We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great service, clean rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
6474 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #38 of 270 hotels in San Diego
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value, great service, clean rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

Best kept hotel secret in San Diego. I have paid 3-4 times what this room cost me and have not received the same level of warm professional courtesy extended at this hotel. Everyone that works here is helpful and friendly. The rooms are always spotless and had a new feel to it. The fridge, the microwave, the wireless service and the bathroom fixtures were in perfect working order. Any request was acted upon quickly and with smiles. Although not located in the best area, it has easy access to main hwys. and you can be anywhere is San Diego within 15 minutes or so. The front desk people are great at getting you easy to follow directions and tips on getting around. Its rare but some times you get more than you pay for and this hotel is one of them.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    184
    45
    12
    7
See reviews for
264
148
39
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey B.C Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We stayed at the Lamplighter Inn from March 7th through to March 16th. At first we wondered about the area. But the Inn itself is tucked in away from the street a bit. Our room was perfect for the five of us. One room with two queen beds and a front room with a sitting area and pull out sofa. Off of that was a full kitchen. The sofa bed was great for our daughter as she was not feeling well so she could rest, while the rest of us watched T.V. in the other room. The kitchen was adjacent to where she slept, so in the middle of the night if she needed anything, you didn't disturb the rest of the family. The staff was great, very helpful and friendly. A big, "Thanks" to Len for helping us find a medical clinic. Our daughter's cold turned into an ear infection, and her ear drum perforated. We found the Urgent Care Clinic with no problems. The breakfasts in the morning were very convenient and tasty. The pool was very clean, the kids really enjoyed it the last few days of our stay when the temperatures finally reached into the 70's. Overall I'd have to say for the price you pay it is a bargain, and the Managers, and hotel staff really make you feel at home. I'd love to go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

I recently booked a trip to San Diego and was scheduled to stay at the Lamplighter Inn and Suites for 4 nights. However, the day we pulled into the property, we pulled back out again. I cannot comment on the rooms, and the property itself seemed like it would be okay. However, the location was terrible. As we drove down the road heading toward the property, we did not see any family friendly restaurants or other venues- lots of graffiti, lots of noise (maybe it was party season at the University, because there were a lot of people walking around with bottles on the street) and I just didn't get a "I want to spend the next 4 nights" feeling about it.

I will say the desk staff were more than helpful, and cancelled my reservation efficiently and effectively. Maybe if I had stayed long enough to see a room, I could have been convinced, and I did end up having to spend an additional $100.00/night to stay elsewhere, but I didn't feel this site adequately warned me about the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

I stayed at this hotel several times from August to December 2008 and had great experiences. First, the place is a good value for the money. For those thinking it is just ok, I recommend you check the rates in the San Diego area. Second, the place is super clean. I had different rooms each time (different floors and both buildings) and everything was spotless. I asked about the carpets since they always look and smell so clean and was told the staff rotates rooms to steam clean weekly so that every rooms' carpet gets steam cleaned monthly. What a difference! I have stayed in 4 stars where I wouldn't remove my shoes. OK, so I didn't get over that neurosis here, but it looked great and I thought about it. Third plus is the convenient location off the freeway. The fourth big woo hoo was that I was able to bring my cat. Is the food gourmet? No. But it is a nice continental breakfast with pastries, cereal, bread etc. I just need something light to start my day so this was great for me. If you need a hearty hot breakfast, there are plenty of places nearby. I do agree with other travelers in that that you can sometimes hear people next to you. This was only a problem one time I stayed at the hotel - my neighbors had the tv volume up until after midnight.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel while visiting SDSU. I am a stickler for cleanliness when travelling and I must say my hotel room was spotless. Being on the ground floor, I was worried about noise at night. I didn't hear any noice all night. The mattress was as comfortable as hotel rooms where I have paid $400/nt. The complimentary breakfast, friendly front desk service and great price make it a great spot to stay in San Diego. My family and I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover AFB, DE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

My wife and I stayed here last week for our visit to San Diego. It was conveniently located near I-8, but far enough away to eliminate highway noise. We could get to downtown, Coronado, Old Town, the Zoo, and Sea World within 20-30 minutes depending on traffic.
The staff were very helpful including a great recommendation for dinner. The breakfast room had a good variety of bread & bagels from a local bakery, assorted muffins & pastries, a waffle-making station, hard-boiled eggs, fruit, cereal, juice & coffee. The gentleman that stocked the breakfast area was very friendly, as were all the other staff we had interactions with.
The motel itself and the room were definitely older, but everything was clean and in good repair. The bed was nice and firm (a big plus for me, but not for everyone).
I would recommend this motel to anyone looking for a nice stay at a very reasonable price. I even told my parents to stay here when they come to San Diego in a few weeks.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

Just got back from Best Western Lamplighter Inn and Suites. It was a very nice property, the beds were comfy and the staff was very helpful and pleasant. The only problem was the walls are very thin and you could hear in the next rooms. I am a very light sleeper and the people in the next room snored so loud it kept me awake for two nights. The motel was full so we didn't ask to change rooms. If you can sleep through anything then I would stay here. Most of the other reviews are correct. But if you are a light sleeper like me, you might want to try somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Address: 6474 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#28 Family Hotel in San Diego
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#87 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites (a AAA 2-diamond hotel) is conveniently located 3/4 miles from San Diego State University, and only 15 minutes from Downtown, the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. Many of the rooms include kitchen facilities, making this the ideal place for an extended stay. Amenities include: complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and parking, and heated outdoor pool, Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lamplighter Inn And Suites At Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.