We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1801 Logan Ave., San Diego, CA 92113 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 1000 Points
Ranked #187 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Delta, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

This was a last minute business trip, and my friends recommended hotels were full.
I booked this hotel as it was fairly close to downtown. I was pleasantly suprised. The room was very clean, spacious, fast internet for work in the evenings. The young family that runs it was very nice and even invited me in for tea one evening. I'm from western Colorado and I travel a LOT, so I was expecting much less for a budget hotel. Everything worked and the iron and ironing board was the nicest i've used in years at a hotel. Had some great discussions with some artists and laborers that were guests. I think I might have been the only one there that owned a tie. :) $5 taxi to convention center and all the bistros/pubs and Little Italy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVISanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. We are pleased to learn that you were happy with your rate, our convenient location and the friendly staff. We value all remarks, as they help us improve. We look forward to your return.


Sincerely,

Ericka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    41
    43
    21
    28
See reviews for
27
33
8
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

San Diego is a nice place. My girl friend was excited to stay in this place with oversea visitors in late Oct. On the second day, one of them found many large bumps like mosquito bites on the upper body and arms. They didn't know what that were so they continued the stay. After my friend flied back, similar symptoms happened to her. It was very itchy for several days with no sign of getting better. We went to see a doctor who told us they look like bug bites. As I am writing this review, my friend still suffers the problem. If you want to choose this place, beware what may happen to you and your love ones. If you carry the bugs back home, you will be in even bigger trouble since the bugs might infest the entire house.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVISanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Thank you for mentioning the positive aspects of your stay while also informing us of what needed our attention. With regards to your bites, I am sympathetic for your discomfort and alarm. Rest assured, our licensed pest control company was called out immediately to inspect your room and surrounding rooms and they found no evidence of bed bugs. Please accept my sincerest apology for any unpleasantness or inconvenience this caused.

Sincerely,
Ericka F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This place was ok. Not great. Not bad. Just ok. The bus stop is right outside so that was good as we didnt have a car. Not much to do in the area at all. Our room was fine and clean. The breakfast was a let down. The female working reception was helpful, but the male the next day was useless. We asked him to book a taxi for us for the next morning as we had to leave extreamly early to catch our train. We woke the next day to find he'd messed it up and we had no taxi and got no apology from him. He couldn't care less, and needs to work on his customer service. The vending machine was messed up, put my money in and selected a coke and got sprite. Then when my friend put his money in and selected sprite he got something completely different. Not cool. As i said, it was fine but nothing special and i wont be back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVISanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
It is a disappointment to hear that you were not happy with your stay. We appreciate your comments and apologize for your inconvenience. Glad you found stop bus within walking distance. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ericka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011 via mobile

Over all OK for the price $50.00 a night for 4 nights. As for location, it is Not close to the Gas Lamp District or the Convention Center or Balboa Park...San Diego ZOO. You have to get a Taxi, to get to those places. I took a jog from my hotel to gas Lamp, as I said" it took longer then I expected. Even jogging to the Convention Center, boy what a boring jog, until you finally get to the back of the convention center, where all the activies are.

Back to the hotel room. Room was ok. Highlight was mini refrigerator, microwave and no bed bugs. the room did smell moldy and the carpet was filthy, so keep you shoes on unless you want to see you white sox Black. There breakfast was simple, cereal,Danish and orange drink. There Ice maker, the only one in the whole hotel Sucked. It took forever to dispense Ice....argg. Overall you pay for what you get. Probally would not stay here again, unless it's really really Cheap price $.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVISanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
ABVISanDiego, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments we apprecciat all fee back as it makes us improve. We are sorry you were dissappointed with your stay and we hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,

Ericka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011 via mobile

Me and two friends stayed here for a convention. We were told it was in walking distance, but quickly decided that we would not be walking. There really isn't easy access to much unless u drive or take a cab. The rooms are old and dingy. Even though the maids seemed nice and came in each day. We had a big ant problem the whole time we were there. Honestly we didn't spend much time at the room unless we were sleeping... But we kept the door double locked while we were in there. If you are looking for cheap and don't care, this hotel will do. If u are looking for comfort or clean, book elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVISanDiego, Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments we apprecciat all fee back as it makes us improve. We are sorry you were dissappointed with your stay and we hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,

Ericka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

America's Best Value Inn at Downtown/Convention Center in San Diego has a good location - it is close to the Convention Center and other hotels where conferences are
held.

The rooms are neat and clean.

The staff is polite and courteous.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVISanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. We are pleased to learn that you were happy with your rate, our convenient location and the friendly staff. We value all remarks, as they help us improve. We look forward to your return.


Sincerely,

Ericka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Not in a great location...not near the convention centre or really anything. We walked back from the Pier...was a very long ways. Bus stops right out front and you can ride it all day for $1.50, so not a big deal. Hotel is ok, you get what you pay for. Lobby is small and smelled like pea! Really smelled like pea and other guests commented. By morning the staff was burning incense in the lobby? Flowery pea was now the odor. Breakfast is offered here, very small, and after the smell, we moved on to eat. Staff was friendly and accomodating as we arrived early. Room was clean and very roomy. Nothing over the top but had a nice sitting area, sink, fridge, microwave and large clean bathroom. Hotel is located in a fairly quite area just off the main freeway, very easy to get to. Overall a decent hotel for the price and being fairly downtown San Diego. Parking is free.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVISanDiego, Front Office Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for being our valued guest! We credit our success to providing good service and clean accommodations at affordable prices. We apologize for the incense smell. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,

Ericka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center

Address: 1801 Logan Ave., San Diego, CA 92113 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego is yours to explore at our Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center hotel, near San Diego Airport. Located off Interstate 5, easy access to San Diego Convention Center ,Downtown, Gaslamp, our hotel in San Diego is the perfect choice for a weekend getaway or conference attendance. We offer free Wi-Fi Internet access so you can check directions or catch up on email before you head out on your long day of sightseeing. Limited Parking is available onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Wyndham, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown Hotel San Diego
Americas Best Value Inn Hotel
Americas Best Value Inn Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.