We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #24 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Sesser
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great place to stay. Very clean rooms. Good breakfast. Staff very helpful and professional. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to the San Diego area!!! I will stay at this location on our next trip to San Diego.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. We are very excited to see that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel and we look forward to the next time your travels return you to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    131
    27
    10
    9
See reviews for
200
100
22
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel situated north of San Diego has pretty much met our expectations while traveling in the SD area.
Coming from a 3 day stay downtown SD where we stayed at the Westin, we wanted to find a hotel a bit outside to be able to visit the area without the hassle of traffic. Being a ClubCarson member and after reviewing some of the reviews here we finally decided to give it a try, knowing that we will be staying at a different hotel category and all in all we were rather satsfied with our stay.
The hotel is located in a business area, therefore nothing much around after hours. It is a business hotel in such way that some of the services they offer e.g. restaurant is only open on week days (we found out the hard way coming late on a Sunday). The location is quite convenient fo drive to La Jolla, SD zoo etc..
As previously mentioned the hotel does deliver for what to expect. Friendly staff at the reception, clean rooms though on the smaller side, great pool and very good parking facilities. Breakfast is a bit chaotic but as some mentioned it is a controlled chaos. Since we were vacationing it would have been great have bf served until 10am at least instead of 9.30.
The pool area is great (actually much better than what we experienced at the Westin SD).
We would probably stay there again if we were in the area.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We are very excited to see your kind comments regarding our hotel, especially having the additional perspective of staying at another hotel in San Diego for comparison. We would also like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our relaxing pool area, which is perfect for the hot San Diego summers. We hope that your travels return you to San Diego and that we can have the opportunity to once again provide you with a quiet & relaxing vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

the hotel is in a good location - close to the Mira Mesa business area, good onsite restaurant and close to some good local restaurants, the staff are firendly and attentive... rooms are clean! I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in this area of San Diego

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community and our potential customers. We are very delighted to see that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel as well as your kind comments regarding our on site restaurant and lounge. Hopefully you once again have the opportunity to enjoy our hotel property in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The entire experience went well. I called ahead and asked for a room on the 7th floor away from the elevators as instructed by fellow tripadvisors. Thank you!

We slept well enough - the room next door had loud people so my earplugs came in handy! The king-size bed was comfortable (It was my husband and I plus my 7 year old. She didn't want to use her air mattress : / We all slept comfortably though!) and the toiletries in the bathroom were very handy.

I didn't get greeted everywhere by employees like other guest have posted on here, but hey, I wasn't treated badly either.

Breakfast was chaos but it was controlled chaos. Lots of families over the 4th of July weekend. They kept the food coming and by the way, the food was great! Hot food! Waffles, oatmeal, eggs, sausage...plus the cold stuff too, like cereal. The menu was a little different everyday. they kept clearing and cleaning of tables non-stop! Thank you kitchen staff!

Parking is free and for the most part we felt safe where we parked (in the back by the pool area).

The room itself was clean and neat. There was a T.V., small fridge, microwave and coffee pot available for us.

There is a laundry room on the first floor - you need your own soap and money for this one.

The pool was nice, there is a spa available too - the area was clean and neat.

I think this place is worth the price. The place IS family friendly but the people vacationing might not be. Don't hold it against the place. Some guy was freaking out about a chair by the pool. All I wanted to do was leave our towels so they wouldn't be on the floor and get wet, but no. The guy said he had to fight off other people for the chair too. I laughed that off - that's ridiculous. The kicker? He wasn't even sitting on it!!! He was standing around checking on his kid the entire time! LOL. So you see, my only advice other than to bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper like me is...BE NICE! BE KIND TO OTHERS! And people will be nice and kind to you. :) In his defense, it was about 9:30 pm and I'm sure he was just cranky because he needed to get to bed... Who knows! LOL

Room Tip: Don't skip breakfast. Bring coins for laundry. Park your car on the side your room is on to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the online community and our potential customers. We would also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during the 4th of July holiday, and we are very happy to see that you greatly enjoyed our stay with us. The 4th of July holiday is always a busy time in San Diego, and our breakfast is always a guest favorite with heavy traffic during this time period and we are glad to see that our staff was able to quickly and efficiently serve all of our guests, creating a welcoming experience for all of our guests during breakfast. Thank you once again and we hope to see you once more in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I knew this hotel was a little north of downtown San Diego, but this ended up working out perfectly since you go against the rush-hour traffic. It had a great location and you can easily to get to the zoo, La Jolla, and Julian. The breakfast was delicious, especially the waffles. There is always ice water, coffee, and hot tea available- and cookies in the evening. Everything was clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with TripAdvisor and the online community. We are very happy to see that you greatly enjoyed our complimentary hot buffet breakfast as well as our convenient location, providing easy access to all of San Diego. We hope your travels return you to San Diego and provide us with the opportunity to once again be your hotel of choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antelope, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Nice place, but you must book well in advance to get a decent price. They have a great breakfast and cookies every evening. Also, free USA at the desk. No parking fees like down town locations. Some are charging $20/day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience online. We are very delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, most notably the all inclusive guest rates which include parking, WIFI, and complimentary hot buffet breakfast at no additional cost. We hope to see you again when you return to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

It would have been excellent if they could only get my wifi working the 2nd day, but to no avail. I didn't like having to call a 1-800 number to see if someone else could get me connected. A little more than I usually spend but worth the money. Very nice rooms, big well lit with great A/C. There are many places to eat in the Mira Mesa are so try something different. Breakfast is a big rush and they have problems keeping tables clean, but the food was good and varied compared to most hotels. Having a place to do laundry with multiple machines was nice. Staff if one of the best I have ever encountered in San Diego. Nice pool and work out area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community and our potential customers. All feedback is welcome and is essential to improving our overall product that we offer to all of our guests. Looking over your feedback, I would like to apologize for your experience with the WIFI as well as the support number. While our staff can certainly call on your behalf, unfortunately, the support is very limited as much of the 24/7 support requires specific computer information and guest issue details, unless the issue is hotel wide. With that being said, it is great to see that overall you greatly enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again when you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Address: 5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#11 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#25 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Carlson, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Diego
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inn San Diego
San Diego Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.