We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #12 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Rancho Santa Fe, California
1 review
“Enjoyable getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Easy access location to visit Zoo and North County. Hotel clean, staff friendly. varied breakfast buffet. I would stay there again. Room was quiet and well appointed. Comfortable sitting area in lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Y, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and location, and would stay at our hotel again. It is also nice to see you enjoy our complimentary hot buffet breakfast each morning. We hope to see you once more the next time your travels return you to the San Diego area.We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    284
    117
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
184
89
21
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have reservation for a month stay at this hotel. I checked in late but, the administrator copied all my personal data. When I try to pay part of my stay I was very surprised to find that my names (first name and surname) were mistaken. But the worst thing was that, the credit card registered to my room actually was not mine. It was very frustrating and I don't receive even apology. A couple days later the receptionist called me. She told me that even I have made pay with my credit card, the other card is still registered to my room. So she need to try re-register my card to my room again.

It is very unprofessional and can cause a lot of money to someone that even don't know me to pay for my stay, because of this mistake.

I recommend to be very careful when check-in at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Y, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the online community. I am very disappointed to see that your stay with us was not up to the expectations during your stay with us. I would like to apologize for the lack of communication and the misunderstanding that took place during stay in regards to your credit card. Customer service is a huge priority of ours, and especially when it comes to our guest’s method of payment. I unsure you with our check in producer this should not happen, and once again I apologize for any inconvenience this may have brought you. With that being said, I hope you were able to enjoy our hotel amenities and once more thank you for your valued feedback and we hope we once again will have the opportunity to have you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was the best mid-level business hotel I've stayed in for a very long time. Friendly check in staff at the desk, clean, nice size rooms, comfortable beds, everything was absolutely perfect. There's complimentary coffee, water, and fruit in the lobby all day (and cookies too in the evening!), and one of the best breakfast buffets I've seen in a "breakfast included" hotel - make your own waffles, hot oatmeal, scrambled eggs, potatoes, and bacon, fresh fruit salad, and a variety of pastries, juices, bread, etc. The outdoor swimming pool was nice and warm, which was really nice when you're there in cool April weather.

We chose this hotel for its proximity to La Jolla, and were very pleased by the easy (10-15 minute) drive and the very reasonable prices compared to other hotels in the area. It is a little further from Sea World and downtown attractions, but only 20-30 minute drive, easily worth it for such a nice hotel at a great price!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. All of us here at the Country Inn and Suites San Diego, really love to see when our guests truly enjoy everything that our hotel offers, whether it is our quiet convenient locale, or our complimentary hot buffet breakfast each morning. We are excited to see that you left such kind comments, and enjoyed everything the hotel and area had to offer. We hope to see you once more the next time your travels return you to the San Diego area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed here last weekend while in San Diego for a family reunion. I was very pleased how comfortable, quiet and clean it was, especially for the reasonable price. The front desk staff were helpful and unflappable, too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Y, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel with our potential online customers! It is great to see you enjoyed your time at our hotel, and was able to enjoy all the amenities we offer to our guests. All of us here at the Country Inn and Suites San Diego are very thankful for all the wonderful comments you provided about the hotel. It also great to see you were able to join our hot buffet breakfast each morning. Once again, thank for you fantastic review and we hope to see you once more the next time your travels return you to the San Diego area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Jal, MEXICO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

i had never heard of the country inn and suites chain before, and when in hotwire got this hotel i was nervous about what was i going to get, i read some reviews here and that calmed me, but when i get there, i was very surprised to see a very nice hotel, with great rooms, perfect location and a great service. i went son san antonio the next summer and of course i went and stayed in a country inn and suits also... and again GREAT CHAIN!!! keep it up!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. We are very pleased and excited to see your comments concerning not only your previous stay in 2012, but also your comments concerning your experiences at our other fine Country Inn and Suite locations! Hopefully the next time your travels return you to the area, we can once again provide you with the high level of service that you have come to expect from the Country Inn and Suites hotels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

A nice, clean, safe hotel in a business area. Nice lobby and nice rooms. Nothing too fancy or extravagant but rooms are a good size and bathrooms do the job. We decided to stay here rather than pay to park in downtown and it was more than sufficient. Very nice breakfast, free parking and Internet.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. We are all very excited to see that you had an opportunity to enjoy our complimentary hot buffet breakfast each morning, along with all the other amenities we offer to our guests. We hope to once more be able to provide the high level of service you have come to expect the next time you are in the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel was nice and clean. We stayed for 4 days with the family. Rooms were good sized and the fridgerator was a nice to have. The breakfast was good with many options and different options each day. The hotel is close to many attractions but you will be required to drive 10/20 minutes based off traffic to many of them. The hotel is also in the business district so there isn't many resturant choices nearby (Chili's right across the parking lot but that was about it). Pool and hot tub were nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel with our potential online customers! All of us here at the Country Inn and Suites San Diego, really love to see when our guests truly enjoy everything that our hotel offers, whether it is our quiet convenient locale, or our complimentary hot buffet breakfast each morning. We are excited to see that not only were you able to take advantage of these amenities, but that they were also a highlight of your stay with us. We hope to see you once more the next time your travels return you to the San Diego area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Address: 5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#11 Family Hotel in San Diego
#19 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Diego
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inn San Diego
San Diego Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.