We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food pleasant surrounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Thai Cuisine

Lotus Thai Cuisine
3761 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92103-4316
619-299-8272
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #423 of 3,977 restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good food pleasant surrounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have walked past this restaurant on several occasions when visiting San Diego. A few days back a friend and I were looking for a place for dinner. I remembered Lotus Thai. We were pleasantly surprised to find a large, warm, welcoming environment. The menu is quite diverse, offering many selections all at reasonable prices. Service was courteous and attentive. On entering, I told the greeter that the place looked wonderful, "but where is the Thai music." The music being played was not in keeping with the setting, it was definitely contemporary, not conducive to intimate conversation. Soft instrumental background music would would have been a final touch on an otherwise delightful meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    21
    22
    10
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lotus Thai Dinner 05-04-13”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Exceptionally Good!!!!! Excellent spinach and walnut salad with Blue cheese viniagrete, friendly service and casual, comfortable atmosphere. Great Neighborhood Place! Have LOTS of Vegetarizn and Vegan options. Not Limited to Thai Cuisine Specifically, quite varied Menu. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service, Good Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We took friends from out of town to this delightful restaurant in the Hillcrest area of San Diego for dinner and arrived early enough to enjoy their happy hour specials. There were five of us and we each ordered a different item: Chicken Satay (cooked just right), Lotus Flower cups, Triangle Puffs, Heaven Rolls (with shrimp) and Fried Calamari. This last dish was the best surprise - lightly battered and delicious! The sauces for all the dishes were perfect compliments. One of our friends has traveled to Thailand and said that, while Americanized, the food was very good and authentic. We ordered more chicken and calamari. Drinks were good, service was friendly and prompt. Parking is free if you go to the lot located catter corner to the restaurant. Great Deal!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great, great and better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We found the restaurant from the hotel we were staying at. From when we entered til we left the service was very prompt. Drinks, then appetizers and onto the entree, all very pleasant and quick.

The food was excellent, especially the veggie dumplings, which melted in my mouth.

I had the tofu pad thai and well done and BTW portions are huge.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya
1 review
“Delicate food, nice ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Went in for a quick meal. The Panang curry was one of the best I had, the beef satay was also very good. The staff was nice and always smiling. Prices were OK.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lotus Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Lotus Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.