We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pokez Mexican Restaurant

Pokez Mexican Restaurant
947 E St, San Diego, CA 92101-6511 (Downtown)
619-702-7160
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #299 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Mexican
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Was in town for a trip and was pointed here. I got the fajitas, so much food, the sauce on the chicken was amazing. Nothing fancy inside, but the food! The only issue was trying to decide what to choose.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    26
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious vegan options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

I've lived in San Diego for years, but recently switched to a vegan diet. I was very pleasantly surprised by how many vegan options were on the menu at Pokez. I ordered the Veggie Machata burrito and it was delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Tofu chimichanga!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I like to eat vegetarian when I can, and the tofu in the chimichanga was the best tofu ever!! Awesome food.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“popular local place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The service was friendly. The waitress gave me some leads on popular dishes and recommendations based on how hungry I was. The packed my lunch to go with everything I needed for my picnic on the bay.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Restaurant (period)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We went to Pokez on a weekday for lunch and I can very honestly tell you, both my fiancee and I have never had better Mexican food ever. The food is very different from what is normally passed around as Mexican. The spices are excellent. Both of us are vegetarian and very picky with regards to food. Yet despite all these constraints, we just loved it. Very friendly people and very cheap. It is not the most romantic of places to go to, but as far as a restaurant is concerned, they serve the best food. My fiancee had the Machacha with potatoes in the breakfast menu and I had a vegetarian burrito and both were mindblowing. Also, the free chips and salsa were worth a mention. The salsa was fresh and amazing. If you are in SD, you should have food here. The best.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pokez Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pokez Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pokez Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.