We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second time a charm!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5975 Lusk Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92121   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #26 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Rialto, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“second time a charm!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

after giving the carlson a poor review last year titled(accessible room beware)i logged into tripadvisor to see what the reviews are now, and was glad to read nothing but good to great reviews of the facility,so i went ahead and thought i would give them another try, boy was i glad i did! i ended up getting two rooms! upon arriving we were greeted and given all the information needed to enjoy our stay thanks to the hotel management and staff!,the rooms were great we had a nice view,beds were comfy, all linens were clean my hat's off to the cleaning crew they knocked this one outta the park, the breakfast in the morning has alot to offer, none of that continental breakfast here, way too much to list! both hot and cold breakfast.the place is in top shape! how can i keep that past review up!! i guess i should so we can all tell that the CARLSON INN& SUITES really do care about us,and would do anything to make it right,to every horror story this one had a very happy ending! looking forward to coming back!!

Room Tip: higher floors have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Y, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with our online community! It is great to see you had a great experience coming back to our hotel. All of us here are very glad to see your second time was a lot better and we are all very appreciative of your very kind comments. It is also great to see you enjoyed all of our amenities, epically our complimentary hot breakfast. We hope to once again have the opportunity to provide this high level of service the next time your travels return you to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    182
    37
    10
    9
See reviews for
248
125
30
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I like staying and getting points from Carlson Hotels. Had an event in Del Mar and checked the Club Carlson to see what hotels were close by. Had stayed once before at a Country Inn but this was very nice. The service received from staff was great. At night they have coffee, tea and cookies. Mornings there is a full breakfast. There is a nice area in the lobby if you just want to hang out. Pool, jacuzzi, fitness center, business center, laundry room. Our room was comfortable and clean. We walked across the driveway and had dinner at Chili's. Good stay and very relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with our online community! All of us here are very appreaciative of your very kind comments, and are very proud to have provided you with a great stay while in San Diego! All of our amenities you mentioned, from our complimentary hot breakfast, to our fresh baked cookies in the evening are really geared to provide the best experience possible for all of our guests. We hope to once again have the opportunity to provide this high level of service the next time your travels return you to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is the first time I traveled with my dog & searched thoroughly for a pet friendly hotel in
north San Diego. I decided on Country Inn & Suites. My husband & I were worried our dog Bodhi would have a hard time adjusting after a long road trip. Check in was a breeze and was pleasantly surprised & delighted when presented with a gift bag filled with goodies for Bodhi .... he loves the plush squeaky toy! Plus coffee & cookies made available in the lobby is a nice treat. The staff was very nice during our weekend stay. Daily breakfast was fantastic, not just your typical pastries/coffee one finds at other hotels. We will definitely stay here on our next visit to San Diego, I'm sure our dog Bodhi wouldn't mind another road trip too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. Everyone here at the Country Inn and Suites, love to see when our guests love everything about our property, including our guests that happen to be pets! It is great to see that every member of your family was able to fully enjoy your time at our property and we look forward to being able to once more provide you with a relaxing atmosphere to enjoy your time here the next time you are in San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our family was made to feel very welcome at the Country Inn and Suites. I was so impressed by the management and how much pride and care they take in their hotel. Room was clean and comfortable, public spaces were attractive and inviting, breakfast was hot, plentiful and delicious. What more could we want? Cookies in the evening? Yes, there they were. A perfectly lovely pool area and a hot jacuzzi? A full bin of pool towels? Yes and yes! Every area that we have felt let down by other hotels, this property handled with quality and class. It was the best "hotel night" my family has had in a long time, and we can't wait to go back. Good job to the staff at this Country Inn, you represent your company so well!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. Our entire staff here is very pleased to see your wonderful comments regarding all of the amenities our hotel offers, from the quiet, relaxing location and friendly staff, to our fresh baked cookies and complimentary breakfast in the morning. We hope to once more be able to provide the high level of service you have come to expect the next time you are in the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel the night of February 22 and 23rd. From the moment we walked in, til the minute we walked out, we were treated like family. Rachel, Sean and Israel were all so friendly and helpful, which certainly added to the fun of our weekend.
The hotel is spotless. Our room (503) was very comfortable, very clean and very quiet. I know there were a couple of sports teams staying there and yet we never heard a sound. The bed was just as good and comfy as our own, we had a ton of clean, fluffy towels and the room attendant (Catalina) was a wonder. Everything dusted, orderly and fresh.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a reasonably priced, safe, clean pace to stay. It is close to many attractions (within a 20 minute drive). My husband said the breakfast was great..lots of choices, the hot things were hot and the things that should be cold were cold ! Everything was fresh and nicely presented !

Room Tip: We were on the 5th (out of 7 floors) It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Y, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. Thank you so much for the wonderful comments you left about our staff and the hotel. It is also great to see that you had an opportunity to enjoy our complimentary hot buffet breakfast each morning. We hope to once more be able to provide the high level of service you have come to expect the next time you are in the San Diego area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

One of the major factors for review is satisfaction of bed and breakfast. This hotel exceeded both of those in many ways. Our bed made for a great night's sleep and the choices for breakfast varied each day for our 3 day stay. I am not a great sleeper, but never heard any outside or adjoining room noise.

Location is another key feature for review. The hotel is located minutes from the beach whether it be in La Jolla or in Pacific Beach. We had to go to Camarillo (North and West of LA) for the day and it took 2 1/2 hours one way. The rest of our time was spent going to Laguna Beach and the coast highway from Carlsbad to Del Mar. We also spent time at the Del in Coronado, very south of the hotel. The point to all of this is that I needed a comfortable place and great location to see the things we wished to see in 3 1/2 days. Country Inn fit that need and I was glad I made the right choice. In addition, Chilis Restaurant is a 2 minute walk from the hotel.

In terms of safety, I felt comfortable leaving an expensive laptop in the room while we were gone. The area is quite commercial with Qualcomm buildings in many directions.

My wife and I believe we made the right choice and will return back here again. All and all, it was a great short vacation with this hotel making us feel that we were back home again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. We are all very excited to see that you had an opportunity to enjoy our complimentary hot buffet breakfast each morning, along with all the other amenities we offer to our guests. We hope to once more be able to provide the high level of service you have come to expect the next time you are in the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

Address: 5975 Lusk Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#12 Family Hotel in San Diego
#25 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and BookIt.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Diego
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inn San Diego
San Diego Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.