We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay for the value provided.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6474 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #32 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    209
    53
    14
    7
See reviews for
300
169
48
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Groton, Connecticut, Usa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

With only three days notice I was able to get a very nice non smoking room (which I wanted). The room was clean, bed comfortable and maid service was great, the breakfast room is small, but they have a nice selection of foods.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Guest Service Agent at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Toni T,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Being a small hotel, we are dedicated to consistent service, quality, and value. We're very glad to hear that we were able to accomplish this during your visit to San Diego. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed our expanded continental breakfast. We do realize our breakfast room is on the small side and welcome guests to sit out in our relaxing pool area or take breakfast back to the privacy of their room if it is too crowded. We appreciate your review and hope to serve you again in the future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Michelle Front Desk Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter Ranch
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The upgrade was greatly appreciated and thoroughly enjoyed. The reception was friendly, as was the check-out. The breakfast room was convenient and neat and clean and the food was very good. We will return.


  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Guest Service Agent at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear William S,

Thank you taking time to review our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your free upgrade! That is one of the perks to being a Best Western member, whenever it's possible, we are more than eager to offer a free upgrade to our members. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our expanded continental breakfast. We strive to provide our guests with great customer service, cleanliness, quality, and value. It’s nice to know that we succeeded in bringing these qualities to your stay. Our staff looks forward to serving you once more, during your next visit to San Diego. It was a pleasure to have you and your family as our guests.

Sincerely,
Michelle
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, Ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Terrific place clean, courteous, nice rooms. Unfortunately, they put a family with young children above us and their stomping, jumping, slamming and raming around cost us quite a bit of sleep. Suggest families with young children be put on the lower floors so they don't cause so much noise for other guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Guest Service Agent at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear John R,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Lamplighter Inn during your visit to San Diego. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the accommodations and customer service we provided. We are dedicated to giving consistent service, quality and value.

We apologize that the noise from the guests in the room above you disrupted your stay. We can understand how this would be upsetting and we try our best to see that any disturbances are dealt with as soon as we hear about them. Unfortunately, if we don't learn about the disturbance from our guests, it is out of our control. It is important to us that all our guests have an enjoyable experience at our hotel. So, if this type of situation occurs again during your next visit, please feel free to call the Front Desk to let us know, this way we can rectify the problem promptly.

Please know, that our guests' feedback is valuable to us and helps us better our future service. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Yours in Hospitality,
Michelle
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Off the beaten path - 20 minutes from downtown, but a great value for the money. Rooms are updated, clean, quite, very comfortable. Grounds are well kept. They put on a nice breakfast in the morning, fresh fruit, boiled eggs, waffles, bagles, coffee, juice. Great place for couples and families. We would definately stay here again - staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Guest Service Agent at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear usatallone,

Thank you for such a positive review so that our potential guests can have insight as to what we are about. Our main goal is to provide quality accommodations and great service that's affordable. While not being in the downtown area, as you mentioned in your review, we are about 20 minutes away from most attractions here in San Diego and are happy to help with getting directions for our guests. We are so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable visit and look forward to serving you again!

Yours in Hospitality,

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I appreciate people taking the time to review hotels as I do read reviews before making reservations so I thought to do the same ...

This inn is an average place and nothing much to say. Plain and clean with rooms that are not well sound proof. I heard a child crying most of the night and the father yelling for the baby to stop. I was afraid to increase the volume on my TV so I used caption to watch.

I also overheard the person at the front quoting prices different from what I had paid. I am not too happy as I paid higher than what I got thru AAA.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Dovee888,

Thank you for choosing the “Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU”. I am truly sorry that your experience was not what you had hoped. Our goal is to exceed every guest’s expectations and we take it very seriously when we fail.

We regret that you were bothered by noise from a neighboring guest. That certainly can be upsetting. We do our best to see that unnecessary disturbances are avoided; unfortunately, at times, it is beyond our control. On your next stay, please notify Front Desk of any undue commotion, this way we have the opportunity to politely ask them to quiet down.

As far as your room rate, there are several different room layouts and pricing to match those amenities. It is possible the clerk you overheard was quoting a room that was different from yours, or for a different time period. Please know we place a high importance on all guest feedback, and your comments will be reviewed by our staff to look for ways to improve the guest experience in the future.

Sincerely,
Len Regan-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at the Lamplighter Inn for 4 nights in January. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms were pleasant, comfortable and reasonably priced. Coin-operated washing machines and dryer proved useful.

Pleasantly surprised to find a lot of kosher items available at breakfast. While heavy on carbs (bagels, cereal, waffles, muffins) it would be difficult to do otherwise without a full-on kosher kitchen, so we very much appreciated the effort. Even so, hard-boiled eggs and yoghurt were also available.

The Inn is located in the College district and is also an easy 10 minute walk from an Orthodox synagogue. There are no kosher eateries in the area (La Jolla's the place for that) but there are several shops nearby, including a Ralph's Supermarket about 3 blocks away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear sydbunyip,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, Our company culture is to provide quality, affordability and great customer service to our guests, and your review and those of others helps us to know how we are doing.

For years the Best Western Lamplighter has been a popular spot for many families visiting San Diego. Also, you are correct that our hotel is an excellent location for Orthodox visitors. Beth Jacob Synagogue is a short walk, and our staff is happy to assist with opening doors, turning on or off lights etc, during Shabbos. We look forward to seeing you again during a future stay.

Sincerely,

Len Regan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Address: 6474 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#25 Family Hotel in San Diego
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#85 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites (a AAA 2-diamond hotel) is conveniently located 3/4 miles from San Diego State University, and only 15 minutes from Downtown, the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. Many of the rooms include kitchen facilities, making this the ideal place for an extended stay. Amenities include: complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and parking, and heated outdoor pool, Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lamplighter Inn And Suites At Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.