We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and family friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Corona, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our family had a wonderful relaxing time. Granddaughter attending SDSU, hotel is easy to get to and easy to get to SDSU. Hotel provides a wonderful continental breakfast, for those who need to eat and run. Staff very pleasant and helpful with directions to explore San Diego. We even took the San Diego Cruiser train to Old Town, depot is close by hotel -this is a great option and great way to get around San Diego.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to see that you were able to enjoy your stay at our hotel with us, during this exciting time for your granddaughter. It is great to see, not only were we able to meet your expectations but to raise them for future stays. I am glad we were able to provide you with many options to explore San Diego, and a comfortable relaxing location to unwind during your stay. Once again thank you for the great review as we look forward to once again being your hotel of choice the next time you return to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    116
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
177
87
21
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed there last February 2013. We liked it. Kind of off the beaten path but not too far from freeway. We stayed there on the way to visiting Sea World.

It was very quiet, off-season I suppose. Excellent breakfast buffet, small but nice outdoor pool and short walking distance to nice family restaurant. The rooms were just fine. Staff very friendly.

For the price, it was very good to excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My family of 4 really enjoyed our 5 day stay here, the family suite was large clean and comfortable, the pool and jacuzzi is great, there is a gym also. The breakfast has a good selection best we have had on our 3 week road trip from San Francisco South to San Diego. The bar food is good and reasonably priced. Special thanks to Chris the bar man who made our time here very enjoyable. We visited all the beaches North and South from here. We went to Sea World, Old town and downtown from here also the baseball game, we had an amazing time. Close to airport but you don't hear the noise in your room.

Room Tip: Pacific beach and Coronado island are the best beaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community and our potential customers. We are all very excited that you were able to enjoy your entire stay with us, from our quiet centrally located location to all of our complimentary amenities we offer to our guests. We also would like to thank you for the kind comments for Chris our bartender and we will be sure to recognize his efforts, We are glad to hear you and your family enjoyed our heated pool and our complementary hot breakfast buffet. We hope you choose us the next time you venture to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed here for two days and one night. It is in north of San Diego and far away from the airport. It is a nice and quiet place. There are a couple of restaurants available in and around.
I have nothing to complain about as such, but one strange thing I did notice. First day of my stay, room service wasn't available. At least that's what the guy on reception told. I just couldn't believe it.

But the overall experience is really good, staff is nice and attentive.

Room Tip: Higher room gives a really good view of San Diego. I stayed on the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to see that your overall stay with us with us was enjoyable, and you were able to take advantage of our excellent quite location, and other complementary amenities. Once again, thank you for the great review and we look forward to once again being your hotel of choice the next time you return to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice place to stay and an easy drive to were you eed to go. The rooms were clean and the Staff was very helpful and acted like they cared. It was a great place to stay on a business trip and the prise was reasonable. The next time I am in the San Diego area I will most likely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community and our potential customers. We are all very excited that you were able to enjoy your entire stay with us, from our quiet location to all of the amenities we offer to our guests, free of charge. We hope you once again provide us the opportunity to provide you with the highest level of customer service you have come to expect, the next time you return to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Consistantly use this Country Inn & Suites location in my N. San Deigo travels. Tough to beat the location to 805, DelMar & LaJolla. Staff always assists with recommendations to local eateries and pubs. Recommend being a club member as this makes the room check-in process one the quickest of any hotel chains. Breakfast service is very convenient and the hot entre selections periodically change if you are there for a longer stay. The property really does project a great VALUE for the business traveller.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Country Inn & Suites on Tripadvisor. We are all very excited to hear your stays with us was enjoyable. We strive to provide excellent customer service and hope to leave a lasting good impression, from our quiet centrally located location between Northern San Diego to the Downtown areas and all of our amenities we offer, free of charge. We are please we’re able to not only able meet your expectations but raise them for future stays. We hope you choose us the next time you venture to San Diego. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here for a week while training 2 miles away. Their free shuttle back and forth to my office made life easier and I had no need for a rental car. Started each morning with an excellent FREE breakfast superior to some pay for buffets and higher end hotels. Staff at the breakfast and front desk always greeted you with a smile and "how can I help you". Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to see that you were able to enjoy your stay with us, and were able to take advantage of our complementary shuttle to corprate businesses, hot breakfast buffet, and other complementary amenities. Once again, thank you for the great review and we look forward to once again being your hotel of choice the next time you return to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Address: 5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#11 Family Hotel in San Diego
#15 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#25 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Carlson, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Diego
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inn San Diego
San Diego Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.