We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our New Hotel Chain of Choice !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Greenwood, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our New Hotel Chain of Choice !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We recently spent four weeks in the Western USA. We have decided that we will only stay at Country Inn and Suites (when availabe) as we can count on them being clean, good safe locations, friendly professional staff, plenty of free parking and a fair and reasonable price. No more trying to save $10-$20 only to get surprised by the lack of attention some hotel chains and owners give to their premises. Our stay in the San Diego North location meet all of our needs for our three days in the area. Oh, almost forgot - we love the very good hot breakfast selections. Getting ready to make reservations for an East Coast trip - it will be very easy: if there is a Country Inn and Suite in the general vicinity of the locations we will be staying, that will be the end of our search !!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community! We are extremely delighted to see that you greatly enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were able to help in ensuring that your time in San Diego was both carefree and enjoyable. In addition, as a branded hotel, we are always ecstatic to hear when our guest enjoy their stay with us so much, that they continue to look for our many other locations in the U.S. when planning their other trips and we would like to sincerely thank you for your dedication to our brand. Hopefully your travels will once again return you to San Diego and we can once more make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    113
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
180
87
21
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twin Falls, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I had two requests when I was looking for a motel, free parking in SanDiego, Ca and breakfast.
But we received MUCH more, Friendly associates, always asking if they can help, EXCELLENT breakfast (not just continental style), Clean rooms,(stayed 6 nights) and easy to get to everything we wanted to visit on our vacation. The huge bonus was reasonable rates. Thank You for a wonderful stay.
In my business customer service is MOST important---This Motel IS the top that I have stayed out for the past 6 years. I WILL be staying again.
Thank You to all of the staff and management.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community and our potential customers. We would also like to thank you for the extremely kind words that you have provided and are ecstatic to see your comments regarding the best hotel in the past 6 years. From our complimentary hot breakfast, free parking, and quiet convenient location, we strive to provide a great experience for all of our guests and are delighted to see that we have accomplished our goal. We look forward to when your travels return you to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We recently stayed at the Country Inn Suites as our base camp to tour around the San Diego area. It was conveniently located near the interstate for travel into San Diego or northwards to Del Mar or Carlsbad. The staff from check in to check out were outstanding. Very helpful and full of knowledge regarding city sites and places to eat and quick with printed directions to anywhere you wanted. The facilities met or exceeded our expectations, with comfortable and clean rooms and well stocked bathrooms. The breakfast buffet had a vast array of choices , and quite tasty. We hope to return to visit and would definitely stay at this location again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. I am very excited to see that you enjoyed the stay at our property. I would also like to thank you for leaving such kind comments for our Front Desk staff. We always take pride in providing top notch service, and knowledge of the area. Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us, the kind words for the staff and we hope that the next time you visit San Diego, that we will be the hotel of your choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside County
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel is located in the San Diego suburb of Mira Mesa. This is a very good, inexpensive alternative to staying in the downtown San Diego. It is about a 20 minute drive during non-rush hour traffic to Sea World and a 30 minute drive to downtown San Diego. Freeway access is a few blocks away. I would suggest that you take the commuter rail into San Diego and use the fine public transportation system to get around. The closest station is only a few miles away.

See if you can find a deal on priceline and save yourself some money. This is a hotel that caters to business visitors during the week. It is located in a commercial area and between two other hotels of the same general quality. There is a Chili's that is a short walking distance but otherwise you will need to eat at the hotel or drive to get some food. There are lots of food choices along Mira Mesa Blvd which is close.

The room was very comfortable but nothing fancy. The bed was comfortable. The room had a small microwave and an under counter refrigerator. The tv is 40 inch and had Direct TV access which I have never seen in even more expensive hotels.

A big plus at this hotel is a complementary full buffet style breakfast. They have lots of menu choices. The breakfast is a least worth $10. If you have kids or are on a budget, this is a definite plus. I liked that the hours were expanded, 6-10 during the week and 7-11 on the weekends.

There is a small but adequate pool and a spa in the back of the hotel. Each was typical of a hotel of this quality. The only negative was there were dozens of 8 or 9 year old soccer players staying there and they took over the pool and the spa. If you stay on weekend during soccer season, you may run into this. But once they left, there was peace, quiet and sanity.

Check in was quick, efficient and professional.

Overall, I would definitely stay here again. It is well worth the money which was not that much.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed the time you spent with us here. I am very pleased that you did get to enjoy all our amenities, along with our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope that the next time you visit San Diego, that we will be the hotel of your choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a quick getaway with 2 toddlers. I was so impressed with the hotel and its staff. Everyone was so friendly and willing to help. The breakfast was great and the room was very clean. We did not get a chance to use the pool but it looked very nice. The hotel was located within 20 minutes of great beaches and restaurants. My three year old loved their little library that allowed you to borrow books. We plan on returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. I am delighted to read the experience that you had with us. We are happy to see that you got to enjoy all the amenities we proved for our guest's, along with the read it and return library that we proved at our hotels. Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope that the next time you visit San Diego, that we will be the hotel of your choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I cannot begin to tell you how accommodating this hotel is...but here it goes. The staff was extremely friendly and did all they could to please us. We were traveling with a big group so whatever we asked, blammo- they gave it to us. The hotel has several open areas if you want to get together for dinner and do a bbq or whatever. This alone saved us tons of money over having to eat out. By the way, don't go to the nearby Chili's; their service was awful. This hotel must also be a dog friendly hotel because I saw a few dogs in the lobby. The complimentary buffet breakfast was fantastic. Usually places with free breakfasts have the same watery eggs and microwave sausages. Not this place! The food was fantastic, the kids enjoyed the make your own waffle bar, and they kept coffee, hot water, and ice water out all day! Overall...a great family hotel. The rooms could use a little updating, but really, who stays in a hotel room all day?

Room Tip: Even number rooms face the parking lot, odd numbered rooms get a view of the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on TripAdvisor from your recent stay. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while you were here traveling with a large group. We definitely do everything we can to accommodate all of our guests wherever and whenever possible and it is great to see that we accomplished this during your visit. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed getting together for dinner in our public area and that you found our hot breakfast buffet to be great! Once again we thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to serve as your hotel of choice the next time you travel to the area, whether with the group or on vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My Wife and I are frequent visitors to the San Diego area and as such have stayed in several of the area hotels. Because of a positive experience with Country Inn & Suites in our home area, we decided to try the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson on our most recent visit. We found this hotel to be pretty much everything we look for while traveling. The staff was friendly and eager to assist us in anyway they could, I even met the swing shift maintenance man in the elevator who told me that if "we needed anything to call him immediately". The rooms were clean, comfortable, and made up promptly every day. The location of the hotel made it very easy to access I-805 and the entire San Diego area. The breakfast, provided each morning, included everything from oatmeal to waffles, yogurt to fresh fruit, and toast to danish. And finally, the price was very reasonable for the San Diego area, which became even better because of the free off-street parking and the free breakfast. This Country Inn & Suites has become our preferred place to stay in the San Diego area.

Room Tip: When checking in I asked for a room away from the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback from your past stay with us here at the County Inn & Suite in San Diego. It is great to see that positive experiences at other Country Inn & Suites brought you to our location and from reading your review it looks like you thoroughly enjoyed your time at our hotel. Our number one goal is to provide the best customer service to each and every one of our guests and I am pleased to see that you fond our staff to be helpful and accommodating. In addition, I am happy you were able to enjoy the hot breakfast in the mornings and found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. We’re excited to welcome you both back here soon when you return to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Address: 5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#11 Family Hotel in San Diego
#15 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#25 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Diego
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inn San Diego
San Diego Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.