We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raised my expectations for all hotels.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Melbourne, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Raised my expectations for all hotels.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I don't post unless a hotel does very well or very bad. This hotel did so well I have raised my expectations for all future stays anywhere. The SanDiego area is expensive across the board but for the money this Country Inn & Suites was just simply VERY NICE across the board. I would demand this level of service if I was paying $300 per night. At half that price, I was pleased. The beds were especially nice with excellent pillows.

Room Tip: Due to the quiet area, any room will be good. It does not have a scenic view but is acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Y, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to see that you were able to enjoy your stay at our hotel with us. It is great to see were not only we were able to meet your expectations but to raise them for future stays. I am glad you enjoyed our wonderful beds, and once again thank you for the great review as we look forward to once again being your hotel of choice the next time you return to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    113
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
180
87
21
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rialto, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

the very first time i was here was when there were 3 sports teams and the alarm went off and all. told myself that i would never come back! well i am glad i did, how can i blame this great hotel,staff,and management! for some youngsters actions, i am so glad i came back for the second time after that and i plan on coming back every year! we were treated great! the hotel staff are the ones who made my stay there enjoyable. the cafeteria staff are on it when it comes to breakfast time, the choices were great and plenty no waiting for anything here!! i am coming back again and again!

Room Tip: poolside is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Y, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to see that you were able to come back to our hotel and really have a positive experience. It is great to hear that our hotel staff played an important part in your stay, as we always strive to give our guests the best possible customer service. It is also wonderful to see you had a chance to try our delicious complimentary breakfast in the mornings. Once again, thank you for the great review and and we look forward towards your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel was very nice for the price and I always enjoy the small welcome gifts I receive for being gold status. The free breakfast was fantastic and differed slightly every morning. The free cookies and granola bars was a very nice touch. The pool and hot tub were decent sized for a hotel being in a business district. My only complaint is there aren’t many food options in the area besides Applebee’s (or maybe it was a Chili’s?). I can’t fault the hotel for this so I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Y, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to see that you were able to enjoy your stay with us, and were able to use our heated pool and hot tub. It is also great to see you were able to enjoy all the amenities we offer from our delicious complimentary breakfast in the mornings to our complementary cookies and granola bars. Thank you again for the great review, and we look forward towards your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I needed a room near UCSD to move my son out of his dorm. This was a very nice hotel with inside corridors which felt very safe. Inviting reception area complete with fresh coffee and cookies , as well as, friendly staff. Room was clean and spacious with fridge and micro. There is a Chilis restaurant next door. Close to freeway 805.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Y, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to see that you were able to enjoy your stay with us, and were able to take advantage of our excellent location. It is also great to see that you enjoyed our fresh complamentry cookies and coffee. Once again, thank you for the great review and we look forward to once again being your hotel of choice the next time you return to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Nice hotel in convenient location, a few miles from UCSD. Excellent service from all the staff. Clean rooms with comfortable furnishings. Good variety of hot and cold breakfast food, though the breakfast area was extremely busy and the staff was a bit challenged keeping everything well stocked. Appreciated coffee, tea and water available 24/7 in the lobby.

The pool area is pleasant. We had a large group of family in town for graduation, and really great to have public areas to congregate, at the pool or in the fireplace lounge area. We were wishing the lobby bar was open, but it seemed to be closed all the nights we were there. Still the well furnished lounge area was the perfect gathering spot for our friends and relatives to socialize.

Since I was the family member to select this hotel for everyone, I was greatly relieved that it was such a nice property. We all enjoyed our stay. And oh yes, those yummy cookies were very popular!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Y, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to see that you were able to enjoy all the amenities that our hotel has to offer, from our delicious complimentary breakfast in the mornings to our complementary cookies and water. It is great to see the wonderful comments you left about the hotel service, as we always strive to give our guests the best possible customer service. Thank you again for the great review and, we look forward to once again being your hotel of choice the next time you return to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here numerous times. It is conveniently located off the 805 freeway, near Qualcomm and other companies, and it is easy to get to local attractions from the hotel. The service in the hotel is excellent; there is a nice outdoor pool and indoor exercise room. The complimentary breakfast of hot and cold items is very good. There is a Chili's restaurant adjacent to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Y, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to see that you were able to enjoy our wonderful location, as well as our delicious complimentary breakfast in the mornings. It is also great to see the wonderful comments you left about the hotel staff, as we always strive to give the best customer service to our guests. Thank you again for the great review and we look forward to once again being your hotel of choice the next time you return to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stay here frequently for business in the local area. Booking on line, check in and out is a breeze. They make it easy with a good breakfast and afternoon cookies. The lobby bar features Karl S. beer and some decent wines. Small but welcome evening meal menu, a welcome service after a long day of meetings and they can manage room service if you need it. The crew is a hard working bunch, which is always nice to see.
Rooms are basic, clean. There is a good internet connection and a desk with enough space for your laptop. The business office has printers and complimentary. In a pinch the lobby bar tables are nice for small meeting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to see that you were able to enjoy all the amenities that our hotel has to offer, such as our delicious complimentary breakfast in the mornings and our convenient restaurant bar and lounge, which is perfect after a long business day. We look forward to once again being your hotel of choice the next time you return to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Address: 5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#11 Family Hotel in San Diego
#15 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Diego
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inn San Diego
San Diego Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.