We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with our stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #25 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
San Francisco, Bay Area
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very happy with our stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have never stayed at this hotel chain before and are looking forward to staying in the future. Thanks to all the TripAdvisor reviewers for the rec! We went to SD to take our kids to the beach, Legoland, SeaWorld and to look around Old Town SD.

We stayed in a King suite. The kids slept on the sofabed and a crib in the living room area and we slept in the bedroom. All the King suites are by the elevator and or across from the ice machine. At first I was afraid this would be an issue with our kids in terms of the elevator chime, but it didn't bother them at all. You could hear the chime in the living room area, but it wasn't that loud. The entire suite was spacious and we made use of the refrigerator and microwave.
The entire hotel seemed pretty updated. The only place that seemed a little old was the bathrooms because there was paint peeling.

The complementary breakfast was terrific. Hot choices (waffles, eggs, bacon, sausage, oatmeal, changes by day) and cold choices (juices, milk, cereal, fruit, variety of bread/muffins/donuts) were great.

This hotel seemed to cater to mainly business people, but since it was a holiday week (4th of July), there were plenty of families as well.

All the staff that we met (at reception, at breakfast each morning, housekeeping) were really friendly and welcoming.

The hotel was about 20-25 minutes from the attractions we were going to. Distance was not an issue.

There is a Chili's next to the hotel and a shopping center with a McDonalds and Starbucks down the street. The hotel is located in a business park area.

We loved the little perks like having free parking, USA Today and the Wall St. Journal everyday, all day tea and coffee and fruit, cookies in the evening, and the book library.

This place is definitely a gem and if we are ever in the area, we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter since this hotel is next to a busy street that leads into the business park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community and our potential customers. We are all very excited to see that you and your family greatly enjoyed your stay with us over this past 4th of July holiday. We are also very excited to see that we have created another repeat guest and we look forward to seeing you the next time you return to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    142
    27
    10
    9
See reviews for
205
104
22
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was our first time staying at a Country Inn & Suites and won't be our last. We spent four nights at this location and were very pleased from the time we checked in. Our first morning at breakfast we received additional services from Anthony, who helped to make our stay a very pleasant one. He remembered each morning the additional requirements for ice and was happy to interact with the eight year old that was with us. We felt the cost was very reasonable for the area and the breakfast was different each morning with an incredible selection of both buffet items, healthy foods, waffles and pastries. I would not hesitate to highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Y, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to see that you were able to enjoy your stay at our hotel. It is great to see the great comments you left about our breakfast attendant, Anthony. Also, we are glad to hear you had a chance to have our delicious complimentary breakfast in the mornings. Thank you again for the great review and, we look forward to once again being your hotel of choice the next time you return to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I don't post unless a hotel does very well or very bad. This hotel did so well I have raised my expectations for all future stays anywhere. The SanDiego area is expensive across the board but for the money this Country Inn & Suites was just simply VERY NICE across the board. I would demand this level of service if I was paying $300 per night. At half that price, I was pleased. The beds were especially nice with excellent pillows.

Room Tip: Due to the quiet area, any room will be good. It does not have a scenic view but is acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Y, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to see that you were able to enjoy your stay at our hotel with us. It is great to see were not only we were able to meet your expectations but to raise them for future stays. I am glad you enjoyed our wonderful beds, and once again thank you for the great review as we look forward to once again being your hotel of choice the next time you return to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rialto, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

the very first time i was here was when there were 3 sports teams and the alarm went off and all. told myself that i would never come back! well i am glad i did, how can i blame this great hotel,staff,and management! for some youngsters actions, i am so glad i came back for the second time after that and i plan on coming back every year! we were treated great! the hotel staff are the ones who made my stay there enjoyable. the cafeteria staff are on it when it comes to breakfast time, the choices were great and plenty no waiting for anything here!! i am coming back again and again!

Room Tip: poolside is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Y, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to see that you were able to come back to our hotel and really have a positive experience. It is great to hear that our hotel staff played an important part in your stay, as we always strive to give our guests the best possible customer service. It is also wonderful to see you had a chance to try our delicious complimentary breakfast in the mornings. Once again, thank you for the great review and and we look forward towards your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel was very nice for the price and I always enjoy the small welcome gifts I receive for being gold status. The free breakfast was fantastic and differed slightly every morning. The free cookies and granola bars was a very nice touch. The pool and hot tub were decent sized for a hotel being in a business district. My only complaint is there aren’t many food options in the area besides Applebee’s (or maybe it was a Chili’s?). I can’t fault the hotel for this so I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Y, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to see that you were able to enjoy your stay with us, and were able to use our heated pool and hot tub. It is also great to see you were able to enjoy all the amenities we offer from our delicious complimentary breakfast in the mornings to our complementary cookies and granola bars. Thank you again for the great review, and we look forward towards your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I needed a room near UCSD to move my son out of his dorm. This was a very nice hotel with inside corridors which felt very safe. Inviting reception area complete with fresh coffee and cookies , as well as, friendly staff. Room was clean and spacious with fridge and micro. There is a Chilis restaurant next door. Close to freeway 805.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Y, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to see that you were able to enjoy your stay with us, and were able to take advantage of our excellent location. It is also great to see that you enjoyed our fresh complamentry cookies and coffee. Once again, thank you for the great review and we look forward to once again being your hotel of choice the next time you return to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Nice hotel in convenient location, a few miles from UCSD. Excellent service from all the staff. Clean rooms with comfortable furnishings. Good variety of hot and cold breakfast food, though the breakfast area was extremely busy and the staff was a bit challenged keeping everything well stocked. Appreciated coffee, tea and water available 24/7 in the lobby.

The pool area is pleasant. We had a large group of family in town for graduation, and really great to have public areas to congregate, at the pool or in the fireplace lounge area. We were wishing the lobby bar was open, but it seemed to be closed all the nights we were there. Still the well furnished lounge area was the perfect gathering spot for our friends and relatives to socialize.

Since I was the family member to select this hotel for everyone, I was greatly relieved that it was such a nice property. We all enjoyed our stay. And oh yes, those yummy cookies were very popular!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Y, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to see that you were able to enjoy all the amenities that our hotel has to offer, from our delicious complimentary breakfast in the mornings to our complementary cookies and water. It is great to see the wonderful comments you left about the hotel service, as we always strive to give our guests the best possible customer service. Thank you again for the great review and, we look forward to once again being your hotel of choice the next time you return to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Address: 5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#11 Family Hotel in San Diego
#23 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Diego
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inn San Diego
San Diego Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.