly coming back, defently recomend this place to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello Patricia,

Thank you for sharing about your most recent stayed. We are glad you had a pleasant experience and that you been one of our loyal customers. We apologized that the room was not ready at your arrival time, we will do our best to get rooms done so this issue won’t repeat again. We look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

There were so many problems with this place it was almost comical, almost.

My party booked a room for three people; in the description it stated that we would have a King size bed and a pull-out sofa. When we got to the room there was a king bed, and a chair! An armchair! I called the front desk to tell them they'd clearly given us the wrong room. And her response? "Well there is a chair," as if we paid to have someone sleep there. She was baffled as to why we were upset with the arrangements. She told us it was Orbitz's fault, that they don't have pull out sofas. We asked for a roll away cot, even for blankets. We don't have cots she said, "we can give you some blankets (to sleep on the floor!), but you have to come get them yourself." Let's not even mention that the elevator was broken. She could not accommodate us.
After waiting an hour on hold with Orbitz, the gentleman on Orbitz helping us was nice and told us clearly this was not adequate accommodations. He contacted the manager and eventually had us moved to a room with two Queen beds.
But the drama did not end. Here are our other issues during our two night stay:
-They could not supply us with three towels for three people, we asked repeatedly and they told us they ran out! (When has that ever happened in a hotel??). There were two in the room, and that's all they ever gave us. They were completely unapologetic about it too.
-Wireless internet did not work
-I got the third degree when asking for a roll of toilet paper when we ran out
-Anemic breakfast; didn't even supply water at the breakfast
-extremely rude staff, possibly the rudest I have ever experienced
-save the hassle, stay at one of those nice hotels that cost more

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Everything seemed fine until late at night a cockroach ran across the TV stand, I tried to call the front desk & nobody answered. I had tried earlier in the evening to call the desk to ask a question and again no one answered the phone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit. It is a big disappointment to know that you got a roach in your room, from the outside patio. We have called the pest control company to come and inspect our rooms. Please know that this is a one time incident. Please allow me to apologize for this inconvenience and allow me to offer a discounted rate for you and your family. Please call us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center

Address: 1801 Logan Ave., San Diego, CA 92113 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego is yours to explore at our Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center hotel, near San Diego Airport. Located off Interstate 5, easy access to San Diego Convention Center ,Downtown, Gaslamp, our hotel in San Diego is the perfect choice for a weekend getaway or conference attendance. We offer free Wi-Fi Internet access so you can check directions or catch up on email before you head out on your long day of sightseeing. Limited Parking is available onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown Hotel San Diego
Americas Best Value Inn Hotel
Americas Best Value Inn Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.