We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Change of Pace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #23 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Santa Maria, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Change of Pace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Usually, we stay at Best Westerns but we couldn't get into our usual and I'm glad. We got to try the Country Inn & Suites for the first time and were very satisfied with the room, free breakfast with hot items, plenty of space and a friendly, professional front desk. With our son attending UCSD we'll be staying here again!

Room Tip: We asked for a received a room away from the ice machines. The room was spacious and clean with nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community and our potential customers. We are delighted to see that you greatly enjoyed your first time experience with our hotel and are ecstatic to see that we may be your hotel of choice when you return to San Diego. We look forward to your next visit, and wish the best for your son as he attends nearby UCSD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    123
    24
    10
    9
See reviews for
191
95
22
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rialto, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Wanna thank the whole staff there..like always they greet you with kindness. The rooms are done up nice.thanks to the room service crew. The bed was comfortable.clean linens, the place is clean, awesome place for breakfast.. Thanks to you all*. shawn,lauren,and all others there. You guys rock!!! see you all soon...
again and again and again!!!







  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience on TripAdvisor with the online community. We are very excited to see that not only did you greatly enjoy your stay with us, but that our staff was one of the many highlights of your stay. Excellent customer service is one of our goals and we are delighted to see that we accomplished our goal with your experience. We look forward to the next time you return to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We always stay at your facility when we visit our son in San Diego. He lives close by and it is very convenient for us. It is nice to have food available in the bar area. The breakfast bar is wonderful! The staff, food and accommendations are perfect for us!
Debbie Wilson

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community and our potential customers. As a repeat customer, we are absolutely delighted to see that each and every time you stay with us, continues to meet or exceed your expectations and that we have become your hotel of choice while in San Diego! We look forward to the next time you return to the local area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Hotel was very clean! Breakfast was great everyday! The hotel staff at the front desk was helpful and friendly. The breakfast staff was friendly and the food was better than most hotels.
Pool and hot tub were nice and relaxing. Clean towels were provided.
Only downside was the shower pressure! It was horrible but other than that the hotel was great and I'd stay here again if in the San Diego area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community and our potential customers. Looking at your comments, we are very excited to see that your stay with us in San Diego was extremely delightful, and that our staff was both helpful and courteous in meeting all of your needs both quickly and efficiently. We would also like to thank you for the kind comments you have provided regarding the complimentary hot buffet breakfast, which is always one of the items that our guest continue to enjoy each time they return to our hotel location. We hope to see you the next time your travels return you to the area, so that you can once again have a quiet and relaxing stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here one night with the kids. Pool was clean and inviting and breakfast was pretty good. Fresh baked cookies upon check-in were a hit and the Chili's restaurant is practically in the same parking lot, which made it very convenient. This was our first time at a Country Inn & Suites and we had a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community and our potential customers. We realize that choosing a new hotel is a very tough decision and we are very excited to see that your choice in our hotel exceeded your expectations! Every amenity that we offer, from our fresh baked cookies that you and your family enjoyed upon check in, to our quiet and convenient location, is all garnered toward providing the best experience possible. Once again, thank you for providing your review, and we look forward to the next time you return to the San Diego Area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I got a room for under 100 bucks on hot wire .com and for that price it was a really good deal. The room was large, maybe a little dated. It was clean and breakfast was decent. I would book here again for the same price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with our potential customers. We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with our hotel, and we are very glad to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the amenities that we offer. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your recent experience and we look forward to the next time you return to our hotel property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We recently spent four weeks in the Western USA. We have decided that we will only stay at Country Inn and Suites (when availabe) as we can count on them being clean, good safe locations, friendly professional staff, plenty of free parking and a fair and reasonable price. No more trying to save $10-$20 only to get surprised by the lack of attention some hotel chains and owners give to their premises. Our stay in the San Diego North location meet all of our needs for our three days in the area. Oh, almost forgot - we love the very good hot breakfast selections. Getting ready to make reservations for an East Coast trip - it will be very easy: if there is a Country Inn and Suite in the general vicinity of the locations we will be staying, that will be the end of our search !!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community! We are extremely delighted to see that you greatly enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were able to help in ensuring that your time in San Diego was both carefree and enjoyable. In addition, as a branded hotel, we are always ecstatic to hear when our guest enjoy their stay with us so much, that they continue to look for our many other locations in the U.S. when planning their other trips and we would like to sincerely thank you for your dedication to our brand. Hopefully your travels will once again return you to San Diego and we can once more make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Address: 5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#11 Family Hotel in San Diego
#15 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Carlson, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Diego
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inn San Diego
San Diego Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.