We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
6474 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #37 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Lots of construction nearby, but did not hear anything in our room. The king room we reserved was not ready so they upgraded us to a king business room. It had a couch and chair and the room was bigger than what we had reserved. Breakfast was nice, typical continental breakfast, but very clean, and well stocked. Pool looked nice, we did not use it though. Business center in lobby to print boarding pass. Staff was very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Tourist894,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us and the the rest of the world about your stay.
As you found out, TripAdvisor is all about guest satisfaction, and not about price or how many stars a hotel has. For that reason it is gratifying that we tend to rate highly with guests who want to get the most for their dollar, value cleanliness, appreciate genuine hospitality and have done their research.

We are glad you found us, and definitely hope to see you again.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Len Regan | General Manager
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    189
    46
    14
    7
See reviews for
271
152
42
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We normally stay at this hotel for its convenience to SDSU. It's family owned and an inexpensive place to stay near SDSU. The staff is always friendly, the grounds and rooms neat and clean. While we no longer need to travel to the area, we would recommend it to those who have students at SDSU and need to stay in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so pleased you found our hotel to your liking, as we've mentioned many SDSU parents and friends enjoy the convenience of our location. Also our close proximity to two freeways makes us a great choice for families looking to visit local attractions and only be a 15-20 minute drive away for Sea World or the San Diego Zoo and even the airport.

Thank you for mentioning the friendly staff and how much you liked the grounds and facility. I am very proud of the superior job our housekeeping, maintenance and front desk do to ensure a comfortable and relaxing experience. Please keep us mind for a future visit for yourself, or a friend or family member.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Len Regan | General Manager
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is our second stay at this hotel. We like it because of the price. Very affordable and the free Wifi, breakfast, and parking is a plus. One thing I should mention is the first time we stayed we had a suite with a full kitchen. When I booked this room I forgot to mention I wanted a suite. So our room had no kitchen. It was okay and we managed without it.If you are traveling with a family you may want the suite. There is a laundry facility and a sparking pool, Also, the best part for me, is that is it pet friendly. Love to travel with my little doggy. Overall a great experience and I would stay there again. Very friendly staff and clean rooms. Love it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear rosacatlover,

Over time we get to see so many repeat guests, and this is one of my favorite things about this hotel. Your kind compliments in this review will be a joy to share with the staff, and I do want to apologize for the mix up on rooms as I was at the front desk when you checked in, and if you plan another stay please know we will do our utmost to make sure you get the exact room type you want. As you mentioned our suites do have many amenities that are great for families such as the full kitchens and that we are pet friendly.

See you next time.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Len Regan | General Manager
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Our most recent stay in San Diego was filled with fun and a LOT of excitement, gratefully the time at the Best Western Lamplighter Inn made the experience relaxing and rejuvinating! Their staff goes out of their way to make sure that you are happy and satisfied! We tried a local restaurant, excellent recommendation! We had a need for a couple of paper plates...they found some for us! No matter how seemingly insignificant the need, they go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Like long-lost cousins coming to visit...to them, you are family...in the best possible way.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear "jdree",

We are so glad to hear you had another enjoyable stay with us. It is pleasing to know that we are successful in our single-minded dedication to providing superior service, quality, affordability and genuine hospitality to our guests.

Our location is a not as centrally located as downtown or beach property, but as many guests have found, there are two major freeways are a short drive from the hotel, and they can get them to most all of the major attractions in about 15 - 20 minutes.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel, and we look forward to your next visit.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Len Regan | General Manager
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesca, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Front Desk was helpful, pool area extremely clean, parking limited, good breakfast, helpful caring staff, great value. Would stay there again, no question about it. Not too far from Downtown, stayed here for a comicon event and the front desk gave us driving routes to avoid traffic.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Comic Con is one of our favorite events, and this year was no exception. As you mentioned our location is just a short 15 minute drive to downtown, allowing our guests to save money on room rates and enjoy our free parking and other amenities that most other hotels charge extra for.

Our small AAA-2 diamond hotel is dedicated to guest satisfaction, and for that reason we tend to rate highly with guests who want the most for their dollar, value cleanliness, and appreciate genuine hospitality. We look forward to seeing you on again.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Len Regan | General Manager
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The suite we stayed in had two separate rooms and a small kitchenette hence plenty of room for family of five. The location is okay not far from Mission Beach, Point Loma and Downtown areas. The Breakfast eating area is very small so really only complaint.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest – thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. Though we were concerned that we had not met your expectations because of the 3-star rating, when we looked more closely, we were happy to see that you rated us highly on value, location, cleanliness, service, etc. Thank you!

It is true that our breakfast room is small, for the short term, we do provide trays and encourage our guests to enjoy their breakfast in our pool area, our summer mornings are especially a great time to be by the pool. For the long term, we are working on a big remodel for our lobby and breakfast room. We have an architect in place, and many ideas in play, we hope we can break ground with our new remodel soon, we are all very anxious for this! Our lobby is going to look great and more importantly, we will have a much bigger breakfast room, which we agree with you, is just too small.

We are located about 20 minutes from downtown San Diego, but close to major highways making it easy to get to many San Diego attractions like SeaWorld and the Zoo in 15-20 minutes. We are also an excellent choice for travelers visiting San Diego State University, one of California’s largest universities, only 1 mile away.

Our hotel is a modest AAA 2-diamond property, with amenities and prices that reflect that rating. We believe it is well located, friendly and very clean. We make sure that the grounds are lush and well kept, we never charge for parking, internet, breakfast or movies.

We appreciate the time you took to review your stay with us. We do hope to see you again soon.

Yours in Hospitality,

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Len | General Manager
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My daughter and I were traveling to SDSU for her orientation. BW Lamplighter was very affordable, free breakfast and pool. It was very close to SDSU and many stores, restaurants nearby. Normally Marriott is our hotel of choice. I was pleasantly surprised with this Best Western. It was quick and easy to get to SDSU and would recommend BW Lamplighter.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear "5redsox",

Thank you for this great review, since we are within a mile of San Diego State University, we have had the pleasure of meeting so many SDSU parents over the years. Often times they choose to stay with us from orientation all the way up to graduation! Our staff really gets to know some of them so well they seem like family, and we are sad to see them leave. Of course San Diego is a great place to vacation, and we end up seeing the parents alone after that.

It is true we are not a big hotel fancy hotel, but we believe our AAA 2-diamond Best Western is well located, friendly and clean, and for that reason we tend to rate highly with guests who appreciate genuine hospitality and have done their research.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Len Regan | General Manager
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Address: 6474 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#26 Family Hotel in San Diego
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#87 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites (a AAA 2-diamond hotel) is conveniently located 3/4 miles from San Diego State University, and only 15 minutes from Downtown, the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. Many of the rooms include kitchen facilities, making this the ideal place for an extended stay. Amenities include: complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and parking, and heated outdoor pool, Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Best Western, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel and BookIt.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lamplighter Inn And Suites At Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.