We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Done Best Western Lamplighter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
6474 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #38 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
HUNTINGTON BEACH
1 review
“Well Done Best Western Lamplighter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. There were no problems with the room or service. The electric shaver cord I Left in the room was found by a staff member and mailed to me. Well done. Thanks!




  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear James,

Glad you received your charger, and that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's always nice to hear when a was happy after a visit here. We look forward to seeing you on a future stay in San Diego.

Yours in Hospitality,

Len Regan-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    190
    46
    14
    7
See reviews for
274
153
42
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, AZ
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Its great to always have a place to take my dog at a great price. The rooms are clean and the people who work there are very accomodating. The beds and pillows are comfortable. Will stay again (been there 4 times already)..

Room Tip: By the pool is the best location..either up or downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, Guest Services at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We appreciate you spreading the word about our dog friendly hotel! It's great to hear that you and your dog enjoyed your visit. We are dedicated to providing consistent, friendly service, along with spotless, comfortable rooms at affordable rates. Thank you for mentioning that you would be returning for future stays. Your loyalty means a lot and it will be our pleasure to serve you again!

Best Regards,

Michelle
Front Desk Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Nice clean rooms. Location ummm not that great too far from city views. Pool has no heather. Continental breakfast is under construction and its just cold foods :/ Ooohhh and shampoo sucks. Besides that it nice !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, Guest Services at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Mspena,

We appreciate your feedback. We, along with our housekeeping staff strive to provide the best accommodations for your dollar and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your room.

We are not near Downtown San Diego, but are within 15 - 20 minutes driving distance of that area, along with other attractions that San Diego has to offer. We are more than happy to provide our guests with information and directions to any of the attractions or sights they are interested in seeing.

As far as the pool goes, it is heated to a moderate temperature of 83 degrees due to, we apologize if it didn't feel warm during your stay. We will definitely look into that.

Unfortunately, our breakfast room is undergoing minor construction. In the meantime, we have set up a temporary breakfast room with other food options. We are vigorously working to get our breakfast room up and running soon so we can offer our original breakfast, which includes waffles and hard boiled eggs. This should be done soon.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope that we addressed some of the issues you had. We hope that you will choose us again for your next visit to San Diego.

Sincerely,

Michelle
Front Desk Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here the night before crossing border at Tecate for drive to Los Cabos, Baja. Mexico. The rooms were clean, parking and neighborhood was safe, and it was a very good value. We left our cars full of gear parked in the well-fenced motel "compound" and walked to grocery store for supplies and to our choice of restaurants. Front desk and cleaning staff all friendly and welcoming. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, Guest Services at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
We are delighted to see that you were satisfied with your stay. Our goal is to provide excellent customer service, along with quality rooms at an affordable price.

We thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have many guests who stop in and stay with us just like yourself, traveling to and from Mexico and we are always happy to see those familiar faces during return visits. We look forward to serving you again also!

Most Sincerely,

Michelle
Front Desk Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have stayed at the Best Western Lamplighter 4 or 5 times over the years for Comic-Con. It is a nice reasonably priced option compared to staying in downtown San Diego. It is a pretty quick trip over to Qualcomm to take the trolley downtown.

Front desk - always friendly. Called us this year to let us know about wireless internet problems.

Rooms - nice and average Best Western type of room. Beds are comfortable and things are generally in good working order. Water pressure in the showers are good and no problems with hot water.

Breakfast - little disappointed this year, but they were under construction.

Parking - one big warning. Don't get back to the hotel too late at night. Not enough parking spaces. We have ended up parking in the surrounding neighborhoods at least once every year. Not a big fan of parking on El Cajon.

All in all good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, Guest Services at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear bps_traveler,

First of all, we would like to say a big "Thank You" for making us your home away from home for the past several years during. Comic-Con is one of the busiest times in our city and we are happy to be able to provide you with excellent accommodations at a reasonable price and we are glad you like our customer service.

As far as our breakfast, we apologize that we didn't have the usual items that you were accustomed to having during your stay. We are currently working on our breakfast room so we can go back to serving our original breakfast with waffles etc.

During sold out nights, we ask all our guests to take one parking space per room. Unfortunately, not everyone complies to this and some of our guests do end up parking on the street and we sincerely apologize for this. However, the area we're in is generally a safe neighborhood and so far, our guests have not had any incidences while parked off the property. However, we will continue to request that guests take one parking space per room during busy times, as a courtesy to other guests.

Thank you so much for reviewing us here on Trip Advisor. We value all your comments and look forward to seeing you next year, if not sooner!

Yours in hospitality,

Michelle
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great value in San Diego with quiet, comfortable and clean room. Staff was efficient and friendly; will definitely stay here again. Easy access to freeway, SDSU and a ton of apartments where a lot of students live.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, Guest Services at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Michelle O.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your visit to SDSU. We love d hearing that our staff was both friendly and effecient during your stay. Our housekeeper's always strive to provide spotless rooms for our valued guests. It's important to us that we provide quality, affordabilty and exceptional customer service. Many, many SDSU families and friends enjoy staying here on a regular basis. We appreciate your comments and look forward to hearing from you again during a future stay!

Yours in Hopitality,

Michelle,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Address: 6474 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#26 Family Hotel in San Diego
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#86 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites (a AAA 2-diamond hotel) is conveniently located 3/4 miles from San Diego State University, and only 15 minutes from Downtown, the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. Many of the rooms include kitchen facilities, making this the ideal place for an extended stay. Amenities include: complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and parking, and heated outdoor pool, Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lamplighter Inn And Suites At Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.