We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good Service, Good Happy Hour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Thai Cuisine

Lotus Thai Cuisine
3761 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92103-4316
619-299-8272
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #398 of 4,065 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service, Good Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We took friends from out of town to this delightful restaurant in the Hillcrest area of San Diego for dinner and arrived early enough to enjoy their happy hour specials. There were five of us and we each ordered a different item: Chicken Satay (cooked just right), Lotus Flower cups, Triangle Puffs, Heaven Rolls (with shrimp) and Fried Calamari. This last dish was the best surprise - lightly battered and delicious! The sauces for all the dishes were perfect compliments. One of our friends has traveled to Thailand and said that, while Americanized, the food was very good and authentic. We ordered more chicken and calamari. Drinks were good, service was friendly and prompt. Parking is free if you go to the lot located catter corner to the restaurant. Great Deal!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    23
    11
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great, great and better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We found the restaurant from the hotel we were staying at. From when we entered til we left the service was very prompt. Drinks, then appetizers and onto the entree, all very pleasant and quick.

The food was excellent, especially the veggie dumplings, which melted in my mouth.

I had the tofu pad thai and well done and BTW portions are huge.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya
1 review
“Delicate food, nice ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Went in for a quick meal. The Panang curry was one of the best I had, the beef satay was also very good. The staff was nice and always smiling. Prices were OK.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I had the yellow curry chicken - sooo tasty....!
my bf had the sweet and sour chicken stir fry and he loved it and the chicken was really well done.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The service was very friendly and attentive and the restaurant was nicely decorated. However the food was just average.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lotus Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Lotus Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.