We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with family.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with family.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights while doing San Diego attractions. Lobby is gorgeous, breakfast is great. Front desk staff were good to deal with. Rooms were clean and roomy. Bathroom doesn't have a fan (strange) and main heating/AC unit can't keep up with room. Our room was quite humid, windows were soaking wet and dripping onto floor each morning, kids were playing with furnace filter due to its strange set-up. Pool was warm and kids enjoyed it. Housekeeping was fine with the exception of final morning when someone knocked on our door at 8:00 asking if we were leaving today (check-out paperwork was sitting under our door so it was obvious we were checking out that day, but that we were still there.) I found that rude and disruptive as the kids were still sleeping after a late night. I hadn't put the 'do not disturb' sign on the door, but didn't think I would need to at that time of the morning. Next time I will. bath tub took 45 min to drain, but I didn't bother mentioning this until check out. I'm sure they would have fixed it earlier if I had mentioned it. All in all good value for the money and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. It is great to see that you enjoyed your time with us in San Diego, and I am happy to inform you that we are in the process of installing fans within the restroom facilities in each of our guest rooms which we hope to have completed by the end of January. I would also like to thank you for your kind comments concerning our staff, lobby presentation, as well as our heated outdoor pool; all of which we hope bring your back to our location the next time your travels bring you to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    116
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
177
87
21
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewiston, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I recently stayed here for a business trip and was very happy with all that was provided by this establishment. The bed and pillows were perfect for my needed slumber. The business center was handy as i did not travel with a computer. The fitness center provided me with an opportunity to work out and do cardio. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. I would definetly recommend this hotel as a great place to stay whether it be for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: The view from the top floor really added to the quality of my stay, I enjoyed seeing the sun come up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel with the online community! It is great to see that whether staying for leisure or for business, that our property continues to provide our guests such as yourself with an excellent product which continue to bring our guests back each time they are in the San Diego Area! Hopefully on your next business trip we can once again be your host!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The breakfast here was very well done. We stayed three nights Dec. 13-16 on our trip to Sea World and the beaches of SD. Each morning there was a different main course served along with eggs and other hot and cold items. My favorite were the sausages and french toast, but there were also skillet potatoes, bacon and biscuits and gravy available other mornings. Staying at a place with a good breakfast is always a plus for us because of the value and non-hassle of having to seek out something decent in an unfamiliar place.
As I mentioned the beds were a little too firm for my taste but my husband liked it. We stayed in a 2 queen room. We found the room to be a little stifling especially after showers - of course, but the feeling seemed to linger all day. There was also no fan in the restroom, which I think could have solved this problem.
Our room was properly cleaned everyday and I thought the entire property was well maintained. The cookies and water offered by the front desk were a nice touch. The location is a little out of the way, but is about 15-20 minutes to Sea World and Mission Beach. There is also a Holiday Inn Express next door and a Chili's close to it. Other places to eat could easily be found driving up Mira Mesa.
We didn't use the pool, since it was cool most days nor the fitness center.
All in all, for the price, my family found this place a good value and we would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community on TripAdvisor. We are all very excited to see that you had an opportunity to enjoy our complimentary hot buffet breakfast each morning, along with the fresh baked cookies, and all the other amenities we offer to our guests. We hope to once more be able to provide the high level of service you have come to expect the next time you are in the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My family(me, wife and two kids) stayed here in October for 4 nights. We used the hotel as a base for exploring the area. We drove down to Sea World one day, and up to LegoLand another day. We thought the location was very good and the room was comfortable. The hotel seemed to be pretty busy and even though there was a fair amount of traffic in the hallways at times, we were surprised that the noise didn't seem to come through the door(as it has at other times I've traveled). My kids enjoyed the pool and a cookie every evening. Staff was friendly and we may stay here again if we are ever in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Y, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. We are all very excited to see that you had an opportunity to enjoy our complimentary hot buffet breakfast each morning, along with all the other amenities we offer to our guests. We hope to once more be able to provide the high level of service you have come to expect the next time you are in the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed there during a short vacation (followed by a business stay at a different hotel in the area). This hotel is not near the beach, which is about 15 minute drive away, so this is probably not the best place for a beachside vacation. Other than that, it is a very very nice place - friendly staff, comfortable room, nice bathroom, very comfortable bed, a large flat-screen TV with a good assortment of channels, including Showtime. The room rate includes free WiFi internet, free parking, and free breakfast for all occupants, with a nice assortment of hot dishes, cereals, yogurt, fruits, freshly-made waffles, bagels and cream cheese. There is coffee and tea in the lobby around the clock, a few times a day they make fresh cookies, though those go pretty fast, judging by the fact that most of the time we saw them all gone. The staff were all very friendly and attentive.
Some very very minor dings against this hotel are that the windows in (our) room did not open, and the air felt a little stuffy (but not overbearingly so). Also, the ironing board hanging in the closet made it just an inch short to lay the suitcase sideways. Other than these nitpicks, we enjoyed our stay very much, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. We are all very excited to see that you had an opportunity to enjoy our complimentary hot buffet breakfast each morning, along with all the other amenities we offer to our guests. We hope to once more be able to provide the high level of service you have come to expect the next time you are in the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Its located 20 mins away from the san diego zoo on a very nice area. Rooms and cleanliness are optimal and breakfast is great. Staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a very large parking are right in front of the hotel. Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Andres T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community! On behalf of all of us here at the Country Inn and Suites, we are ecstatic to see that you were able to take full advantage of our quiet, convenient location to San Diego freeways; along with all of the complimentary amenities we offer such as our hot buffet breakfast each morning and the fresh cookies each evening. We hope to once again be able to provide the high level of service you have come to expect the next time your travels return you to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here October 2012. Everything was great- plenty of parking, fantastic free breakfast, plus we got free wifi. Lots of chain restaurants within driving distance. It is a little ways out of the city, and the traffic is the reverse of what I'm used to - AM goes away from San Diego, PM goes back to it. But we came from Houston so it was no big deal to drive the 15-20 minutes to sightsee. Close to Torrey Pines and La Jolla.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Allison_in_Houston,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with our potential customers. It is great to see that your stay in San Diego was enjoyable, and that you had the opportunity to enjoy our quiet, relaxing atmosphere. We hope to be able to provide a similar experience, the next time you return to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Address: 5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#11 Family Hotel in San Diego
#15 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#25 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Carlson, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Diego
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inn San Diego
San Diego Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.